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State fines unlicensed Eugene pawnbroker  
Your Place on Franklin on probation for one year 

(Salem) — The Oregon Department of Consumer and Business Services (DCBS) issued a cease-
and-desist order against Your Place on Franklin, an unlicensed Eugene-area pawn business. 

The order prohibits the owners and operators, Debra Maxine Barkley and Lance Reid Barkley of 
Eugene, from operating as a pawnbroker for at least a year. They also paid a $5,700 fee to the 
state to compensate for the costs associated with the state’s investigation. The department fined 
the Barkleys $20,000, which will be suspended for five years if they abide by the terms of the 
order.  

The consent order follows a July 2008 enforcement order issued by the DCBS Division of 
Finance and Corporate Securities when investigators found that Your Place on Franklin was 
operating as a pawnbroker without a license, charging clients excessive interest rates, and 
otherwise failing to comply with Oregon’s Pawnbrokers Act. Oregon law requires that 
pawnbrokers obtain a license before engaging in business in the state. 

In addition, the owners had refused to allow inspections by DFCS, the Lane County Sheriff, and 
Eugene Police Department. State law requires pawnbrokers to allow local law enforcement or 
state examiners to conduct routine inspections without obtaining a search warrant. These 
inspections, especially important when a business is handling firearms, allow stolen property to 
be readily identified and returned to the rightful owner, as well as ensure compliance with legal 
lending and pawn rules and laws. 
 
Your Place on Franklin can continue to buy and sell used merchandise. However, the business 
will be prohibited from loaning money on the deposit or pledge of personal property. 
 
The Department of Consumer and Business Services is Oregon’s largest business regulatory and 
consumer protection agency and is responsible for enforcing the Oregon Pawnbrokers Act. A list 
of licensed pawnbrokers can be found at www.dfcs.oregon.gov. 
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