DEPARTMENT OF

CONSUMER
USINE g
ERVICE

Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division
350 Winter St. NE, Rm. 430
Salem, OR 97301-3882

1 - Y . . :
Important information related to agricultural worker housing rules

OR-OSHA has field offices across Oregon. If you have questions or need information, call us toll-
free, (800) 922-2689, or phone one of the offices listed below. (All phone numbers are V/TTY.)

Portland Medford Bend

1750 NW Naito Parkway, Ste. 112 1840 Barnett Rd., Ste. D Red Oaks Square

Portland, OR 97209-2533 Medford, OR 97504-8250 1230 NE Third St., Ste. A-115

(503) 229-5910 (541) 776-6030 Bend, OR 97701-4374

Consultation: (503) 229-6193 Consultation: (541) 776-6016 (541) 388-6066

Consultation: (541) 388-6068

Eugene Salem

1140 Willagillespie, Ste. 42 DAS Bldg. 1st Floor

Eugene, OR 97401-2101 1225 Ferry St. SE Salem Central

(541) 686-7562 Salem, OR 97310-1330 350 Winter St. NE, Rm. 430

Consultation: (541) 686-7913 (503) 378-3274 Salem, OR 97301-3882
Consultation: (503) 373-7819  (503) 378-3272

Pendleton Toll free: (800) 922-2689

721 SE Third St., Ste. 306 Fax: (503) 947-7461

Pendleton, OR 97801-3056 -

(541) 276-9175 Visit us on the I nternet World Wide Web:

Consultation: (541) 276-2353 www.or osha.org




Do you provide housing for
seasonal farm workers?

If your agricultural business employs seasonal workers for whom you plan to provide housing,
you should know the following:

= Agricultural labor housing must be registered with OR-OSHA before it is occupied
and must be re-registered each year.

= Operators of agricultural labor housing may be fined up to $7,000 by OR-OSHA
if they fail to register the housing before it is occupied.

= Agricultural labor housing that has not been registered before, or whose registration
has lapsed must have a pre-occupancy consultation by OR-OSHA before it may
be registered and occupied. Call OR-OSHA 45 days prior to occupancy to arrange
for a consultation.

= There is no cost for registering housing and no cost for pre-occupancy consultation.
During the consultation, OR-OSHA may require changes. The owner of the housing
iIs responsible for making the changes and forwarding the report to OR-OSHA with
the application for registration.

= Certificates of registration must be displayed where housing occupants will see
them and OR-OSHA may review them.

Please refer to OAR 437-004-1120 for Oregon rules covering agricultural housing.

If you want a copy of the OR-OSHA Agricultural
Labor Housing Inspection Checklist, call the OR-
OSHA office near you, or check the OR-OSHA
Web site, www.orosha.org.

Agricultural labor housing registration materials will
be mailed to those who request them by phone, and

they may be picked up at any OR-OSHA field office
between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. weekdays.
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