Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Managed care organization
geographical service area (GSA)

The state is divided into 15 geographic service areas. Factors used in establishing these GSAs include normal patterns of travel for medical services as identified by data from the Office of Health Policy, Department of Human Services; geological terrain; major highways, roads, and travel routes; population density; and political subdivisions. Each GSA is defined by a list of postal ZIP codes. If an MCO wants to expand into another GSA, it must provide evidence of an adequate provider panel in that GSA and obtain approval from the director.

GSA map, ZIP codes, and MCO contact information

MCOs by GSAs with effective dates




Questions? Contact us at 503-947-7606 or e-mail