News Updates - August 6, 2009
The news on ePermitting is getting out
Department of Consumer and Business Services distributed a news
release, August 5, 2009, on the newest phase of the Building Codes Division's
online permitting project. The article has some great information on the progress
of the ePermitting system and includes an overview of the next steps for the system.
The article also has a link and article by Acella, Inc. on their involvement with
the ePermitting project.
Just as an additional update, you might like to
know a few stats from ePermitting's first live month. From June 22, when the Web
site went live, to July 22; 702 contractors have registered. The participating
jurisdictions have sold a total of 1,787 permits bringing in receipts of $189,053.
In the history of the Quick Permits program, there are only four months that earned
more than this. It looks like ePermitting is well on its way!
update training is online
If you have not had a chance to take the Legislative
Update Training (law change class), it is now available online at no cost on the
BCD Web site. This class is required every
two years after the regular legislative session in order to maintain your building
official certification. Having it available online is a great help to all the
BOs around the state who could not attend a live class. The course takes about
an hour to complete and also gives BCD a record of the participant's results.
If you take the training, be sure to print out the "Thank You" page
at the end of the course for your records as proof of course completion. If you
have any questions about the class, please contact Sherri West at Sherri.D.West@state.or.us
Consistent fees and forms update, questions answered
trying to ensure consistency across the state
The consistent fee valuation
method has been in place for about 8 months and the division is continuing to
work with jurisdictions to ensure that it really is consistent across the state.
The division has found that a few municipalities are unaware of the requirement
or have not put the new methods into practice. The initial waiver for providing
notice to the division expired and municipalities that are only now adopting new
fees must comply with the statutory requirements for providing notice to BCD of
fee changes. The requirements and contents of the notice are in OAR 918-020-0220.
Additionally, the division recently received a question we thought
worth clarifying for everyone.
Under the fee calculation method in Oregon
Administrative Rule (OAR) 918-050-0100,
a municipality must use the International Code Council (ICC) valuation table for
figuring the value of residential property. For valuing commercial property, a
municipality uses either the ICC valuation table or the value stated by the builder.
The ICC valuation table, Oregon Residential Specialty Code, and Oregon Structural
Specialty Code all state that the valuation of a structure includes all the mechanical
equipment, and plumbing fixtures. But a contractor still needs to obtain mechanical,
electrical, and plumbing permits for a new building.
Here is the question
the division was asked: if the value of the mechanical system was already figured
into the value of the structure, why do they need to break out the value of the
mechanical equipment/labor and get a mechanical permit?
answer: while the valuation of a building to figure the cost of a structural permit
includes the mechanical equipment and other pieces, the structural permit is meant
to cover the inspection costs of the structure - not all the components of the
structure. The mechanical permit specifically covers the inspection of the mechanical
equipment, the electrical or plumbing permits - the electrical or plumbing installation.
Including the value of the mechanical equipment in the total costs of constructing
the building is only the first step to figuring the permit cost. It does not result
in "double charging" when the cost of the mechanical equipment is also
used to calculate the costs of the mechanical permit.
For those that may
still have questions about how to adopt this new method of calculating permit
fees or if you have any questions about OAR Chapter 918 Division 50 and the Consistent
Fee Methodology, please contact Aeron Teverbaugh, Aeron.Teverbaugh@state.or.us.
Quick approval possible for small wind turbines
In its continuing
effort to be flexible with the onset of new technology and to advance sustainability,
BCD, in conjunction with the Electrical and Elevator Board and the Oregon Department
of Energy, has created a rule that allows manufacturers to install small wind
turbines quickly, yet safely. The rule provides a streamlined
process of certification for small wind turbines as an alternative to the
lengthy national certification process. The rule
went into effect on July 27, 2009.
New Job opportunities at BCD
the passage of Senate Bill 79, the legislature has directed the division to undertake
a number of tasks related to energy efficiency, including the development of a
new type of code for Oregon known as a "reach code." This reach code
is a code of energy efficiency standards on and above the adopted Oregon building
code that provides an optional set of higher standards for builders, developers,
and owners to utilize in order to improve the energy efficiency of structures
Because this type of code has not been adopted in Oregon before,
the legislature created two limited-duration positions to assist the division
in the development of this reach code. The division is currently recruiting for
both positions. The division is seeking individuals with either a strong background
in policy analysis and development, or technical background in design, construction,
and/or energy issues. The information for the recruitment of these positions can
be found on the division's
Web site. Please pass this information on to anyone you know who might be
interested in one of these limited-duration positions. If you have any questions,
please contact Robert Newton at Robert.J.Newton@state.or.us
Summary of enforcement cases presented
Electrical and Elevator Board
report: These cases were resolved by the division's enforcement section without
going to a contested case hearing. No action was required by the Electrical and
Agreements: These cases went to a contested case hearing. Each penalty assessment
was reviewed and approved by the Electrical and Elevator Board.