Oregon OSHA Registration Required for Agricultural Labor Housing
The Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division (Oregon OSHA)
is reminding agricultural employers that agricultural labor housing
must be registered with Oregon OSHA before the housing is occupied.
Housing certification must be renewed each year, and registration
certificates must be displayed where housing occupants and Oregon
OSHA personnel can read them.
Agricultural labor housing that has not been registered before, or
whose registration has lapsed, must have a pre-occupancy consultation
performed by Oregon OSHA in order to receive a registration certificate.
There is no cost for registering housing and no cost for a pre-occupancy
consultation. The owner of the agricultural labor housing facility
is responsible for making any corrections noted by an Oregon OSHA
Oregon OSHA will be continuing an emphasis on locating unregistered
agricultural labor housing during the growing season, including assigning
compliance officers to work on locating unregistered housing throughout
the state. Any person found to be operating unregistered agricultural
labor housing will face a minimum civil penalty of $ 5,000.
listing of registered agricultural labor housing facilities in Oregon
is now available on the Oregon OSHA Web site, www.orosha.org,
in the "Agriculture"
section. A checklist is also available from Oregon OSHA field offices
that can help familiarize operators with requirements prior to a pre-occupancy
consultation. The checklist
is also available on the Oregon OSHA Web site.
For questions regarding agricultural labor housing, contact the Oregon
OSHA Salem Field Office, (503) 378-3274. Consultations can be arranged
with any Oregon OSHA field office: Salem, (503) 378-7819; Eugene,
(541) 686-7913; Bend, (541) 388-6068; Medford, (541) 776-6016; Portland,
(503) 229-6193; and Pendleton, (541) 276-2353. Please call at least
45 days prior to occupancy to schedule a consultation.