Look up a licensee
The Department of Consumer and Business Services helps protect Oregonians by licensing businesses we regulate. Doing business with an Oregon-licensed company is a first step toward avoiding scams or paying too much for a service. We can fine or take away licenses of people or companies that break the law.
Here are some of the people or businesses we license through our consumer protection divisions. The first link is for the license lookup; the second link is for general information about the topic.
This is the main page for the Building Codes Division's required licenses and inspector certifications. The division licenses tradespeople in the boiler and pressure vessel, electrical, plumbing, and manufactured housing industries. You can find more Building Codes Division topics here.
The Division of Finance and Corporate Securities licenses the businesses that cash checks. Oregon law limits how much they can charge to cash a check and the businesses must post their licenses and the fees where customers can see them. Learn more.
Consumer finance lender
The Division of Finance and Corporate Securities licenses consumer finance lenders. A consumer finance loan is a loan for up to $50,000 with loan terms of more than 60 days. The loan may be for personal or household use. State law limits the amount of interest these lenders can charge. Learn more.
Mortgage loan modification or other debt management service providers
The Division of Finance and Corporate Securities licenses debt management service providers, including businesses or people who promise to help with home loan modifications. Oregon law limits how much businesses can charge and, in some cases, whether they can charge upfront fees. Learn more.
The Oregon Division of Finance and Corporate Securities or the federal Securities and Exchange Commission license investment firms and advisers. We are happy to help you check a license: 1-866-814-9710 (toll-free). Learn more about investing.
Investment broker firms
The Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) licenses brokerage firms and brokers.
Money transmitters (wire transfers)
The Division of Finance and Corporate Securities licenses people who sell traveler's checks, money orders, or other payment instruments or send money within the United States or abroad. Learn more.
Mortgage lenders (loan originators)
The Division of Finance and Corporate Securities licenses mortgage companies and their employees (loan originators) who loan people money to buy or refinance a home. These licensees must meet education and testing criteria and pass a criminal background check. They must post a surety bond. Learn more about mortgage lending.
Payday (cash advance) lenders
The Division of Finance and Corporate Securities regulates payday lenders who make short-term loans of less than $50,000. Oregon law limits how much lenders can charge. Learn more.