Safety and health newsletter for the Oregon construction industry

April 15, 2013

 

Safety Break set for May 8

Image for article

Oregon OSHA's annual Safety Break for Oregon is coming up next month. This year's Safety Break marks the event's 10th year – for those of you who didn't know about it, Safety Break is a one-day event designed to raise awareness and promote workplace safety.

Oregon OSHA created Safety Break in 2003 at the urging of industry leaders concerned about an increase in workplace deaths in the state during 2002.

Go to article ...

Weld splatter torches fall arrest harness

Image for article

With prices for full-body personal fall arrest harnesses ranging as high as $400 each, it's a good idea to keep them away from environmental hazards when they're not being used. The harness in this picture was on the receiving end of welding splatter from welders who were working directly above the spot where a worker had left it.

Go to article ...

Fall protection Q&A: When can I use a safety monitor?

Image for article

You can use a safety monitor only to protect workers who do roofing work on roofs that have slopes no greater than 2:12 and widths no greater than 50 feet. Safety monitoring on roofs wider than 50 feet is not permitted unless a warning-line system also protects the workers.

The safety monitor, who must be a competent person, is responsible for:

Go to article ...

Don't forget to report overnight hospitalizations and fatalities

Image for article

If you're an employer, remember to call Oregon OSHA and report any incidents at your workplace that cause overnight hospitalizations or fatalities — including heart attacks and motor vehicle accidents.

Here's what you need to do:

Go to article ...

Rule updates

Confined spaces

Oregon OSHA's new confined space rule, 437-002-0146, Confined Spaces, became effective on April 1, 2013. The most significant effect of the new rule, which was highlighted in the December 2012 issue of the Construction Depot, is that it applies to general industry and construction industry workplaces.

However, Oregon OSHA is delaying enforcement of the rule's new provisions until Sept. 1, 2013.

Mobile cranes

In December 2012, Oregon OSHA proposed a new rule (437-002-0231) governing crane operator safety training for small capacity cranes. Oregon OSHA conducted three public hearings in January 2013, with a comment period open until Feb. 21, 2013.

Go to article ...

Reprinting, excerpting, or plagiarizing any part of this publication is fine with us!

But remember: the information in this newsletter is intended to highlight safe work practices, but it does not replace Oregon OSHA workplace safety and health rules.

For information about Oregon OSHA services and answers to technical questions, call (503) 378-3272 or toll-free within Oregon, (800) 922-2689.