Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only

Building Codes Division - 1% Training Priorities - 2007/08

Phase I - January 1 through May 1 2007
Phase II - May 2 through September 1 2007
Phase III - September 2 2007 through January 1 2008
 
Boiler
Electrical
Plumbing
Structural/Mechanical
Other

 

BCD-Wide Course

· Oregon Inspector Certification RFP for exam prep course* ($40,000): Overview of Oregon laws relating to state building codes including, but not limited to, architectural barriers, administrative procedures, and Oregon amendments to the specialty codes.
Non-live course Phase II

 
Code-Change/Code-Related
Electrical Program

· Grounding and Bonding ($35,000) 8 hours
-Inspectors/Licensees/Contractors/Engineers/Plans examiners/Architects Phase I

 

· Rule and Law Changes to include 2005 Electrical Specialty Code and electrical provisions of the 2005 Oregon Residential Specialty Code (code-change course)
- Inspectors/Licensees/Contractors: ($70,000) 8 hours Phase I
- Limited Energy Licensees/Contractors: ($30,000) 4 hours Phase I

 

· Wiring Methods to include but not be limited to, physical and corrosion protection, NM cable versus MC cable, special occupancies, hazardous locations, and the application of article 300.
- Inspectors/Licensees/Contractors: ($70,000) 8 hours Phase II
- Limited Energy Licensees/Contractors: ($30,000) 4 hours Phase II

 
Plumbing Program

· 2008 Plumbing Specialty Code and plumbing provisions of the 2008 Oregon Residential Specialty Code (code-change course)* ($70,000)
- Inspectors: 8 hours Phase III
- Licensees/Contractors: 8 hours Phase III

 

· Reclaimed water systems-Appendix J: ($30,000) 4 hours Phase III
- Inspectors/Licensees/Contractors

 
Structural/Mechanical Program

OSSC:

· 2007 Oregon Structural Specialty Code (code-change course) ($45,000)
- Plans examiners/Building inspectors/Architects/Engineers 6 hours Phase I

 

· NFPA 13 (Sprinkler Systems) ($30,000)
- Plans examiners/Building inspectors/Architects/Designers/Contractors 6 hours Phase I

 

· NFPA 13R and D ($30,000)
- Plans examiners/Building inspectors/Architects/Designers/Contractors 6 hours Phase I
· Overview of 2007 Oregon Fire Code (Code-related course) ($45,000)
- Plans examiners/Building inspectors/Architects/Engineers 6 hours Phase I

 

· Chapter 11 (Accessibility) ($30,000)
- Plans examiners/Building inspectors/Designers/Architects 3 hours Phase II

 

· SR Appendix and Occupancies. ($30,000)
- Plans examiners/Building inspectors/Architects/Designers 3 hours Phase II

 

ORSC:

· Wall Bracing: Alternate Brace Panels, Portal Frame ($30,000)
- Plans examiners/Building inspectors/Architects/Designers 3 hours Phase II

 

OMSC:

· 2007 Oregon Mechanical Specialty Code* (code-change course) ($30,000)
- Certified mechanical inspectors/Engineers/Architects/Designers/Installers 3 hours Phase I

· Hydronic Piping System ($30,000)
- Certified mechanical inspectors/Engineers/Architects/Designers/Installers 3 hours Phase II

 
Boiler Program

· Operation and Maintenance Standards for Low Pressure Boilers ($18,000)
Basic course-8 hours Phase II
Advanced course for experienced operators-Basic course + 8 hours Phase II
Both Courses taught on the same weekend
- Owner-Users/Contractors/Licensees

 
Non-Code-Change/Code-Related Courses and Other Training
Emerging Technologies

· Solar Electric Systems ($30,000)
-Inspectors/Designers/Contractors
hours to be determined Phase II

 

· Green Building(s) - Sustainable Construction ($45,000)
-Inspectors/Designers/Contractors
hours to be determined Phase II

 
Manufactured Structures Program

· Manufactured Home Installer and Inspector Licensing and Certification Training*
($28,000) - Includes 2008 code changes.
-MDI, LSI, or LI license seekers/MHI Certification/Installer-Inspector
Attendance may qualify for continuing education for licenses and certifications
Non-live course Phase III

 

Required to make courses available in each of these Regions:

 

  • Tri-County (Multnomah, Washington or Clackamas county)

  • Mid-Willamette Valley (Marion or Polk county)

  • Southern Willamette Valley (Benton, Linn or Lane county)

  • Central Coast (Tillamook, Lincoln,\or Coos county)

  • Southern Oregon (Jackson or Klamath county)

  • Central Oregon (Deschutes, Jefferson or Crook county)

  • Eastern Oregon (Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Baker or Malheur county)