December 19, 2013
In this issue:
Safety: Fall protection violations accounted for more than 60 percent of the construction industry's top 10 serious safety violations this year. Topping the list is Oregon OSHA's general fall protection rule (437-003-1501), which establishes the fall-protection requirements and exceptions for workers who work at heights of 10 feet or higher.
Health: Lead exposure, respiratory protection, hazard communication, and asbestos rules were among the year's top 10 serious health violations. In Oregon, construction industry employers receive more citations for violations of these standards than any other health rules. Last month, the Construction Depot concluded a four-part series that explained the requirements of these frequently cited standards.
|1||437-003-1501||General fall-protection requirements||122||$131,770|
|2||1926.1053(b)||Requirements for use of ladders||76||$43,100|
|3||1926.451(g)||Fall protection (scaffolds)||28||$31,240|
|4||1926.1052(c)||Stair rails and handrails||24||$3,300|
|6||437-003-503(1)||Fall protection training program||21||$10,620|
|7||1926.502(d)||Personal fall-arrest systems||20||$14,860|
|8||1926.652(a)||Protection of employees in excavations||19||$23,780|
|9||437-003-1501(1)||Requirements to protect against injuries near holes||18||$13,670|
|10||437-003-1501(2)||Fall protection for wall openings||17||$14,420|
|1||1926.62(d)||Lead exposure assessment||7||$990|
|2||1910.134(c)||Respiratory protection program||6||$700|
|3||1910.134(e)||Requirements on the selection of respiratory protection||5||$690|
|4||1910.1200(h)||Employee information and training||4||$460|
|5||1926.1101(f)||Asbestos: Exposure assessments and monitoring||3||$2,730|
|6||1910.106(e)||Flammable/combustible liquids - industrial plant requirements||3||$300|
|7||1910.1200(e)||Written hazard communication program||3||$240|
|8||437-2-161(5)||Emergency eyewash and shower facilities||2||$200|
|9||1910.1052(l)||Methylene chloride - employee information and training requirements||2||$1,040|
|10||1910.1052(g)||Methylene chloride - respiratory protection requirements||2||$325|
Reprinting, excerpting, or plagiarizing any part of this publication is fine with us!
But remember: the information in this newsletter is intended to highlight safe work practices, but it does not replace Oregon OSHA workplace safety and health rules.
For information about Oregon OSHA services and answers to technical questions, call (503) 378-3272 or toll-free within Oregon, (800) 922-2689.