January 20, 2004
To: All Applicants and Licensees

From: Dale W. Laswell ’V(/
Chief of Licensing and Registration

Subject: New Mortgage Lending Laws and Administrative Rules

Enclosed please find copies of the new administrative rules related to loan originators and
mortgage lending license fees. These rules became effective on January 1, 2004.

riminal Re heck

The Oregon legislature enacted a law [Chapter 526, 2003 Laws] that requires a mortgage
broker or banker to conduct a criminal records check of each individual who the banker or
broker employs or intends to employ as a loan originator.

A criminal records check for a loan originator employed by a licensee on January 1, 2004, must
be completed by April 30, 2004. A loan originator applicant may not be hired and currently
employed loan originator's employment must be immediately terminated if the criminal records
check discloses a disqualifying conviction.

The law also requires insurance agents and consultants who are employed full time as loan
originators to comply with the training, examination, and continuing education requirements set
forth in the Oregon Mortgage Lending Law.

Fees

The fees for a mortgage lending license were decreased in October 2000 because we had
surplus revenue. That surplus is now depleted. The fees are being restored to the previous level
to adequately fund the administration of the program.
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Effective January 1, 2004, initial principal office fees will go from $250 to $500 and initial branch
office fees will go from $50 to $100 per location. The two-year principal renewal fee will go from
$250 to $500 and the two-year branch renewal fee will go from $50 to $100. A fee of $150 is

required for each branch added after the mortgage banker or mortgage broker license is issued.

If you have any questions regarding this memorandum, please contact me at 503-947-7484, or

dale.w.laswell@state.or.us.
For more information, please visit or Web Site at www.oregondfcs.org.




441-860-0020

Application Procedure

Each person desiring to obtain a mortgage banker or mortgage broker license shall apply to the
Director by submitting the following:

(1) A completed application on a form approved by the Director;

(2) A surety bond or letter of credit pursuant to ORS 59.850(4) and OAR 441-860-0090;

(3) Financial statements prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles,
consisting of a balance sheet and a statement of income or operations which is dated not more
than six months prior to submission of the application:

(a) The financial statements may be prepared by the licensee, except that if the Director finds it
in the public interest, the Director may require that a licensee submit financial statements
prepared by an independent accountant;

(b) If the financial statements are more than six months old, interim period financial statements
prepared by the licensee for the period ending the last full month prior to the date of application
shall also be submitted.

(4) Written Authorization to examine the applicant's Clients' Trust Account pursuant to ORS
59.935(3) or, in the case of a neutral escrow depository, a copy of the escrow agreement pursuant
to OAR 441-875-0040(3);

(5) A copy of the written Notice to Financial Institution of Establishment of Clients' Trust
Accounts pursuant to ORS 59.940. In the event the applicant does not receive client funds except
at the time of closing, an Affidavit and Undertaking in the form and on terms approved by the
Director;

(6) The name of the registered agent of the mortgage banker or mortgage broker as filed with the
Corporations Division of the Secretary of State for the State of Oregon;

(7)(a) Each of the following persons shall submit the information required under the provisions
of subsections (b) and (c) of this section: ;

(A) Any director, officer, and shareholder with ownership of greater than or equal to 10 percent
of outstanding shares of a corporate applicant;

(B) Owner, if the applicant is an unincorporated sole proprietorship; and

(C) Each managing partner of a limited or general partnership.

(b) A biographical statement including name, address, social security number, date of birth, and a
description of any material litigation for the preceding ten years. If more than one name or social
security number has been used by any of the persons submitting the biographical statement, all
names and social security numbers must be submitted; and

(c) An employment history for the ten years prior to the date of the application which shall
include the name of each employer, job position and title, date each employment began and date
each employment ended.

(d) Each branch supervisor shall submit an employment history for the ten years prior to the date
of the application, or the date of employment as a supervisor. The employment history shall
include the name of each employer, job position and title, date each employment began and date
each employment ended.

(8) The information required pursuant to OAR 441-880-0030 for loan originators.

(9) The information required pursuant to OAR 441-860-0030 for each branch office.

(10) An initial application fee in the amount of $500 plus a fee of $100 for each initial branch
office operated by a licensee, plus a fee of $150 for each branch office added after the mortgage
banker or mortgage broker license is issued:




(a) In the event the Director determines that the amount of licensing fees assessed pursuant to
this rule, combined with other fees assessed pursuant to ORS 59.840 through 59.960 and OAR
441-850-0005 through 441-885-0010 is insufficient to fund the administration of ORS 59.840
through 59.960, the Director shall amend this rule to increase the fees to an amount necessary to
fund the administration of ORS 59.840 through 59.960 plus a reasonable emergency fund;

(b) In the event the Director determines that the amount of licensing fees assessed pursuant to
this rule, combined with other fees assessed pursuant to ORS 59.840 through 59.960 and OAR
441-850-0005 through 441-885-0010,exceeds the amount necessary to fund the administration of
ORS 59.840 through 59.960, the Director shall amend this rule to decrease the fees to an amount
necessary to administer ORS 59.840 through 59.960 plus a reasonable emergency fund,

(c) If licensees have paid the licensing fees pursuant to this rule and the Director finds that the
total fees collected exceed the amount necessary to administer ORS 59.840 through 59.960 and
provide a reasonable emergency fund, the Director may adjust the licensee's next renewal fee,
following the making of such a finding, downward to provide for an equitable assessment of
fees.

(11) If an applicant for a license submits an application which is incomplete in any respect, the
Director will contact the applicant to request the missing information. The applicant will have 30
days to respond to the request for information from the Director. If the applicant fails to respond,
the application will be withdrawn.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 59.850(1), ORS 59.855(1) & ORS 59.900

Stats.: Implemented: ORS 59.845, 59.969

Hist.: FCS 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-93; FCS 11-1994, £. 11-4-94, cert. ef. 11-15-94; FCS 1-
1996, f. 11-20-96, cert. ef. 12-1-96; Administrative correction 8-4-97; FCS 4-1999, f. & cert. ef.
12-23-99; FCS 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 9-13-00; FCS 10-2001, f. 12-24-01, cert. ef. 1-1-02

441-860-0050

Renewal of Mortgage Banker and Mortgage Broker License

Except as provided in section (6) of this rule, licensees shall renew for a 24-month period from
the date of original licensing or last renewal. At least 30 days prior to the expiration of a
mortgage banker or mortgage broker license, an application for renewal of the license shall be
submitted to the Director and shall include the following:

(1) A completed license renewal form approved by the Director.

(2) Financial statements on a compiled basis, consisting of a balance sheet and a statement of
income or operations, prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles,
which is dated not more than six months prior to submission of the application. If the financial
statements are more than six months old, interim period financial statements prepared by the
licensee for the period ending the last full month prior to the date of the application must also be
submitted.

(3) A license renewal fee in the amount of $500 ($250 per year) plus a fee of $100 ($50 per
year) for each branch office license which is renewed.

(4) Current information on officers, directors, or persons who own ten percent or more of the
outstanding shares of a corporate applicant, or every owner if the applicant is unincorporated.
(5) The information required pursuant to OAR 441-880-0030 for loan originators.

(6) A licensee may renew their license, one time only, for less than the full 24 months but more
than 12 months for the purpose of changing the anniversary date of license renewal. The licensee




shall pay a prorated renewal fee equal to $20.84 for each month of renewal for the principal
office plus $4.16 for each month of renewal for each branch office.

(7) If a licensee submits an application which is incomplete in any respect, the Director will
contact the licensee to request the required information. The licensee shall have 10 days to
respond to the request for additional information. If the licensee fails to respond to the request,
the renewal application will not be processed, and the license shall be canceled on the expiration
date.

(8) If a licensee's license is canceled pursuant to section (7) of this rule, and the licensee
remedies the incomplete application before the scheduled license expiration date, the license will
be renewed for a two-year period.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 59.850(7), ORS 59.855(2) & ORS 59.900

Stats. Implemented: ORS 59.855, 59.969

Hist.: FCS 3-1993, f. & cert. ef. 11-15-93; FCS 11-1995, f. 11-4-94, cert. ef. 11-15-94; FCS 4-
1999, f. & cert. ef. 12-23-99; FCS 10-2000, f. & cert. ef. 9-13-00; FCS 10-2001, £. 12-24-01,
cert. ef. 1-1-02




441-880-0050

Criminal Records Check

(1) Prior to employing a loan originator as defined in ORS 59.840(4), a licensee must conduct a
criminal records check of the person, using the person’s full legal name, date of birth, place of
birth and social security number, searching federal records and all state records where the person
has resided in the past 10 years. The licensee must use the services of law enforcement agencies
or an independent private company that complies with the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act to
conduct the criminal records check. A criminal records check conducted for any other employer
within the previous six months will fulfill this requirement, provided that the scope of the
previous check is within the parameters of this section and the licensee obtains a copy of the
records check for his files.

(2) A criminal records check for a loan originator employed by a licensee on the effective date of
this rule must be completed within 120 days.

(3) A loan originator applicant may not be hired and a currently employed loan originator’s
employment must be immediately terminated if the criminal records check discloses a
disqualifying conviction as described in section (4) of this rule, provided that a licensee may
retain a current employee in a capacity other than as a loan originator during the no-action letter
process described in section (6) of this rule.

(4) The categories of criminal convictions that will prevent a person from acting as a loan
originator are:

(a) Crimes punishable by death or imprisonment in excess of one year under the law under which
the person was convicted, or

(b) Crimes involving false statement or dishonesty, including, but not limited to:

(A) Theft, misappropriation, or misapplication, of monies, services or goods in any amount;

(B) Falsification of records, perjury, or other similar criminal offenses indicating dishonesty;
(C) Taking of bribes, kickbacks, or other illegal compensation; or

(D) Deceiving the public or any person by means of swindling, false advertising or like acts.

(5) Within three business days of receiving the criminal records check report, the licensee shall
notify the Director of the identity of any person for whom a criminal records check discloses a
disqualifying conviction, using the Loan Originator Notification Form [Form 440-2772,
available online and from the Department].

(6) (a) Within 20 business days of notification to the Director as described in section (5) of this
rule, a licensee who desires to hire or retain a loan originator for whom a criminal records check
discloses a disqualifying conviction may make a written request for a letter from the Director
that no enforcement action will be taken against the licensee with respect to the employment of
such person. The request must contain the following information:

(A) The name of the person;

(B) A description of the disqualifying conviction from the criminal records check; and

(C) Supporting documents or other information demonstrating that this conviction is erroneously
entered on this person’s record or should otherwise not be deemed to be a disqualifying
conviction.

(b) The Director in determining whether to grant the requested no-action letter and in
determining whether conditions should be imposed if the no-action letter is granted may
consider, but is not limited to considering:

(A) The licensing and consumer complaint history of the licensee;

(B) Input from any mortgage professional association; and




(C) The interests of consumers.

(c) A licensee who hires or retains a loan originator who has a disqualifying conviction after a
requested no-action letter is denied, or without requesting a no-action letter, is subject to
penalties as provided by ORS 59.992 and 59.996.

(7) Criminal records check documents, including any no action letter or denial of a no action
letter request, received by the licensee shall be maintained in a secure location separate from
personnel records, and shall be made available to the Director or an authorized representative of
the Department for examination upon reasonable notice. These records shall be preserved by the
licensee for three years after termination of employment. When the person who is subject to the
check is not employed, the records shall be preserved by the licensee for two years from the date
of receipt. After the retention period, the records shall be destroyed in a secure manner such as
by shredding.

Stat. Auth.: Chapter 526, 2003 Oregon Laws

Stats. Implemented: Chapter 526, 2003 Oregon Laws




