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Introduction
This report is the ninth in a series that describes Oregon’s workers’ com-
pensation system and shows the effects of legislative changes since 1987. 
This edition adds statutory changes made by the 2007 Legislature, summa-
ries of recent court decisions, and the latest available data.

Numerous commentators have singled out Oregon’s system as a national 
model of labor-management cooperation, leading to innovative programs that 
produce desirable outcomes for workers and affordable costs for employers. 
The results of that cooperation can be seen in 2007 legislative actions. 

Among other actions, the 2007 Legislature passed bills that expanded the 
authority of certain care providers to serve as attending physicians; stream-
lined a number of regulatory processes; made permanent earlier provi-
sions applying to disability benefi ts and medical services by nurse practi-
tioners; allowed for payment of appeal-related costs to injured workers; 
simplifi ed proof of coverage for insurers and employers; and mandated a 
study of death benefi ts. These bills are discussed in the summary of legisla-
tion (Appendix 1) and their respective topical chapters.

In part because of the work of Oregon OSHA, claims rates are declining. 
As measured by the Bureau of Labor Statistics’ employer survey, the Or-
egon total-cases incidence rate was 5.2 cases per 100 full-time workers in 
2007; this rate is 49 percent of the 1989 rate. The safety and health chapter 
contains more safety data.

Included among the bills passed by the 2007 Legislature that affected 
safety and health are bills that mandate comprehensive analysis on assaults 
to health care employees; require all employers to have a safety committee 
or hold safety meetings; and increase the time in which a worker can fi le 
a retaliation complaint with the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries 
from 30 days to 90 days.

The medical chapter also includes a discussion of research studies about 
the role of various care providers in the workers’ compensation system. 

As discussed in the return-to-work chapter, Oregon has innovative and ef-
fective return-to-work programs. Injured workers who complete vocational 
assistance plans, use Preferred Worker benefi ts, or use the Employer-at-
Injury Program have higher post-injury employment rates and wages than 
similar workers who do not use these programs. 

Finally, as discussed in the insurance chapter, Oregon has one of the na-
tion’s least expensive workers’ compensation systems. Oregon conducts a 
study every two years that compares the premium rates for its major in-
dustries to the premium rates in other states. Based on this methodology, 
Oregon’s rates in 2008 ranked 39th of 51 jurisdictions — which means 
Oregon’s premium rates are the 13th lowest in the nation. Because of the 
system’s successes, such as declining injury rates and workers getting back 
to work earlier, there has not been an increase in the workers’ compensa-
tion pure premium rate since 1990. In 2009, the pure premium rate will be 
about 38 percent of the 1990 rate.

Lessons from the Oregon 
Workers’ Compensation 

System
An independent national 
research organization recently 
recognized Oregon’s workers’ 
compensation system as a model 
that could provide valuable les-
sons for other states.

“When considering changing 
their workers’ compensation 
systems, state policymakers often 
want to learn more about the 
system in Oregon – a state with a 
reputation for achieving certain 
desirable outcomes, including 
reasonable income benefi ts that 
are typically delivered accurately 
and promptly with lower litigation 
levels, and employer costs that are 
affordable and stable,” according 
to the Workers’ Compensation 
Research Institute (WCRI) study, 
called “Lessons from the Oregon 
Workers’ Compensation System.” 
The study outlines the following 
four key lessons for other states 
from Oregon’s workers’ compen-
sation system: 

• cooperation between manage-
ment and labor through the 
Management-Labor Advisory 
Committee

• accurate and timely benefi ts 
for injured workers

• reduced litigation over 
benefi ts

• return-to-work programs that 
help get injured workers back 
to work faster

More detail on each of these 
areas can be found in the 
topical sections of this report. 
For more information on 
the Workers’ Compensation 
Research Institute study, go to: 
http://www.wcrinet.org/result/
OR_lessons_result.html.



2

BIENNIAL REPORT ON THE OREGON WORKERS’ COMPENSATION SYSTEM  ■  December 2008
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OUR MISSION
To protect and serve Oregon’s consumers and workers while supporting a positive business climate in the state.

WHAT WE DO
DCBS is Oregon’s largest regulatory agency. The department administers state laws and rules and protects 
consumers and workers in the areas of workers’ compensation, occupational safety and health, fi nancial 
services, insurance, building codes, and targeted contracting opportunities for small businesses.

WHAT WE VALUE
✓ A commitment to public service
✓ Integrity, expertise, and personal responsibility
✓ Collaborative, creative efforts to fi nd solutions
✓ Effectiveness and accountability in our people and our programs
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✓ Effective communication
✓ Respect for the diverse community of DCBS and Oregon
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✓ To protect consumers and workers in Oregon
✓ To regulate in a manner that supports a positive business climate
✓ To be accountable to the public we serve, with excellent service to our customers
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History of Workers’ Compensation in Oregon 
Early history 
The 1913 Oregon Legislative Assembly gave Oregon 
its fi rst workers’ compensation law; it became effec-
tive July 1, 1914. The law set up the State Industrial 
Accident Commission, consisting of three trustees, 
to oversee the Industrial Accident Fund. Employers 
in hazardous occupations had to decide whether to 
be part of the fund. Contributors to the fund could 
not be sued; instead, suits were brought against the 
commission. Employers who did not contribute had 
no common-law defenses, and the Employer Liabil-
ity Act made them vulnerable to unlimited damages 
for worker injuries or illnesses. Employers in non-
hazardous occupations also could contribute to the 
fund and get the benefi ts. 

In 1965, the Legislature overhauled the law. Most 
employers came under the Workmen’s Compensa-
tion Law, effective Jan. 1, 1966. Two years later, all 
employers that employed subject workers came 
under this law. Employers could buy the commis-
sion’s insurance, self-insure, or insure with private 
companies. The State Industrial Accident Commis-
sion was renamed the Workmen’s Compensation 
Board, and its insurance function was given to the 
State Compensation Department, the forerunner of 
SAIF Corporation.

The federal Occupational Safety and Health Act of 
1970 gave rise to the Oregon Safe Employment Act 
in 1973. Its purpose was to ensure safe and health-
ful working conditions and to reduce the burden 
— in terms of lost production, lost wages, medical 
expenses, disability compensation payments, and 
human suffering — caused by occupational injury 
and disease.

The 1977 Legislature created the Workers’ Compen-
sation Department, which took on the administrative 
functions previously under the Workmen’s Com-
pensation Board. The board continued supervising 
the Hearings Division, functioning as an appellate 
body. Today, the Workers’ Compensation Division is 
part of the Department of Consumer and Business 
Services. The department also contains other divi-
sions involved in workers’ compensation and work-
place safety: Oregon OSHA, the Insurance Division, 
the Ombudsman for Injured Workers, and the Small 

Business Ombudsman. The Workers’ Compensation 
Board is an independent agency that relies on DCBS 
for administrative support.

History since 1987
The Oregon workers’ compensation system has 
undergone major changes over the past two de-
cades. In 1986, Oregon ranked sixth highest in 
the nation in the average workers’ compensation 
premium rates paid by employers. It also had one 
of the nation’s highest occupational injury and 
illness incidence rates. To improve the system, the 
1987 Legislature enacted House Bill 2900. This bill 
expanded the requirements for safety and health 
loss-prevention programs, increased penalties 
against employers who violate the state’s safety and 
health act, created the Preferred Worker Program 
while limiting other vocational assistance, in-
creased benefi ts, limited the authority of the Work-
ers’ Compensation Board, and created the offi ce of 
the Ombudsman for Injured Workers. A compan-
ion bill, HB 2271, limited mental stress claims and 
placed on the worker the burden of proving that a 
claim is compensable.

Three years later, workers’ compensation costs 
remained high, and SAIF Corporation had canceled 
many small employers’ policies. These conditions 
provided the impetus for further reforms. During a 
May 1990 special session, the Legislature passed Sen-
ate Bill 1197 and other legislation. SB 1197 expand-
ed requirements for safety committees, required 
that the department’s disability standards be used 
at claim closure and for all subsequent litigation, 
required that the department create a workers’ com-
pensation claims examiner program, limited attend-
ing physicians and palliative care, allowed the use of 
managed care organizations, modifi ed the Preferred 
Worker Program, increased benefi ts, allowed claim 
disposition agreements, expanded the department’s 
dispute resolution processes, increased Oregon 
OSHA staffi ng, created the Ombudsman for Small 
Business, and established the Management-Labor 
Advisory Committee. To allow insurers more time 
to investigate claims, the bill increased the period 
for claim acceptance or denial from 60 days to 90 
days. It also redefi ned compensability by stating that 
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the injury must be the major contributing cause 
of the need for treatment. In addition, it stated 
that a claim was compensable only as long as the 
compensable condition remained the major contrib-
uting cause of the need for treatment. 

Following the passage of SB 1197, workers’ compen-
sation premium rates fell rapidly. Rates declined by 
more than 10 percent each year for three years after 
the special session. In 1994, Oregon had the 32nd 
highest premium rate ranking in the country.

The 1993 legislative session made only minor chang-
es to the Oregon workers’ compensation system. 
These included HB 2282, which addressed the regu-
lation of employee leasing companies, and HB 2285, 
which dealt with Oregon’s 24-hour health plan, a 
pilot project that combined group health coverage 
and workers’ compensation medical coverage. HB 
3069 amended the public records law to restrict 
access to claims history information in certain cir-
cumstances when the information could be used to 
discriminate against injured workers.

By the end of 1994, several court decisions had 
interpreted some of the legislative provisions. Then, 
in February 1995, the Oregon Supreme Court ruled 
in Errand v. Cascade Steel Rolling Mills that the 
exclusive remedy provision of workers’ compensa-
tion law applied to only compensable claims, not 
to denied claims. The exclusive remedy provision 
states that an employee injured on the job is enti-
tled to workers’ compensation benefi ts but may not 
sue the employer for damages. Partly in response to 
these decisions, the 1995 Legislature passed SB 369. 
This bill emerged as an 80-page reform of the work-
ers’ compensation system. It restated the legisla-
tive intent of SB 1197 by revising the defi nitions of 
compensability, disabling claims, and objective fi nd-
ings. It stated that the exclusive remedy provisions 
applied to all claims. In addition, the bill created 
the Worksite Redesign Program and expanded the 
Employer-at-Injury Program.

The 1997 and 1999 legislatures made few changes to 
the workers’ compensation system. Changes tended 
to limit the department’s functions and expand in-
surers’ responsibilities. The 1997 Legislature elimi-
nated the State Advisory Council on Occupational 
Safety and Health. In 1999, the Legislature passed 
HB 2830, which required Oregon OSHA to revise its 
method for scheduling workplace inspections and 

to notify certain employers of an increased likeli-
hood of inspection. The Legislature also eliminated 
the department’s claims-examiner program and 
the department’s responsibility to establish medical 
utilization and treatment standards. Both of these 
responsibilities had been added by SB 1197. The 
1999 Legislature also transferred all claim-closure 
responsibility from the department to insurers and 
self-insured employers.

In addition, the 1999 Legislature allocated 
funds for a study of the effects of changes in the 
compensability language in SB 1197 and SB 369. 
Legislators were interested in learning the extent to 
which these changes affected the costs of the work-
ers’ compensation system and the benefi ts paid to 
injured workers. The department contracted with a 
team of leading workers’ compensation researchers. 
The team issued its report, Final Report, Oregon 
Major Contributing Cause Study, in October 2000. 
The researchers concluded that the effects of the 
changes in the compensability defi nition could not 
be isolated but that the overall provisions of SB 1197 
and SB 369 resulted in benefi t reductions of at least 
13 percent. This savings was due to the decline in 
the number of claims.

For budgetary reasons, the 2001 Legislature further 
limited the department’s oversight. The numbers 
of health and safety inspectors and consultants 
and re-employment assistance consultants were 
reduced. Also, funding for the Workplace Redesign 
Program was eliminated. Policymakers decided the 
functions were not needed because of the decline 
in disabling claims and the availability of private-
sector vocational programs.

The 2001 legislative session also saw the passage of 
SB 485, the most comprehensive workers’ compen-
sation bill since 1995. The bill was created partly in 
response to another court decision. In May 2001, 
the Oregon Supreme Court ruled in Smothers v. 
Gresham Transfer, Inc., that some of the exclusive-
remedy provisions in SB 369 were unconstitutional. 
Workers whose claims were denied because their 
injuries were not the major contributing cause of 
the disability or need for treatment were permitted 
to pursue civil action against their employers. SB 
485 created a process for these suits. It also revised 
the defi nitions of pre-existing conditions and stated 
that the employer has the burden of proof in show-
ing that the compensable condition is not the major 
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contributing cause of the need for treatment. The 
Legislature was concerned that the Smothers deci-
sion would have a signifi cant impact on the costs of 
the system, so it mandated a legislative proposal for 
a revised system in time for the 2003 session. The 
impact of the Smothers decision has been far less 
than foreseen.

SB 485 and companion bills included other impor-
tant changes. To address worker concerns, SB 485 
expanded the calculation of temporary disability 
benefi ts to include the wages lost from multiple jobs, 
added the right of workers to submit depositions 
during the reconsideration process, and added pro-
visions for some workers to request medical exams 
during the claim-denial appeal process. To lessen 
the uncertainty of the claims process, the bill clari-
fi ed time limits in the claim process, reduced the 
time an insurer has to accept or deny a claim from 
90 days to 60 days, and added the responsibility for 
insurers to pay for some medical services prior to a 
claim denial.

In 2003, the Legislature passed SB 757. This bill 
signifi cantly changed the permanent partial disability 
award structure for workers injured since Jan. 1, 2005. 
The new structure simplifi ed the rating system. It also 
provided larger awards to injured workers who are 
unable to return to work. The benefi ts were designed 
to avoid increased costs to the workers’ compensation 
system, resulting in lower benefi ts to some workers 
who do return to work.

The 2005 Legislature revised Senate Bill 757 by 
enacting House Bill 2408, which provided that a 
worker receives only impairment benefi ts, not work 
disability benefi ts, when the worker is released to 
regular work by the attending physician or returns 
to regular work. The law applies to claims with dates 
of injury on or after Jan. 1, 2006. 

SB 386, also effective Jan. 1, 2006, modifi ed the stan-
dard for establishing or rescinding permanent total 
disability benefi ts. The bill set an earnings threshold 
to determine what constitutes gainful employment 
that is linked to the federal poverty guidelines. 
The bill also allows workers to appeal any notice of 
closure that reverses their permanent total disabil-
ity awards to the Hearings Division of the Workers’ 
Compensation Board; workers’ benefi ts continue 
while notices of closure are appealed.

The 2005 Legislature also addressed the process for 
insurer-requested independent medical examina-
tions. SB 311 required insurers to select an inde-
pendent medical examination provider from a list 
developed by the Department of Consumer and 
Business Services.

2007 legislative session
The 2007 Legislature passed HB 2756, which ex-
panded the authority of certain care providers to 
serve as attending physicians. The law change allows 
chiropractors, podiatrists, naturopaths, and physi-
cian assistants to act as attending physicians for up 
to 60 days or 18 visits, whichever comes fi rst. These 
provider groups can also authorize time loss for up 
to 30 days and manage a worker’s return to work 
during that period.

HB 2218 and SB 253 streamlined a number of regu-
latory and dispute resolution processes. HB 2244 
and HB 2247 made permanent earlier provisions 
applying to permanent partial disability benefi ts 
and medical services by nurse practitioners. An-
other streamlining measure, SB 559 (effective July 1, 
2009) simplifi es proof of coverage for insurers and 
employers by removing the requirement for guar-
anty contract fi ling. Instead, it requires the insurer 
to provide policy information to the department as 
proof of coverage.

SB 404 allowed for payment of appeal-related costs 
to injured workers, and also allowed attorneys to 
fi le liens for fees out of additional compensation 
when the worker had signed a fee agreement and 
the attorney was instrumental in obtaining the 
outcome of the claim. SB 835 mandated an interim 
study of death benefi ts and a report to the 2009 
Legislative Assembly. These bills are discussed in 
the summary of legislation (Appendix 1) in their 
respective topical chapters.

A number of bills passed the 2007 Legislature that 
affected health and safety. HB 2022 mandated 
comprehensive data collection and analysis on as-
saults to health care employees. HB 2222 removed 
specifi c safety committee requirements from the law, 
which gives the director authority to write rules to 
require all employers to have a safety committee or 
hold safety meetings. HB 2259 increased the time in 
which a worker can fi le a retaliation complaint with 
the Oregon Bureau of Labor and Industries from 30 
days to 90 days.
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2008 Report Highlights
The basic measures of workplace safety and health 
are injury and illness frequencies and claims fre-
quencies. 

■ The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics uses an 
employer survey to estimate injury and illness 
frequencies. In 2007, the Oregon total-cases 
incidence rate was 5.2 cases per 100 full-time 
workers. Incidence rates have been declining. In 
1988, the total cases rate was 11.1 cases per 100 
workers. 

■ In 2007, there were 23,433 accepted disabling 
claims. The accepted disabling claims rate, 
which refl ects both claims frequency and 
compensability standards, was 1.3 accepted dis-
abling claims per 100 workers in 2007. This is 35 
percent of the 1988 value.

Oregon OSHA provides workplace consultations 
and inspections. 

■ Oregon OSHA staff provided 2,099 consultations 
in 2007, similar to the number done in recent 
years. These consultations help employers iden-
tify hazards that could lead to workplace injuries 
or illnesses. 

■ There were 5,049 Oregon OSHA inspections in 
federal fi scal year 2007. No violations were found 
in 25.5 percent of the inspections. Since 1988, 
the number of employers in Oregon OSHA’s ju-
risdiction has grown by about 45 percent, while 
the annual number of inspections has remained 
about the same. 

■ The Safety and Health Achievement Recogni-
tion Program (SHARP) provides incentives for 
Oregon employers to work with their employees 
to correct hazards and to develop effective safety 
and health programs. In 2007, 126 Oregon com-
panies from diverse industries had been certifi ed 
as SHARP employers.

The workers’ compensation claims system has been 
fairly steady over the past few years. 

■ The denial rate of disabling claims was 14 per-
cent in fi scal year 2008, similar to the previous 
two years but lower than 2005 and prior years. 
The denial rate of disabling occupational disease 
claims was 31 percent in 2008.

■ Insurers made timely compensability decisions 
91 percent of the time, and timely fi rst benefi t 
payments 90 percent of the time in 2007. 

The department provides services for workers, 
employers, medical providers, and others through 
its ombudsman offi ces and through the Workers’ 
Compensation Division information line. 

■ The Offi ce of the Ombudsman for Injured 
Workers serves as an independent advocate for 
injured workers seeking resolution of issues con-
cerning their claims. There were about 11,500 
inquiries to the offi ce in 2007. The issues that 
prompt the most inquiries are benefi ts, medical, 
claim processing, and settlements. 

■ The Offi ce of Small Business Ombudsman for 
Workers’ Compensation is a resource center for 
employers needing information about the work-
ers’ compensation system. The offi ce received 
3,785 inquiries in 2007. 

■ The Workers’ Compensation Division has a tele-
phone information line for workers, employers, 
insurers, medical providers, attorneys, legisla-
tors, and others. In 2007, there were more than 
12,300 calls to the information line. 

The department penalizes employers, insurers, and 
others for federal and state rule violations. 

■ During federal fi scal year 2007, Oregon OSHA 
issued 3,759 citations against employers with $2.4 
million in penalties for workplace violations. 

■ In 2007, WCD issued 915 citations against insur-
ers for failing to meet requirements for payment 
of compensation, claim acceptance or denial, 
and claim closure. The penalties totaled more 
than $575,000. 



7

December 2008  ■  BIENNIAL REPORT ON THE OREGON WORKERS’ COMPENSATION SYSTEM

Injured workers with disabling claims receive 
indemnity benefi ts, such as temporary disability 
payments and permanent disability awards, and 
medical services. The amount paid for indemnity 
benefi ts has remained fairly constant over the past 
decade, while the amount paid for medical benefi ts 
has increased. 

■ About 46 percent of paid benefi ts in 2007 were 
indemnity benefi ts; in contrast, in 1995, more 
than 56 percent of benefi ts were indemnity 
benefi ts. 

■ In 2007, 42 percent of indemnity benefi ts for ac-
cepted disabling claims were temporary disability 
benefi ts, 28 percent were permanent partial dis-
ability benefi ts, and 21 percent were settlements. 

■ Injured workers are not usually enrolled in man-
aged care organizations until their claims are 
accepted. In 2007, 42 percent of injured workers 
with accepted disabling claims were enrolled in 
MCOs. SAIF enrolled 66 percent of its injured 
workers, private insurers enrolled 7 percent of 
their injured workers, and self-insured employers 
enrolled 34 percent. 

■ In 2007, an estimated $319.4 million was paid 
for workers’ compensation medical services. 
The three largest service categories were physi-
cal medicine, evaluation & management, and 
surgery.

After the prevention of injuries, the most impor-
tant goals of the workers’ compensation system are 
returning injured workers to their jobs quickly and 
restoring them to their pre-injury wages. Oregon’s 
return-to-work programs are effective in achieving 
these goals. Workers who have used the depart-
ment’s return-to-work programs have higher em-
ployment rates and higher wages than workers who 
have not used these programs. 

■ The Preferred Worker Program provides incen-
tives for employers to hire workers with perma-
nent disabilities who are unable to return to 
regular work. As of July 2008, 26 percent of the 
workers issued cards in 2004 had used them to 
gain employment. Workers who used Preferred 
Worker benefi ts have employment rates that are 
at least 20 percentage points higher than those 
who do not use their benefi ts. 

■ Use of the Employer-at-Injury Program, which 
provides benefi ts to employers who return their 
injured employees to work quickly, has increased 
since 2005; more than 7,700 workers used the 
program in 2007.

■ Oregon’s traditional vocational assistance pro-
gram was scaled back in 1987. In 2007, about 
130 workers returned to work after completing 
vocational assistance. This compares with about 
3,600 workers in 1987. Workers who complete 
vocational assistance plans have employment 
rates that are at least 20 percent higher than 
workers who do not receive return-to-work as-
sistance. 

In 2007, the Workers’ Compensation Division and 
the Workers’ Compensation Board resolved more 
than 16,000 disputes through orders, stipulations, 
agreements, and mediation. 

■ In 2007, 16 percent of claim closures were ap-
pealed for reconsideration. More than 4,000 
reconsideration orders were written; 23 percent 
of these orders were appealed to the Hearings 
Division. 

■ The Vocational Rehabilitation Unit resolved 446 
vocational disputes in 2007. Of these cases, 28 
percent were resolved through agreements. An-
other 43 percent of the disputes were dismissed, 
often because vocational assistance benefi ts were 
released in claim disposition agreements. 

■ There were more than 9,300 hearing requests in 
2007, a third of the number of requests in 1989. 

■ Claims denial was an issue in 38 percent of the 
approximately 9,300 hearing orders issued in 
2007. Partial denial of claims was an issue in 41 
percent of the hearing orders. 

■ Claimant attorney fees totaled $19.2 million 
in 2007. Sixty-four percent of these fees were 
taken out of claim disposition agreements and 
disputed claim settlements. Insurer attorney fees 
totaled $29.7 million. 

Although the 1990 reforms changed the Oregon 
workers’ compensation system dramatically, the 
market has been fairly steady during recent years.
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■ The insurance commissioner approved overall 
pure premium rate reductions of 2.3 percent for 
2008 and 5.9 percent for 2009. 

■ The 2009 workers’ compensation pure premium 
rate is 38 percent of the 1990 rate. 

■ Workers’ compensation total system written 
premiums in Oregon totaled $1,193 million for 
2007, up 21 percent from 2006. Much of this 
increase is due to a one-time accounting adjust-
ment by SAIF Corporation.

■ SAIF Corporation’s share of the market in 2007 
was 49 percent. Private insurers’ market share 
was 39 percent. Self-insured employer and em-
ployer groups had the remainder of the market, 
12 percent.

■ Oregon’s assigned risk pool shrank slightly in 
2007 after mild growth between 2003 and 2006. 
In 2007, more than 12,000 employers were in the 
pool.

Since 1996, the Workers’ Benefi t Fund has provid-
ed money for a number of workers’ compensation 
programs. The funds come from an assessment on 
employers and workers. 

■ As of January 2009, the assessment rate is 2.8 
cents per hour worked, with employers and 
workers each paying half. This is unchanged 
from the rate in effect during 2007 and 2008.

Much of the regulation of the Oregon workers’ 
compensation system is funded by an assessment 
on workers’ compensation premiums. The assess-
ment revenue is collected from insurers based on 
workers’ compensation premiums earned in Or-
egon. For self-insured employers and self-insured 
employer groups, the assessment is based on simu-
lated premiums calculated by the department. The 
revenue is deposited into the Premium Assessment 
Operating Account. 

■ As of January 2009, the assessment rate for 
insurers, self-insured employers and self-insured 
employer groups, is 4.6 percent of premiums, 
unchanged from 2008. 
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Safety and Health 
The most widely used measures of workplace safety 
are injury and illness rates and claims rates. These 
rates are now less than half of what they were in the 
late 1980s. 

Injury and illness rates and claims rates
For more than 30 years, the U.S. Bureau of Labor 
Statistics (BLS) has used an employer survey based 
on OSHA recordkeeping requirements to estimate 
occupational injury and illness frequencies. This 
provides a long-running data series showing chang-
es in injury rates over time. However, due to new 
recordkeeping rules adopted by BLS (2002) and a 
new industry classifi cation system (2003), the cur-
rent incidence rates may not be comparable with 
the earlier rates. 

Despite these changes, the employer survey still 
provides valuable information about trends in 
workplace injuries. In Oregon, the total-cases 
incidence rate, a measure of all workplace injuries 
and illnesses, has fallen since 1988. The rate was 

11.1 cases per 100 full-time workers in 1988 and 6.2 
cases in 2001, before the new rules took effect. Un-
der the new reporting rules, Oregon’s total-cases 
incidence rate in the private industry was 5.1 cases 
per 100 full-time workers in 2007. The national 
rate was 4.2 in 2007. 

The main measure of workers’ compensation claims 
fi ling, the disabling claims rate, was 1.3 accepted 
disabling claims per 100 workers in 2007. Since 
1998, Oregon has experienced a steady decline in 
the accepted disabling claims rate. Despite increas-
ing employment in Oregon, the number of ac-
cepted disabling claims has fallen nearly every year. 
Compensable fatalities have also declined; the 35 
deaths in 2007 were the third-fewest ever recorded.

It is diffi cult to determine how much the emphasis 
on workplace safety and health has affected claims 
rates. Changes in the defi nition of compensability, 
insurer claims-management practices, claims-fi ling 
practices, and alterations in the economy, indus-
trial landscape, and workforce size affect both 

Figure 1. Accepted disabling claims and employment,
1987-2007
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Figure 2. Compensable fatality rates per 100,000 workers, 1987-2007
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claims volume and rates. Comparatively, national 
incidence rates have fallen at rates similar to Or-
egon’s, perhaps indicating that claims rates would 
have fallen, even without legislative reform. Despite 
these qualifi cations, the increased emphasis on 
safety and health, especially by Oregon OSHA, has 
played an important role in the reduction of work-
ers’ compensation costs in Oregon.

Occupational Safety and Health 
Administration 
The best way to reduce the costs and suffering 
associated with workers’ compensation claims is 
to reduce workplace injuries, illnesses, and fatali-
ties. Oregon OSHA provides leadership and sup-
port to business and labor through enforcement 
programs, voluntary services, conferences and 
workshops, technical resources, publications, and a 
resource library. 

Oregon OSHA and Federal OSHA
The Federal Occupational Safety and Health Act of 
1970 went into effect in 1971. The Oregon version 
of this legislation, the Oregon Safe Employment 
Act (OSEA), was passed in 1973. The OSEA is now 
administered through a state-plan agreement with 
federal OSHA. 

In May 2005, through the long-standing efforts of 
Oregon OSHA, Oregon became the 17th state to 
gain fi nal approval for meeting the requirements 

of the 1970 federal act. This approval means that 
federal OSHA has formally relinquished enforce-
ment authority in areas under Oregon OSHA 
jurisdiction. Many states that have received this rec-
ognition employ rules that are identical to federal 
requirements. In contrast, Oregon has designed its 
safety standards based on Oregon’s unique work-
ing conditions. Therefore, the approval of a plan 
that differs substantially from the federal program 
is an important achievement. Even with fi nal state 
plan approval, federal OSHA continues to fund a 
portion of Oregon OSHA’s budget and annually 
monitors its performance through the fi ve-year 
strategic plan.

Legislative reform
Since the passage of the OSEA, other pieces of leg-
islation have affected Oregon OSHA’s programs. 
Between 1987 and 1991, the Oregon Legislature 
signifi cantly increased the emphasis on safety and 
health in the workplace. This was done by increas-
ing safety and health enforcement, training, and 
consultative staff; increasing penalties against em-
ployers who violate state safety and health regula-
tions; requiring insurers to provide loss-prevention 
consultative services; offering employer and em-
ployee training opportunities through a grant 
program; requiring joint labor-management safety 
committees; and targeting safety and health inspec-
tions of workplaces. 

R
at

es

Calendar year

Notes: The claims rate is the number of accepted disabling claims per 100 workers. 
 The cases-with-days-away-from-work incidence rate is the number of injuries and illnesses per 100 full-time private sector workers 
 that resulted in days absent from work. 
 The total-cases incidence rate is the total number of injuries and illnesses per 100 full-time private sector workers. 

Figure 3. Accepted disabling claims rates and private sector occupational injuries and 
illnesses incidence rates, 1987-2007
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The 1999 Legislature passed HB 2830, which di-
rected Oregon OSHA to notify certain employers 
of the increased likelihood of an inspection and 
to focus Oregon OSHA enforcement activities on 
the most unsafe workplaces. In 2005, at Oregon 
OSHA’s request, HB 2093 removed the accepted 
disabling claims rate as one of the criteria used by 
Oregon OSHA when identifying employers who 
will receive this notifi cation. This legislation provid-
ed the director with the authority to determine the 
most unsafe industries and workplaces to be noti-
fi ed of the increased likelihood of an inspection. 

In 1990, SB 1197 required employers with more 
than 10 employees, and certain employers with 
fewer than 10 employees, to establish safety com-
mittees. However, in 2007 the Legislature passed 
HB 2222, which removed all of the specifi c safety 
committee requirements from the law. It gave the 
Department of Consumer and Business Services 
the authority to write rules requiring all employ-
ers to establish and administer safety committees 
or hold safety meetings. HB 2222 also allows for 
alternate forms of safety committees and meet-
ings to meet the special needs of small employers, 
agricultural employers, and employers with mobile 
work sites.

Many of the legislative changes have affected 
agriculture. In 1995, small agricultural employers 
without any serious accidents and who followed 
specifi ed training and consultation schedules were 
exempted from scheduled inspections. In 1997, 
Oregon OSHA was authorized to enforce the law 
requiring operators of farmworker camps to pro-
vide seven days of housing in the event of camp 
closure by a government agency. Prior to this legis-

lative change, the Bureau of Labor and Industries 
enforced the law. The 1999 Legislature exempted 
corporate farms with only family-member employ-
ees from occupational safety and health require-
ments. HB 3573 (2001) created the Farmworker 
Housing Development Account and directed that 
the money collected from civil penalties imposed 
for the nonregistration of farmworker camps be 
put into the account. 

Voluntary Services 
Consultative services
Oregon OSHA staff members provided 2,098 
consultations in 2007. This function was added 
to the department’s duties through SB 2900 in 
1987 and expanded with the passage of SB 1197 in 
1990. Consultative services help Oregon employ-
ers identify hazards and work practices that could 
lead to injuries or illnesses. Employers are provided 
recommendations for correcting identifi ed hazards 
and for improving their safety and health pro-
grams. Consultative services also include the time-
intensive process of assisting interested employers 
as they work toward Safety and Health Achieve-
ment Recognition Program (SHARP) recognition, 
and evaluating worksites for qualifi cation in the 
Voluntary Protection Program. 

Safety and Health Achievement 
Recognition Program 
The Safety and Health Achievement Recognition 
Program (SHARP) recognizes employers who 
reach specifi c benchmarks in managing their occu-
pational safety and health program. SHARP pro-
vides employers assistance and tools for effectively 
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managing workplace safety, focusing on manage-
ment commitment, and employee participation. 
Companies that use SHARP to implement a safety 
and health management system often experience 
a reduction in injuries and illnesses, and, in turn, 
reduce their workers’ compensation insurance 
premiums. The program was implemented in 1996 
with four employers certifi ed. By the end of 2007, 
the program had grown to 126 employers.

Voluntary Protection Program
Federal OSHA developed the Voluntary Protection 
Program (VPP) as a way to recognize employers 
who demonstrate excellence in safety and health 
management. To be considered for VPP recogni-
tion, a company’s safety and health management 
system must excel in all areas, including manage-
ment leadership, employee involvement, worksite 
analysis, hazard prevention and control, and safety 
and health training. VPP worksites must also have 
a three-year average injury and illness rate at or 
below the rates of other employers in the same 
industry. At the end of 2007, there were 16 Oregon 
worksites participating in VPP.

Oregon OSHA grants
Since 1990, Oregon OSHA has awarded about $2.6 
million in grants to nonprofi t organizations and 
associations to develop innovative programs for 
occupational safety and health training. The pro-
grams are designed to reduce or eliminate hazards 
in an entire industry or in a specifi c work process. 
Examples of programs that have received grants 
are homebuilders’ manuals and videos in Russian, 
Spanish, and English; an educational program for 
nurses to prevent ergonomic injuries; a dairy farm-
ers’ checklist and video; and lifting guidelines.

In 2008, Oregon OSHA awarded $1.04 million in 
grants to a rural critical care hospital and a long-
term care facility to develop model sites for safe pa-
tient handling. This was done in collaboration with 
the Oregon Coalition for Healthcare Ergonomics as 
a means to address the growing problem of health 
care worker injuries and their associated costs.

Safety and Health Training Programs
Oregon OSHA also provides training to both 
employers and employees. Attendance at public 
education and conference training sessions be-

tween 1998 and 2007 exceeded 230,000. These 
educational forums provide an opportunity to 
share ideas on occupational safety and health with 
national experts. 

Most Oregon OSHA conferences are coordinated 
and presented in partnership with businesses, 
associations, labor unions, etc. Every other year, 
Oregon OSHA and the American Association of 
Safety Engineers work together to present the Gov-
ernor’s Occupational Safety and Health Confer-
ence (GOSH). In 2007, in addition to the GOSH 
conference, there were six other conferences held 
around Oregon that addressed a variety of safety 
and health issues.

In 2007, the Public Education Section offered 
more than 740 workshops and on-site trainings on 
78 different topics related to safety and health in 
the workplace. 

Partnerships with stakeholders
Oregon OSHA collaborates with groups, including 
business organizations and labor unions, to design 
better safety and health programs for workers. 
Oregon OSHA has 36 active partnerships with or-
ganizations and individuals who have an interest in 
workplace safety and health. Many of the partner-
ships take the form of stakeholder advisory com-
mittees that assist in the development of new rules, 
provide input on agency direction on current 
issues, foster outreach and education with specifi c 
industries, and sponsor conferences.

For example, Oregon OSHA worked with the Or-
egon Collaboration for Healthy Nail Salons to pro-
vide education on environmental health hazards in 
the nail salon industry. The joint effort resulted in 
two informative publications, including one translat-
ed into Vietnamese, that specifi cally targeted work-
ers in the industry, as well as an extensive public 
information outreach effort to the affected workers.

Oregon OSHA also adopted a formal alliance poli-
cy to acknowledge some of the collaborations with 
industry or labor groups. Agreements were recently 
signed with the Oregon Homebuilders Association, 
Oregon Restaurant Association, and Oregon Coali-
tion for Healthcare Ergonomics. 
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Enforcement
Oregon OSHA inspections
Oregon OSHA conducted 5,049 inspections in fed-
eral fi scal year 2007. More than 10,000 violations 
of safety and health standards were cited on 3,759 
citations. Penalties assessed for these employer vio-
lations in federal fi scal year 2007 were $2.4 million, 
which is consistent with previous years. 

Inspections at employer worksites in Oregon are 
based primarily on inspection targeting lists, com-
plaints, accidents (including fatalities), and refer-
rals. Seventy-one percent, about 3,600 inspections, 
were initiated from several targeting lists. Com-
plaints received by Oregon OSHA about the safety 
or health conditions at Oregon worksites resulted 
in 805 inspections, 16 percent of the total. Acci-
dents and fatalities at Oregon worksites resulted in 
209 inspections, 4 percent of the total.

Although the number of inspections has varied 
from year to year, there has been no long-term in-
crease in inspections since at least 1988. During the 
same period, the number of Oregon employers has 
grown 35 percent. 

Loss-prevention services
From 1989 to 1999, workers’ compensation insur-
ers provided mandatory loss-prevention services to 
employers Oregon OSHA identifi ed as having at 
least three accepted disabling claims and a claims 
rate above the statewide average or having at least 
20 claims. In July 1999, administrative rule changes 

required insurers to identify employers with a 
claims frequency greater than the industry average 
and offer loss-prevention services. Oregon OSHA 
conducts inspections of insurers’ and self-insured 
employers’ loss-prevention activities to ensure that 
employers are offered loss-prevention services. 
These services include assistance in developing 
written loss-prevention plans, workplace hazard 
surveys, identifi cation of resources to reduce haz-
ards, and assistance in evaluating safety and health 
training needs.

Customer service
One factor in the success of Oregon OSHA’s en-
forcement activities is the performance of its com-
pliance offi cers. The department surveys employers 
that Oregon OSHA inspected, allowing employers 
to rate the performance of compliance offi cers. 
On average, more than 90 percent of completed 
questionnaires show “good” to “very good” ratings 
for compliance offi cers in their general knowledge 
of the job, professional and personal attributes, 
and ability to explain the reason for the inspection, 
and the rights and responsibilities of the inspected 
employer. In addition, the majority of respondents 
indicate a belief that their inspection will result in a 
reduction of workplace hazards.

Oregon OSHA’s consultation services also receive 
high marks in customer service. Among employers 
surveyed in FY 2007, nearly all (97 percent) rated 
their consultant as “good” or “excellent” in regard 
to helpfulness, expertise, timeliness, accuracy, avail-
ability of information, and overall service.
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Figure 5. Oregon OSHA inspections, 1988-2007
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Accepted disabling claims, employment, and claims rates, 1987-2007

Year
Accepted 

disabling claims Employment Claims rate
The number of accepted disabling claims has increased slightly 
over the past two years. Prior to that, the number declined nearly 
every year after 1988. There were just over half as many ADCs 
in 2007 as in 1988. During the same period, employment grew by 
51 percent. 

The claims rate was at a record low in 2007, with 1.3 accepted 
disabling claims per 100 workers. This was 35 percent of the 
1988 value.

1987 41,033 1,105,200 3.7
1988 43,660 1,161,100 3.8
1989 39,170 1,214,900 3.2
1990 35,857 1,258,600 2.8
1991 31,479 1,258,600 2.5
1992 30,786 1,280,500 2.4
1993 30,741 1,317,100 2.3
1994 31,530 1,378,800 2.3
1995 30,564 1,431,600 2.1
1996 28,389 1,487,300 1.9
1997 27,922 1,547,800 1.8
1998 27,020 1,576,100 1.7
1999 25,769 1,602,700 1.6
2000 25,326 1,627,600 1.6
2001 24,608 1,616,400 1.5
2002 23,464 1,596,100 1.5
2003 21,823 1,585,800 1.4
2004 22,321 1,636,300 1.4
2005 22,113 1,683,100 1.3
2006 23,371 1,734,400 1.4
2007 23,433 1,763,800 1.3

Permanent partial disability claims, 1987-2007
Year PPD claims PPD rate Permanent partial disability indicates the severity of workplace 

injuries. The number of accepted disabling claims for which 
permanent partial disability has been awarded declined nearly 
every year between 1987 and 2003, with the average annual 
decline rate of about 5 percent. The greatest decline occured in 
1991; the number of PPD claims dropped by 27 percent compared 
to the previous year. The number of accepted disability claims for 
which PPD has been awarded, on the contrary, increased by the 
average annual rate of 2 percent. The PPD rate, the number of 
claims with PPD awards per 100,000 workers, has declining by 1 
percent since 2003; the average rate of decline for the years prior 
to 2003 was 7 percent. Again, the greatest decline took place in 
1991, when the PPD rate dropped by 27 percent as well. 

Note: PPD claims are reported by the year of the fi rst PPD 
award. The counts do not include PPD claims resolved by claim 
disposition agreements prior to the closure date. Historical data 
will change by small amounts.

1987 12,877 1,165
1988 12,336 1,062
1989 13,800 1,136
1990 13,731 1,091
1991 9,980 793
1992 9,562 747
1993 9,349 710
1994 9,529 691
1995 9,476 662
1996 8,904 599
1997 8,049 520
1998 7,759 492
1999 7,342 458
2000 6,954 427
2001 7,015 434
2002 6,730 422
2003 6,266 395
2004 6,369 389
2005 6,386 379
2006 6,580 379
2007 6,844 388
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Occupational injuries and illnesses incidence rates, Oregon private sector, 1987-2007

Year Total cases IR 
Cases with days 
away from work DART rate 

Incidence rates are the number of cases per 100 workers. 
Beginning with the 2002 BLS survey, incidence rates are based 
on revised requirements for recording occupational injuries and 
illnesses. Due to the revised requirements, the rates since the 
2002 survey may not be comparable with those of prior years. 

The total-cases incidence rate is a measure of all recordable 
workplace injuries and illnesses. The cases-with-days-away-from-
work incidence rate shows the cases that resulted in absences 
from work. The DART (Days away from work, job transfer, or 
restricted duty) rate is a broader measure. In addition to days 
away from work, it includes cases that result in changes or 
restrictions in duty. All four of these rates fell about 10 percent 
between 2003 and 2007.

1987 10.9 4.8 -
1988 11.1 4.9 -
1989 10.6 4.3 -
1990 10.1 3.9 -
1991 9.1 3.4 -
1992 9.1 3.3 -
1993 9.0 3.3 -
1994 8.7 3.0 -
1995 8.8 2.9 -
1996 7.8 2.6 -
1997 7.8 2.3 -
1998 6.9 2.1 -
1999 7.0 2.1 -
2000 6.3 1.9 -
2001 6.2 1.9 -

--------------> Series break
2002 6.0 1.9 3.2
2003 5.6 1.9 3.1
2004 5.8 1.9 3.1
2005 5.4 1.7 2.9
2006 5.3 1.7 2.8
2007 5.1 1.7 2.8

Compensable fatalities, 1987-2007
Year Compensable fatalities Fatality rate There were 35 compensable fatalities in 2007, the third fewest 

ever recorded. The number of deaths has declined an average 
of 4 percent per year since 1987. The fatality rate, the number of 
compensable fatalities per 100,000 workers, has declined by an 
average rate of 6 percent per year. 

Yearly fatality counts often vary because of multiple-fatality 
incidents. In 2002, three incidents resulted in seven deaths. As 
a result, the number of fatalities was unusually high. 

1987 78 7.1
1988 81 7.0
1989 76 6.3
1990 64 5.1
1991 65 5.2
1992 63 4.9
1993 64 4.9
1994 55 4.0
1995 48 3.4
1996 54 3.6
1997 43 2.8
1998 52 3.3
1999 47 2.9
2000 45 2.8
2001 34 2.1
2002 52 3.3
2003 41 2.6
2004 45 2.7
2005 31 1.8
2006 37 2.1
2007 35 2.0
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Industry total-cases incidence rates, 2003-2007

Year

Agriculture, 
forestry, 
fi shing

Construc-
tion

Manufac-
turing

Transporta-
tion and 

warehousing

Beginning with the 2003 survey, the industry rates are based on 
the North American Industry Classifi cation System. Prior data 
were based on the Standard Industrial Classifi cation codes, which 
are not comparable.

Two of the four industry divisions shown here had declines 
in total-cases incidence rates between 2005 and 2007. The 
decline in the construction industry was 15 percent; the decline 
for the manufacturing industry was 13 percent. The agriculture, 
forestry, fi shing industry had an increase of 24 percent, and the 
transportation and warehousing industry’s rate increased 22 
percent.

2003 6.9 7.4 7.0 10.0
2004 8.9 7.9 7.4 7.1
2005 5.8 8.0 7.5 6.5
2006 6.4 6.3 7.0 9.0
2007 7.2 6.8 6.5 7.9

Oregon OSHA inspections, federal fi scal years 1988-2007
Federal 

fi scal year Inspections
Workers covered 

by inspections
Percent in 
compliance

The number of Oregon OSHA inspections per federal fi scal year 
fl uctuates (the federal fi scal year begins each October). The 
average number of inspections per year from 1988-2007 is 5,235.

Inspections are classifi ed in several ways. The broadest category 
identifi es each inspection as either a safety inspection or a health 
inspection. In federal fi scal year 2007, 82 percent were safety 
inspections. 

Some inspections result in a citation (violations of Oregon or 
federal standards found at the worksite). When there are no 
violations of safety or health rules, the inspection is called “in 
compliance.” The percentage of in-compliance inspections was 26 
percent in federal fi scal year 2007.

1988 5,697 147,414 23.3%
1989 5,136 167,432 24.2%
1990 4,826 164,052 21.4%
1991 5,506 163,813 18.8%
1992 5,739 206,170 17.7%
1993 5,613 245,901 20.1%
1994 5,022 262,589 20.9%
1995 5,470 227,412 25.2%
1996 5,181 195,375 26.2%
1997 4,555 182,058 28.2%
1998 5,172 152,324 28.0%
1999 5,435 168,258 30.7%
2000 5,069 165,151 28.2%
2001 5,370 197,722 27.8%
2002 5,642 196,193 26.1%
2003 5,355 217,724 26.4%
2004 5,097 207,463 24.9%
2005 4,890 274,457 22.2%
2006 4,873 355,103 26.2%
2007 5,049 244,111 25.5%

Oregon OSHA citations, violations, and proposed penalties, federal fi scal years 1988-2007
Federal 

fi scal year Citations Violations
Penalties 

($ millions)
Oregon OSHA issues a citation to an employer when one or 
more violations of Oregon or federal standards are found. The 
penalties listed are the initial or proposed penalties levied when 
the citation was issued and do not refl ect changes made due to 
the settlement of an appeal.

The average number of violations per citation has changed little 
since 1983. The average number prior to 1996 was four violations 
per citation; the average since has been three. 

The average number of serious violations per citation has varied 
even less since 1988, with the average consistently close to one.

1988 4,368 15,735 $1.9
1989 3,892 12,364 1.5
1990 3,794 14,009 2.8
1991 4,472 17,118 2.8
1992 4,721 19,424 3.2
1993 4,485 17,611 4.7
1994 3,970 15,292 4.6
1995 4,093 15,302 5.8
1996 3,823 12,434 2.9
1997 3,269 10,359 3.9
1998 3,725 11,366 2.4
1999 3,767 11,433 3.0
2000 3,642 11,094 2.3
2001 3,879 12,701 2.4
2002 4,170 12,703 2.1
2003 3,940 11,700 2.3
2004 3,827 11,804 2.4
2005 3,805 11,376 2.0
2006 3,595 10,003 2.4
2007 3,759 10,479 2.4
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Oregon OSHA safety and health grant programs, 1989-2007
Biennium Grants Total awarded In existence since 1989, Oregon OSHA’s Training and Education 

Grants program has awarded 83 grants totaling $2.6 million 
dollars to help organizations develop education and training 
programs that reduce or eliminate hazards in an entire industry or 
in a specifi c work process. The maximum grant award is $40,000. 

The following are examples of programs that have received 
grants: homebuilders’ manuals and videos in Russian, Spanish, 
and English; an educational program for nurses to prevent 
ergonomic injuries; a dairy farmers’ checklist and video; and lifting 
guidelines.

1989-1991 11 $309,658
1991-1993 9 271,008
1993-1995 12 342,780
1995-1997 12 370,595
1997-1999 9 286,463
1999-2001 9 272,150
2001-2003 11 388,517
2003-2005 8 297,626
2005-2007 2 66,753

Oregon OSHA consultations, 1988-2007

Year

Number of 
consulta-

tions
Workers 
reached

Participants in voluntary 
compliance programs:

Oregon OSHA’s consultative services help Oregon employers 
identify hazards and work practices that could lead to injuries 
or illnesses. Employers are provided recommendations for 
correcting identifi ed hazards and for improving their safety and 
health programs. Consultative services also include the time-
intensive process of assisting interested employers as they 
work toward SHARP recognition, and evaluating worksites for 
qualifi cation in the Voluntary Protection Program. 

The Safety and Health Achievement Recognition Program 
(SHARP) is a recognition program that provides guidance and 
tools for developing an effective safety and health program. The 
program focuses on the implementation of a system based on 
management commitment and employee participation.

The Voluntary Protection Program (VPP) was developed by 
federal OSHA as a way to recognize employers who demonstrate 
excellence in safety and health management. The key areas are 
management leadership, employee involvement, worksite analysis, 
hazard prevention and control, and safety and health training.

SHARP VPP
1988 502 N/A - -
1989 671 N/A - -
1990 943 102,739 - -
1991 1,741 250,623 - -
1992 2,492 342,696 - -
1993 2,089 249,387 - -
1994 2,482 256,604 - -
1995 2,153 231,113 - -
1996 1,854 233,732 4 -
1997 1,828 153,922 9 1
1998 2,050 219,565 24 2
1999 2,127 233,675 42 3
2000 2,505 241,965 50 4
2001 2,828 260,695 69 4
2002 2,457 219,418 75 6
2003 2,060 230,245 80 9
2004 2,094 229,130 86 8
2005 2,124 187,449 104 9
2006 2,283 221,157 107 13
2007 2,098 214,310 126 16

Safety and health training programs, 1998-2007

Year
Attendance at 

training sessions
Oregon OSHA has provided education and training to more than 
230,000 workers and employers since 1998. These educational 
forums provide an opportunity to share ideas on occupational 
safety and health with national experts. The increases in 
attendance every other year are due to the Governor’s 
Occupational Safety and Health Conference (GOSH), which is 
held in odd-numbered years. Conferences are coordinated and 
presented in partnership with businesses, associations, labor 
unions, etc.

In 2007, in addition to the GOSH conference, there were six 
conferences held around Oregon. They addressed a variety of 
safety and health issues.

In addition to conferences, in 2007 the Public Education Section 
offered over 740 workshops and on-site trainings on 78 different 
topics related to safety and health in the workplace.

1998 15,494
1999 27,104
2000 19,069
2001 26,478
2002 15,844
2003 26,290
2004 20,892
2005 27,154
2006 22,751
2007 30,053
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Employers’ safety committee citations, violations, and penalties, fi scal years 1990-2007

Fiscal year Citations Violations
Proposed 
penalties

In 1990, SB 1197 required safety committees for employers 
with more than 10 employees and defi ned situations in which 
employers with fewer than 10 employees would be required to 
have safety committees. In 2007, HB 2222 removed all of the 
specifi c safety committee requirements from the law and gave the 
Department of Consumer and Business Services the authority to 
write rules that require all employers to establish and administer 
safety committees or hold safety meetings. HB 2222 also allows 
for alternate forms of safety committees and meetings to address 
the special needs of small employers, agricultural employers, and 
employers with mobile work sites.

The importance of safety committees is reinforced in Oregon 
OSHA through a standardized approach to working with 
employers about safety committees.

1990 128 131 $13,040
1991 219 231 24,355
1992 892 1,024 61,555
1993 781 963 49,410
1994 752 925 60,930
1995 820 980 146,070
1996 703 858 102,835
1997 718 878 74,635
1998 848 953 139,855
1999 817 1,168 131,890
2000 679 1,046 150,305
2001 816 1,274 174,010
2002 958 1,420 179,085
2003 956 1,206 141,135
2004 1,089 1,438 142,340
2005 1,034 1,379 111,380
2006 947 1,125 118,775
2007 961 1,151 131,225
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Compensability 
The Oregon workers’ compensation system is a 
no-fault system. In other words, the compensability 
of a claim is not dependent upon demonstrating 
that either side in a dispute is negligent. One pur-
pose of a no-fault system is to compensate injured 
workers for work-related claims. Limiting claims to 
those that arise out of and in the course of employ-
ment reduces workers’ compensation costs. 

Defi nition of compensability
The defi nition of a compensable claim has been 
revised numerous times over the years. In 1987, HB 
2271 restricted mental stress claims to those arising 
out of real and objective employment conditions 
not generally inherent in every working situation. 
There must be “clear and convincing evidence” 
that the mental disorder arose out of and in the 
course of employment. As a result, the number of 
accepted disabling stress claims dropped 56 per-
cent between 1987 and 1989.

SB 1197 (1990) changed the defi nition of 
compensability for injuries and diseases; the 
language was revised by SB 369 (1995). A 
compensable injury or disease must be estab-
lished by medical evidence supported by objec-
tive fi ndings. The determination of a claim’s 
compensability involves establishing the relative 
contributions of different causes of an injury or dis-
ease and deciding which cause is the primary one. 
Oregon is one of the few states in the country that 
has this major contributing cause standard. If an 
injury combines with a pre-existing condition, the 
consequential condition is compensable only if the 
qualifying injury is the major contributing cause 
of the disability or need for treatment; it remains 
compensable only for the period during which it 
remains the major contributing cause. For diseases, 
employment must be the major contributing cause, 
and the compensable disease must be caused by 
substances or activities to which an employee is not 
ordinarily exposed. These new compensability defi -
nitions were partly responsible for the decrease in 
the number of accepted claims in the early 1990s. 

There are several factors that limit the compen-
sability of a claim. Injuries from recreational and 
social activities primarily for the worker’s personal 
pleasure are not compensable. Injuries arising from 
the use of alcohol or drugs are not compensable if 
it is proven that the drug or alcohol use was the ma-
jor contributing cause. If the employer permitted, 
encouraged, or had knowledge of such consump-
tion, then it may be compensable. SB 1197 also 
allowed insurers to deny an accepted claim during 
the two-year period following the date of original 
claim acceptance. Insurers may deny a claim at any 
time if acceptance was due to fraud, misrepresenta-
tion, or other illegal activity by the worker. 

SB 1197 also required that claims for aggravation 
be established by medical evidence supported by 
objective fi ndings that show that the worsened 
condition resulted from the original injury. In addi-
tion, when a worker sustains a compensable injury, 
the responsible employer remains responsible for 
future aggravations unless the worker sustains a new 
compensable injury involving the same condition.

Major contributing cause study
The 1999 Legislature allocated funds to study the 
effects of the compensability language changes. 
The primary focus was the major contributing 
cause language in SB 1197 and SB 369. Legisla-
tors were interested in learning how these changes 
affected workers’ compensation costs and worker 
benefi ts. Because the statute requires physicians to 
determine the extent to which a medical condition 
is due to the compensable injury, the Legislature 
also wanted to know if physicians could accurately 
make such decisions. A fi nal goal of the study was 
to look at the major contributing cause language in 
combination with the exclusive remedy language 
for denied claims. In part, the Legislature commis-
sioned the study because of a case before the Or-
egon Supreme Court, Smothers v. Gresham Trans-
fer, Inc. In this case, it was asserted that the com-
bination of the major contributing cause language 
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and the exclusive remedy language unconstitution-
ally denied injured workers with pre-existing medi-
cal conditions a legal remedy for their injuries.

The department contracted with the Workers’ 
Compensation Center at Michigan State Univer-
sity to complete the study. The center enlisted 
the services of several of the country’s leading 
workers’ compensation researchers. It issued the 
report in October 2000. Copies are available from 
the department. 

The researchers examined more than 1,500 denials 
in the claim fi les of fi ve insurers and self-insured 
employers to determine how often major con-
tributing cause language was used to deny claims. 
They concluded that many of the claims denied 
due to major contributing cause language would 
have been denied for other reasons prior to SB 
1197. The researchers also conducted econometric 
analyses to estimate the size of the benefi t changes 
caused by the legislation. They compared Oregon 
trends with national trends. One of the complicat-
ing factors was that workers’ compensation costs 
declined throughout the nation during the 1990s. 
Therefore, the researchers sought to determine 
how much of the decline in Oregon’s costs was due 
to legislative changes and how much would have 
occurred as a result of the national trends. They 
concluded that SB 1197 (the entire bill, not just 
the major contributing cause language) resulted 
in a reduction in benefi ts of at least 6.4 percent 
and that SB 369 resulted in a reduction of at least 
another 6.7 percent. This savings was due to a drop 
in the number of claims; the average cost per claim 
remained about the same. 

The researchers also conducted a survey of physi-
cians. Physicians reported that the major contribut-
ing cause standard was practical. Yet, they empha-
sized that it requires medical expertise to apply the 
standard accurately. 

Finally, the researchers reviewed comparable stat-
utes and legal decisions in other states. The review 
showed that the major contributing cause standard 
was used in three other states. The Oregon stan-
dard was the strictest standard for compensability 

used by any state. Courts in other states have gener-
ally ruled that when workers’ compensation ben-
efi ts are denied to a certain group of claims, the 
claimants are not restricted by exclusive-remedy 
clauses. Therefore, these workers are allowed to 
fi le civil actions against their employers. This sug-
gested that if the Oregon Supreme Court ruled 
in the same manner as other courts, it would fi nd 
portions of Oregon’s workers’ compensation law 
unconstitutional; such a ruling was handed down 
the next year.

Smothers v. Gresham Transfer, Inc. 
In May 2001, during the legislative session, the 
Oregon Supreme Court issued its decision in the 
Smothers v. Gresham Transfer, Inc. case. The court 
ruled that when a workers’ compensation claim is 
denied for failure to prove that the work-related 
incident was the major contributing cause of the 
injury or condition, then the exclusive-remedy 
provisions implemented by SB 369 are unconsti-
tutional. The court ruled that the statute violated 
Article 1, Section 10 of the Oregon Constitution. 
This section guarantees every Oregonian “rem-
edy by due course of law for injury done him in 
his person, property, or reputation.” Under these 
circumstances, the employee whose claim has been 
denied may take civil action against the employer. 

The 2001 Legislature passed SB 485, in part to ad-
dress this court decision. SB 485 created a process 
for civil suits against employers. It also revised the 
defi nitions of pre-existing conditions and estab-
lished that while a worker continues to have the 
burden of proving that the claim is compensable, 
the employer has the burden of proof in showing 
that the compensable condition is not the major 
contributing cause of the need for treatment. 

It was expected that the Smothers decision would 
have a signifi cant impact on workers’ compensa-
tion costs. Early estimates were that the decision 
could affect as many as 1,300 cases per year and 
cost up to $50 million per year. In fact, there have 
been no known cases in which workers have pre-
vailed at trial and only a few cases in which workers 
have received settlements. 
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Claim denial rates
The denial rate of disabling claims has been fairly 
constant for more than a decade, with the fi scal 
year 2008 denial rate of 14 percent maintaining 
this trend and keeping consistent with the previ-
ous two years (14.1 and 14.7 percent, respectively). 
This period of stability follows a short period of 
higher denial rates. Largely as a result of a major 
change in SAIF’s claims-management practices, 
the denial rate of disabling claims jumped from 14 
percent in fi scal year 1989 to 21 percent in fi scal 
year 1990; the denial rate for disabling occupa-
tional disease claims jumped from 34 percent to 
44 percent. Concerned about the increased denial 
rates, the department conducted a study of denied 
disabling claims in late 1991 and early 1992. As a 
result of the study, SAIF again changed its claims-
handling procedures. The denial rate of disabling 
claims declined to 17 percent in fi scal year 1993. 

Oregon Population Survey
The Oregon Population Survey includes questions 
about workplace injuries and workers’ compensa-
tion claims. Survey results show that just over 5 per-
cent of Oregonians employed in 2005 were injured 
on the job and required the attention of a medical 
provider. Almost 80 percent of injured workers 
reported missing at least one day of work, while 40 
percent reported missing at least a month.

The survey also found that 46 percent of workers 
injured on the job do not fi le a workers’ compensa-
tion claim. Those not fi ling included workers em-
ployed in positions not covered by workers’ com-
pensation insurance and therefore not eligible to 
fi le a claim, as well as those with workers’ compen-
sation coverage. The most common reasons given 
by covered workers for not fi ling a claim included 
the belief that their medical insurance would cover 
the costs, feeling that they were to blame for the 
injury, or that their recovery was quick.
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Figure 6. Disabling claims denial rate, FY 1989-2008 
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Total reported claims, FY 1989-2008

Fiscal 
year

Accepted 
disabling

Denied 
disabling

Percent 
denied 

disabling
Denied non-

disabling

The denial rate of disabling claims remained fairly constant 
over the period 1993-2005, varying between 16 percent and 
18 percent. The denial rate in FY 2006-2008 was slightly lower, 
varying between 14 percent and 15 percent.

Notes: With few exceptions, insurers do not report accepted 
nondisabling claims to the department.

1989 40,515 6,640 14.1% 8,022
1990 35,918 9,534 21.0% 10,551
1991 31,156 8,024 20.5% 12,426
1992 28,577 7,522 20.8% 12,930
1993 29,125 6,013 17.1% 13,414
1994 29,731 6,235 17.3% 13,251
1995 29,740 6,535 18.0% 13,377
1996 27,373 5,958 17.9% 14,118
1997 26,918 5,515 17.0% 14,759
1998 26,032 5,354 17.1% 14,962
1999 24,857 5,244 17.4% 14,683
2000 24,405 4,899 16.7% 13,742
2001 23,850 4,717 16.5% 13,876
2002 22,126 4,704 17.5% 12,990
2003 21,493 4,420 17.1% 11,715
2004 20,004 4,117 17.1% 10,176
2005 21,020 4,030 16.1% 9,578
2006 21,445 3,516 14.1% 9,672
2007 22,449 3,873 14.7% 9,165
2008 21,734 3,533 14.0% 8,391

Disabling occupational disease claims, FY 1989-2008
Fiscal 
year Accepted Denied

Percent 
denied

The denial rate of occupational disease claims was fairly constant 
over the period FY 1996-2005, varying between 33 percent and 
37 percent. The denial rate in FY 2006-2008 was slightly lower, 
varying between 30 percent and 31 percent. 

While the denial rate was relatively unchanged, the total number of 
disabling occupational disease claims reported to the department 
in FY 2008 was 14.8 percent lower than the previous year.

Over the last fi ve fi scal years, nearly half of disabling occupational 
disease claims were due to diseases and disorders of the 
musculoskeletal, connective tissue, and peripheral nervous 
systems. These claims include rheumatisms, carpal tunnel 
syndrome, tendonitis, various back or spinal conditions 
(dorsopathies), and arthritic conditions.

1989 3,980 2,041 33.9%
1990 3,496 2,761 44.1%
1991 3,068 2,115 40.8%
1992 3,101 2,293 42.5%
1993 3,212 1,941 37.7%
1994 3,289 2,039 38.3%
1995 3,384 2,083 38.1%
1996 3,247 1,926 37.2%
1997 3,349 1,905 36.3%
1998 3,180 1,685 34.6%
1999 2,766 1,597 36.6%
2000 2,890 1,479 33.9%
2001 3,210 1,582 33.0%
2002 3,142 1,780 36.2%
2003 3,275 1,636 33.3%
2004 3,074 1,727 36.0%
2005 3,247 1,670 34.0%
2006 3,182 1,431 31.0%
2007 3,480 1,523 30.4%
2008 2,926 1,339 31.4%
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Disabling aggravation claims, 1991-2007

Year Accepted Denied
Percent 
denied

The number of aggravation claims has increased since 2005. The 
denial rate is now above 50 percent.

Note: The counts are aggravation claims reported to the 
department by insurers. These exclude claims made under Board 
Own Motion authority for worsened conditions.

1991 2,042 1,675 45.1%
1992 2,201 1,514 40.8%
1993 2,099 1,337 38.9%
1994 1,915 1,171 37.9%
1995 1,593 907 36.3%
1996 1,565 950 37.8%
1997 1,351 993 42.4%
1998 1,172 763 39.4%
1999 1,038 730 41.3%
2000 876 618 41.4%
2001 902 575 38.9%
2002 773 535 40.9%
2003 717 483 40.3%
2004 563 416 42.5%
2005 549 340 38.2%
2006 523 432 45.2%
2007 518 534 50.8%
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Claims Processing
Insurer performance is an important part of the 
workers’ compensation system. The department 
monitors insurer performance issues, such as the 
fi rst payment of temporary disability benefi ts, claim 
compensability decisions, and claim closures.

The department issues civil penalties to insurers 
and self-insured employers who do not meet ac-
ceptable performance standards. In both 2006 and 
2007, the department issued more than 900 cita-
tions, with penalty amounts of more than $575,000. 
Not included in these statistics are stipulated agree-
ments. These may encompass various violations of 
rules and statutes under ORS Chapters 656 and 
731 and set up various performance expectations. 
One recent stipulation, issued under an Insurance 

Division order, set a penalty at $5 million, with 
$4 million suspended pending the insurer group 
meeting certain conditions.

Claim acceptance or denial
Several legislative changes have affected time 
frames for insurers’ action to accept or deny a 
claim. To enable insurers to make better decisions, 
the statutory time limit for the acceptance or denial 
of a claim was changed from 60 days to 90 days by 
SB 1197 in 1990. It was hoped that this would lessen 
the number of appealed denials. The median num-
ber of days to accept a disabling claim increased af-
ter 1990, peaking at 52 days in 1998, but this result-
ed in longer periods of uncertainty for workers and 
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Figure 7. Median calendar days from employer knowledge
to claim acceptance or denial, 1988-2007
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Figure 8. Insurer timeliness of acceptance or denial and of first payments, 1990-2007
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Within 90 days, worker notifies
employer and completes signed,

written documentation or the
Report of Job Injury or Illness claiming

a work-related injury or disease.

Worker goes to physician and
completes worker section of

Worker’s and Physician’s Report
for Workers’ Compensation

Claims.

Employer reports claim to
insurer within 5 days

of knowledge or notice of claim.

Physician reports claim to
insurer within 72 hours  of

treating worker.

Disabling:
Time loss (temporary partial or temporary total)
authorized or likelihood of permanent disability.

(indemnity)

Insurer begins interim time-loss payments,
if authorized by attending physician, within 14

days of employer's knowledge date and
continues at 14-day intervals unless the claim

is denied.

Insurer assigns
disability

classification
based on treating

physician's
findings.

Insurer, within 60 days of employer notice or knowledge date,
must classify disability and accept or deny claim. Insurer must
report accepted disabling and all denied claims to WCD within

14 days of decision.

On-the-job injury or
occupational disease

Claim accepted:
Time-loss payments, if any,
continue at 14-day intervals

for as long as attending
physician verifies worker's

inability to work or until
claim closure.

Claim denied:
Insurer issues denial letter
and time-loss payments
stop. Claimant, within 60

days, may request a
hearing.

Notice of Closure:
Insurer, within 14 days of

receipt of qualifying
closure information,
determines extent of
worker's disability,

including permanent
disability, if any, and

closes claim.
Worker has 60 days to

appeal closure.

Permanent partial or
permanent total disability:
Insurer, within 30 days of

notice of closure, must begin
payment of award, if any.

Fatal benefits begin within 30
days of acceptance.

See Disputes flowchart.

Worker may request
reclassification of

nondisabling claim.
Worker has 60 days to

appeal the insurer's
refusal to reclassify.

Nondisabling:
No time loss authorized.

(medical only)Worker submits written
notice of new and omitted
medical conditions directly
to the insurer at any time.

After claim closure, worker
submits written notice of

aggravated medical conditions
directly to the insurer.

Claim
Disposition
Agreement:
Worker and
insurer may

agree to settle
indemnity at

any time after
formal claim
acceptance,
subject to

WCB approval.

If a CDA
occurs before
claim closure,
the insurer is

not required to
issue a notice

of closure.

Insurer may
deny

compensability
of conditions
from the time

of claim
acceptance
until claim
closure.

Claimant,
within 60 days,
may request a

hearing.

Note: This flowchart provides a general description of the claims
process. It omits many details. The time frames shown are

those in statute and rule; exceptions to these time frames are
not shown. Flowcharts in the return-to-work chapter and the

disputes chapter provide additional information.

The                        indicates time frame in which the
action may occur during the process.
The                   indicates potential path of process.

Figure 9. Claims process flowchart
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medical providers. In 2001, as part of SB 485, the 
Legislature reduced the statutory time limit back 
to 60 days. This affected the processing time for 
compensability decisions. Since 2005, the median 
time to accept a disabling claim has been 41 days. 
Just over 90 percent of the compensability decisions 
in 2007 were made within the 60-day period. 

In an effort to streamline reporting, the require-
ment for insurers to notify the department within 
21 days of receiving a claim was changed. Since 
2003 with the passing of SB 914, the insurer must 
notify the department within 14 days of the deci-
sion to accept or deny the claim. It was hoped this 
would speed up compensability decisions, but this 
has not occurred.

Modifi ed acceptances
The 1997 Legislature passed HB 2971, which 
required insurers and self-insured employers to 
modify notices of acceptance when medical or oth-
er information changes a previously issued notice 
of acceptance. At the time of claim closure, insur-
ers are also required to issue an updated notice of 
acceptance that specifi es the compensable condi-
tions. In addition, if a condition is later found to be 
compensable, the insurer must reopen the claim 
for that condition. 

The Court of Appeals, in the 1999 Johansen v. SAIF 
Corporation decision, ruled that there are no time 
limits for liability on a new condition. In SB 485, 
the 2001 Legislature refi ned the process for new 
conditions. A worker must request formal written 
acceptance of a new or omitted medical condition, 
which the insurer has 60 days to accept or deny. 
The period for disabling claims aggravation rights 
extends fi ve years after the fi rst closure. If new 
compensable conditions arise during this period, 
the insurer pays the claim costs. If the new condi-
tion arises after the aggravation period and the 
insurer doesn’t voluntarily accept the claim, the 
worker must pursue the claim through the Work-
ers’ Compensation Board’s Own Motion process. If 
the condition is found compensable, benefi ts are 
paid from the Workers’ Benefi t Fund. 

Claim closures
Prior to 1987, only the department could close 
a claim and rate permanent disability. HB 2900 
(1987) allowed insurers to close permanent dis-
ability claims if the worker had returned to work. 
At the same time, the department was permitted 
to promulgate disability standards that the insurers 
had to use. In 1987, insurers completed 36 per-
cent of the claim closures. Insurers’ authority was 
expanded in 1990; with SB 1197, the Legislature 
allowed insurers to close a claim when the worker’s 
attending physician released the employee to re-
turn to work. This let insurers terminate time-loss 
payments earlier in the life of a claim. In 1992, in-
surers completed 58 percent of the claim closures. 

In SB 220, the 1999 Legislature shifted responsibil-
ity for all claim closures from the department to 
insurers and self-insured employers. The transition 
was completed Jan. 1, 2001. 

The median number of days from injury to fi rst 
closure was 150 calendar days for claims fi rst closed 
in 2007. The median has been between 154 and 
157 days in eight of the past 10 years.

System abuse
The department works to eliminate abuse of the 
workers’ compensation system. The WCD inves-
tigates allegations of inappropriate actions by 
employers, medical providers, insurers, workers, 
and other parties. (Insurers also conduct inves-
tigations; the department does not have a count 
of the number of these investigations.) In fi scal 
year 2008, eight investigations of fraud or abuse 
complaints were opened. Historically, the most 
frequent complaints received have been employers 
pressuring employees not to fi le claims; improper 
claims processing by insurers or medical providers; 
employers improperly directing the medical treat-
ment of workers; and failure to report or improper 
reporting of claims-related documents by employ-
ers, insurers, and medical providers. 
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Workers’ compensation 
information line
The Workers’ Compensation Division has a work-
ers’ compensation information line to answer 
workers’ questions about their claims, describe 
workers’ rights and responsibilities, and help them 
understand the workers’ compensation system. In 

2007, there were more than 12,300 calls to the line. 
Of the callers, about 7,300 were workers and about 
5,000 were insurers, medical providers, attorneys, 
employers, legislators, and others.
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Insurer claim acceptance and denial, median time lag days, 1988-2007
Year Accepted Denied In 1990, SB 1197 extended the time allowed for insurers to accept 

or deny a claim from 60 to 90 days. SB 485 (2001) reduced the 
allowed time back to 60 days.

Since 2002, the median time taken to accept a disabling claim has 
been about 40 calendar days; the median time to deny a disabling 
claim has been about 48 days.

1988 33 49
1989 35 43
1990 31 35
1991 35 39
1992 40 45
1993 34 48
1994 40 48
1995 43 50
1996 44 60
1997 50 66
1998 52 64
1999 49 62
2000 49 61
2001 46 60
2002 40 50
2003 40 51
2004 39 45
2005 41 48
2006 41 48
2007 41 47

Insurer timeliness of acceptance or denial and of fi rst payments, 1990-2007

Year
Acceptance/
denial timely

First temporary disability 
payment timely

Insurer performance on timeliness of acceptance or denial of 
claims improved between 1990 and 1994, to 96.1 percent. It has 
generally declined since, standing at 91.2 percent in 2007.

Timeliness of fi rst payments has improved since 1990, also. In 
2007, 90.0 percent of the fi rst payments of temporary disability 
benefi ts were made timely.

Note: These data are self-reported by the insurers. The reports 
are audited by WCD.

1990 85.4% 80.1%
1991 91.5% 85.0%
1992 94.2% 87.2%
1993 96.0% 89.0%
1994 96.1% 88.3%
1995 95.1% 88.4%
1996 94.5% 88.2%
1997 93.2% 87.9%
1998 92.6% 87.4%
1999 92.8% 87.2%
2000 92.9% 88.3%
2001 92.3% 88.2%
2002 93.1% 89.5%
2003 90.2% 90.3%
2004 90.1% 91.5%
2005 89.5% 90.1%
2006 90.9% 88.3%
2007 91.2% 90.0%
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Time lag from injury date to fi rst closure, 1987-2007

Year Average days Median days
For claims fi rst closed in 2007, the average calendar days from 
injury to fi rst closure was 231 days. For 2007, the average was 
the lowest since 2000. 

The median number of days from injury to fi rst closure was 150 
days in 2007. There has been almost no change in the median 
number of days over the past decade.

1987 255 169
1988 260 170
1989 271 181
1990 277 184
1991 271 176
1992 241 152
1993 231 148
1994 229 151
1995 232 155
1996 228 153
1997 224 150
1998 222 156
1999 225 156
2000 230 154
2001 244 161
2002 247 156
2003 241 155
2004 260 155
2005 240 157
2006 241 154
2007 231 150

Claim closures, with insurer closures, 1987-2007

Year Claim closures Insurer closures
Percent insurer 

closures
The number of total closures, which includes insurers’ disabling 
status reclassifi cations, has shown a steady downward trend 
since 1995. The decline has averaged 3 percent per year.

SB 220, passed in 1999, phased out the department’s former 
role in closing claims. Since Jan. 1, 2001, insurers, self-insured 
employers, and third-party administrators have handled all claim 
closures. 

1987 50,587 18,153 35.9%
1988 50,223 14,194 28.3%
1989 48,732 14,053 28.8%
1990 46,488 14,884 32.0%
1991 38,351 18,483 48.2%
1992 34,506 19,876 57.6%
1993 33,823 19,256 56.9%
1994 34,631 20,192 58.3%
1995 35,657 20,742 58.2%
1996 33,838 20,676 61.1%
1997 31,671 20,949 66.1%
1998 30,810 22,071 71.6%
1999 28,894 22,191 76.8%
2000 27,675 26,287 95.0%
2001 27,020 27,016 100%
2002 25,423 25,413 100%
2003 23,877 23,877 100%
2004 23,908 23,908 100%
2005 23,173 23,173 100%
2006 24,081 24,081 100%
2007 25,095 25,095 100%
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Abuse complaint investigations, FY 2002-2008

Fiscal year Opened Closed
In FY 2008, eight investigations were opened concerning 
complaints of inappropriate actions by employers, providers, 
insurers, workers, and other parties.

The counts exclude inquiries that did not require issuing a 
director’s order or warning notice. In FY 2008, there were 92 such 
inquiries. These inquiries were usually resolved with educational 
counseling, referred to other agencies, or dropped after callers 
withdrew their complaints.

2002 110 93
2003 87 94
2004 63 76
2005 62 70
2006 20 21
2007 7 7
2008 8 8

Workers’ compensation information line calls for assistance, 1990-2007

Year  Worker calls Other calls Total calls WCD has an information line to assist workers and others. 
In 2007, there were more than 7,300 calls from workers with 
questions about their claims, the claims process, or the workers’ 
compensation system. Ten percent of these calls were fi elded by 
bilingual benefi t consultants.

The line also received almost 5,000 calls from insurers, medical 
providers, attorneys, employers, legislators, and others in 2007.

1990 23,263 N/A N/A
1991 21,475 N/A N/A
1992 15,181 N/A N/A
1993 18,243 N/A N/A
1994 19,678 7,575 27,253
1995 17,503 6,699 24,202
1996 16,938 7,701 24,639
1997 15,737 8,425 24,162
1998 14,960 8,098 23,058
1999 13,711 7,930 21,641
2000 12,155 6,490 18,645
2001 11,662 6,936 18,598
2002 10,000 7,056 17,056
2003 9,813 7,397 17,210
2004 10,129 7,703 17,832
2005 9,463 6,270 15,733
2006 7,898 6,056 13,954
2007 7,359 4,947 12,306

Civil penalties issued, 1990-2007

Year Citations Penalty amount Citations and penalties against insurers have been trending 
upward since 2004.

Not included in these statistics are stipulated agreements. These 
may encompass various violations of rules and statutes under 
ORS Chapters 656 and 731 and set up various performance 
expectations. One recent stipulation, issued under an Insurance 
Division order number, set a penalty at $5 million, with $4 million 
suspended pending certain conditions.

1990 407 $158,325
1991 420 156,775
1992 506 163,101
1993 621 166,650
1994 679 197,025
1995 525 139,325
1996 491 140,850
1997 629 244,175
1998 813 254,925
1999 789 243,375
2000 844 248,875
2001 738 204,400
2002 947 301,900
2003 1,241 343,875
2004 677 206,675
2005 745 360,600
2006 951 588,150
2007 915 575,800
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Advocates and Advisory Groups
Injured workers and employers often fi nd the 
workers’ compensation system confusing or inac-
cessible. Oregon has recognized that the compre-
hensibility of and access to the system are essential 
features of success. Therefore, a number of ad-
vocates and advisory groups provide services and 
recommend policy.

Ombudsman for Injured Workers
The 1987 Legislature created the Offi ce of the Om-
budsman for Injured Workers as an independent 
advocate for injured workers who are seeking to 
resolve the disposition of their claims. Recognizing 
the value of the offi ce, the Legislature increased 
the staff during the 1990 special session. Legisla-
tion passed in 2003 clarifi ed the supervision and 
control of ombudsman services and required that 
quarterly reports be submitted to the governor. 
The offi ce consists of the ombudsman and eight 
staff members.

In 2007, the offi ce recorded more than 11,500 
inquiries, down about 6 percent from 2006. About 
89 percent of these inquiries were from injured 
workers. The issues that prompted the most inqui-
ries were claims processing, medical benefi ts, and 
accurate and timely benefi ts.

Small Business Ombudsman
The Offi ce of the Small Business Ombudsman for 
Workers’ Compensation was created during the 
1990 special session to serve as an advocate for and 
educator of small businesses. The SBO is the re-
source center for employers needing information 
about the workers’ compensation system. It helps 
resolve disputes between employers and insurers, 
provides educational seminars, participates in trade 
shows, and assists all parties. The offi ce had 3,785 
inquiries in 2007, up more than 15 percent from 
the previous two years.

Medical Advisory Committee
The members advise the director on matters relat-
ing to medical care for workers. In 1999, SB 222 
revised the composition and duties of this statu-
tory committee. The statute allows the director to 
appoint medical providers that most represent the 
health care services provided to injured workers, 
which may include representatives of insurers, em-
ployers, and managed care organizations. 

Management-Labor Advisory 
Committee
In recognition of the success of the Governor’s 
labor-management committee in crafting the 1990 
reforms, the Legislature created the Management-
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Labor Advisory Committee (MLAC). This com-
mittee reaffi rms that labor and management are 
the principal parties in the workers’ compensation 
system. The committee advises the department on 
workers’ compensation matters such as administra-
tive rules and legislation. In its 2008 study, “Lessons 
from the Oregon Workers’ Compensation System,” 
the Workers’ Compensation Research Institute 
described MLAC as “unusually effective as a force 
for orderly system improvement.” The study fur-
ther concluded, “On the whole the Oregon system 
(through MLAC and other system features) has 
succeeded in balancing the values of stability and 
fl exibility remarkably well, resulting in a system 
stable enough to be predictable yet fl exible enough 
to change when necessary. In many states the two 
values are not compatible.”

In 1995, SB 369 reduced the membership of MLAC 
from 14 members to 10 members and included 
mandatory reporting on several issues: court deci-
sions having signifi cant impact on the workers’ 

compensation system, the adequacy of workers’ 
compensation benefi ts, medical and system costs, 
and the adequacy of assessments for reserve pro-
grams and administrative costs. In 2003, the Legis-
lature removed the requirement that MLAC review 
temporary rules that establish disability rating 
standards for individual claims.

In 2007, SB 835 directed MLAC to study death 
benefi ts, and a subcommittee was formed to study 
the topic. The study will include a review of the 
method of calculating benefi ts, burial amounts, 
categories of benefi ciaries, and feasibility of provid-
ing lump-sum benefi t payments. A written report to 
the 75th Oregon Legislative Assembly is required 
by Jan. 31, 2009. In addition, MLAC formed sub-
committees to review several other areas in detail: 
signifi cant court cases, supplemental disability 
benefi ts for multiple job holders, the claim recon-
sideration process, and claimant attorney fees. 
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Ombudsman for Injured Workers inquiries, 1999-2007
Year Inquiries The Ombudsman for Injured Workers was created in 1987. 

Inquiries to the ombudsman come primarily from injured workers, 
but they are also initiated by attorneys, insurance companies, 
employers, and others. There were 11,505 inquiries in 2007.

1999 9,492
2000 10,581
2001 10,944
2002 12,685
2003 14,730
2004 12,752
2005 12,809
2006 12,257
2007 11,505

Small Business Ombudsman inquiries, 1991-2007
Year Inquiries The offi ce of Small Business Ombudsman was created in 1990. 

The number of inquiries peaked in 1999 and 2002. There were 
3,785 inquiries in 2007.

1991 1,934
1992 3,655
1993 3,731
1994 3,727
1995 3,877
1996 3,545
1997 3,711
1998 4,514
1999 5,164
2000 3,109
2001 2,502
2002 5,209
2003 4,085
2004 3,883
2005 3,153
2006 3,280
2007 3,785
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Medical Care and Benefi ts
In recent years, the cost of health care has risen 
more rapidly than overall infl ation. In Oregon’s 
workers’ compensation system, the cost of medical 
services has increased more than 38 percent since 
2000. Payments for medical services account for ap-
proximately half of workers’ compensation system 
costs in Oregon. There have been recent initiatives 
to contain medical costs; these are discussed later 
in this section.

Early cost-containment measures
In 1990, Senate Bill 1197 eliminated most palliative 
care after the worker becomes medically stationary, 
when no further improvement in the worker’s con-
dition is expected. Palliative care is treatment to re-
lieve symptoms rather than to improve the worker’s 
underlying condition. These restrictions had an im-
mediate impact on workers who had been receiving 
ongoing palliative treatment. SAIF’s medical pay-
ments for palliative care in the fi rst six months after 
the medically stationary date dropped more than 30 
percent following the implementation of SB 1197. 
In 1995, SB 369 restored a worker’s right to request 
approval for a broader range of care after being 
declared medically stationary. Workers can now 
receive palliative care if they have a permanent total 
disability or a prosthetic device, when they need 
services to monitor prescription medicine, or when 
the attending physician believes the palliative care 
is necessary for continued employment. 

SB 1197 also placed limits on who could be an at-
tending physician. The attending physician acts as 
the gatekeeper for most treatment and indemnity 
benefi ts. Care must be provided by, or upon refer-
ral from, the attending physician. Under SB 1197, 
for example, a chiropractor outside of a managed 
care organization, could not be the worker’s at-
tending physician after 12 visits or 30 days from 
the fi rst service date, whichever came fi rst. Data 
from SAIF showed that the proportion of total 
payments received by chiropractors dropped from 
16 percent before 1990 to 3 percent after 1990. In 
2008, House Bill 2756 relaxed that limitation to 18 
visits or 60 days from the fi rst service date, which-
ever comes fi rst. HB 2756 also changed limits for 

other provider types acting as attending physicians. 
These changes are discussed in more detail later in 
the report.

Medical benefi ts
Insurers and self-insured employers must pay the 
cost of medical services for compensable claims. 
During the period before claim acceptance or 
denial, however, there is uncertainty about who will 
be responsible for medical bills. This uncertainty 
may make some medical providers reluctant to 
treat injured workers, and some treatments may be 
delayed until after insurers’ compensability deci-
sions.

In 2001, SB 485 tried to address this concern in two 
ways. First, the bill reduced the time allowed for 
insurers to accept or deny a claim from 90 days to 
60 days. Second, it amended the law regarding the 
payment of some medical services prior to the ini-
tial acceptance or denial of a claim. The law covers 
certain services: pain medicine, diagnostic services 
required to identify appropriate treatment or to 
prevent disability, and services required to stabilize 
the worker’s condition and to prevent further dis-
ability. However, it excludes any services provided 
to workers enrolled in managed care organizations 
(MCOs). For denied claims, medical costs are paid 
as follows: 

■ If the insurer denies the claim more than 14 
days after the employer knowledge date and the 
worker has health insurance, the health insurer 
pays for the services, subject to the limitations 
in its policy; the workers’ compensation insurer 
pays any balance.

■ If the insurer denies the claim within 14 days of 
the employer knowledge date and the worker 
has health insurance, the health insurer pays 
for the services, subject to the limitations in its 
policy; the worker pays any balance.

■ If the insurer denies the claim and the worker 
has no health insurance, the worker pays the 
entire bill. 
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Fee schedules
The Workers’ Compensation Division has had 
medical services fee schedules since 1982. Over 
time, new schedules have been added through 
administrative rules. Medical fee schedules exist for 
anesthesiology, surgery, radiology, laboratory and 
pathology services, medicine, physical medicine 
and rehabilitation, evaluation and management, 
multi-disciplinary services and other Oregon-
specifi c service codes, durable medical equipment 
and medical supplies, and pharmacy services. 
Insurers must pay for medical services at the lesser 
of the providers’ usual fees or according to the fee 
schedule. This rule also applies to claims enrolled 
in MCOs unless terms are otherwise dictated by the 
MCO contract.

The medical fee schedules establish the maximum 
allowable reimbursement for services. In 1997, the 
department also adopted the Federal Resource 
Based Relative Value Schedule, which is used to de-
termine the ceiling for most medical services. For 
durable medical equipment and medical supplies, 
the ceiling is 85 percent of the manufacturer’s sug-
gested retail price or 140 percent of the actual cost, 
whichever is greater. In July 2008, a reduction in 
the pharmacy fee schedule took place. The maxi-
mum allowable fee for pharmaceuticals is now set 
at 83.5 percent of the Average Wholesale Price plus 
a $2.00 dispensing fee. Previously it was 88 percent 
of Average Wholesale Price and an $8.70 dispens-
ing fee.

WCD implemented a hospital payment system us-
ing adjusted cost-to-charge ratios (CCR) in 1991. In 
July 1992, the department began publishing re-
vised CCRs semi-annually for all general, acute-care 
hospitals in the state. The CCR is the percentage 
of the hospital bill that insurers reimburse Oregon 
hospitals for treating injured workers. The compu-
tation of the CCR uses data from each hospital’s 
audited fi nancial statement and Medicare cost 
report. The CCR allows all hospitals to recover the 
cost of providing facility-related services to injured 
workers, a reasonable rate of return on their capi-
tal assets, and an allowance for losses due to bad 
debt and charity care. The CCR is revised annually 
based on the hospital’s fi scal year and is published 
twice yearly. 

Oregon hospitals designated as rural hospitals by 
the Offi ce of Rural Health may be excluded from 
imposition of the CCR. This exclusion is based on 
designation as a critical-access hospital under the 
Medicare Rural Hospital Flexibility Program, or on 
economic necessity as determined from fi nancial 
reports. Currently, 25 of the 58 general, acute-care 
hospitals in Oregon are designated as critical-access 
hospitals, thereby qualifying for an exclusion from 
the hospital fee schedule. Five additional rural 
hospitals qualify for the exclusion based on their 
fi nancial condition.

In 2007, 88 percent of medical payments reported 
to the department were for services subject to fee 
schedules other than the hospital CCR. On aver-
age, these payments were 29 percent lower than 
the charged amounts. Reimbursements for hospital 
charges subject to the CCR averaged 47 percent 
less than the charged amounts.

Managed care organizations
The 1990 reforms introduced managed care into 
the Oregon workers’ compensation system. SB 
1197 allowed workers’ compensation insurers to 
contract with department-certifi ed managed care 
organizations and it set the rules under which cov-
ered workers must obtain treatment within MCOs. 
Each MCO contracts with medical providers who 
agree to the MCO’s terms and conditions. In re-
turn, these providers have the opportunity to treat 
the covered workers. The terms and conditions dif-
fer by MCO, but they must include treatment and 
utilization standards and peer review. Each panel 
of providers must include eight types of medi-
cal service providers: chiropractors, naturopaths, 
acupuncturists, osteopaths, dentists, optometrists, 
podiatrists, and physicians. 

Insurers have the option to enroll injured work-
ers covered by MCO contracts in managed care. 
When this happens, the insurer notifi es the injured 
worker that he or she must seek any future treat-
ment from providers who are on the MCO’s panel. 
Since 1995, insurers are allowed to require that 
injured workers receive medical treatment in the 
MCO before the determination of claim accep-
tance or denial. However, if the insurer denies the 
claim it must pay the medical costs until the worker 
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receives notice of the denial or until three days af-
ter the denial notice is mailed. Insurers that do not 
enroll workers in an MCO are not required to pay 
medical services if the claim is eventually denied. 

In 2005, SB 670 made minor revisions to the 
statute (ORS 656.260) regarding managed care 
organizations. The bill clarifi ed that in order for an 
MCO to become certifi ed, the quality, continuity, 
and treatment standards contained in its plan must 
be reviewed and approved by the director. The bill 
also provided that the managed care plan cannot 
prohibit an injured worker’s attending physician 
from advocating for medical services and tempo-
rary disability benefi ts supported by the medical 
record. This provision addressed concerns that 
some managed care contracts contained provisions 
limiting the attending physician’s role.

As of Dec. 31, 2007, four certifi ed MCOs had 69 ac-
tive contracts with workers’ compensation insurers 
and self-insured employers. Contracts in effect on 
Oct. 31, 2007, covered 58,684 Oregon employers, or 
64 percent of Oregon workers’ compensation cov-
ered employers. The percent of Oregon workers cov-
ered by managed care has increased from 64 percent 
in October 2005 to 65 percent in October 2007. In 
October 2007, an estimated 1,144,700 Oregon work-
ers were covered by a managed care contract. 

The percentage of workers with accepted disabling 
claims who were enrolled in MCOs has ranged from 
36 percent to 42 percent since 1998. In 2007, it was 

40 percent. SAIF insured 79 percent of those en-
rolled. Self-insured employers enrolled 34 percent 
of accepted disabling claims. The percentage of 
workers with accepted disabling claims enrolled by 
private insurers has dropped more than 16 percent 
since 1998, reaching a low of 7 percent in 2007. 

Medical payments
In 1991, the Workers’ Compensation Division 
began requiring that insurers with 100 or more 
accepted disabling claims report their medical 
payment data under Bulletin 220. In 2007, more 
than 83 percent of total medical payments were 
reported. Department research analysts developed 
a model that adjusts reported payments to account 
for payments that are not reported in Bulletin 220. 
Using this model, the estimated total medical pay-
ments in 2007 were $319.4 million.

In 2007, insurers paid about $92 million for medi-
cal doctor services which accounted for 29 percent 
of all medical payments. This was followed by hos-
pital outpatient services at 22 percent, hospital in-
patient services at 12 percent, “other medical” pro-
viders at 10 percent, and physical therapy services 
at 8 percent. These fi ve provider types accounted 
for 81 percent of all medical payments. A substan-
tial number of the payments classifi ed under the 
“other medical” provider type were for indepen-
dent medical exams and ambulance services. Six 
percent of medical payments went to pharmacies. 
Radiologists received 3 percent of total payments, 
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Figure 11. Percentages of workers with accepted disabling claims 
enrolled in MCOs, by insurer type, 1998-2007
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mostly for providing magnetic resonance imaging, 
computed tomography, and X-ray services. Chiro-
practors received 2 percent of payments for provid-
ing chiropractic manipulative treatments and other 
therapeutic services.

Physical medicine and rehabilitation services, 
evaluation and management services (such as 
offi ce visits, emergency visits, etc.), and surgery 
are the top three service categories in terms of 
payments. Physical medicine and rehabilitation 
services accounted for 15 percent of total 2007 
medical payments, nearly $47 million. Evaluation 
and management accounted for 14 percent of total 
medical payments, or about $46 million, and surgi-
cal services accounted for 13 percent of 2007 total 
medical payments, approximately $42 million.

Independent medical exams also generated a large 
percentage of the payments. IME services, grouped 
together to include basic exams, reports, and 
specialized IME services (panel exams and exams 
by specialists), accounted for 3.2 percent of total 
medical payments.

Reported pharmacy data shows that narcotic anal-
gesics (pain relievers) ranked as the top category of 
drugs prescribed to injured workers and accounted 

for 37 percent of total pharmacy payments in 2007, 
followed by anti-convulsants (anti-seizure medi-
cations) at 11 percent, and anti-arthritics (anti-
infl ammatories) at 8 percent. Some of the widely 
used narcotic analgesics in workers’ compensation 
are Hydrocodone/Acetaminophen, Oxycodone 
HCL, Fentanyl, Oxycodone/Acetaminophen, and 
Morphine Sulfate. There is evidence of higher use 
of generic drugs in workers’ compensation than 
in the general health care system. In 2007, generic 
drugs made up about 79 percent of the prescrip-
tions dispensed to injured workers and 49 percent 
of pharmacy payments.

Recent initiatives and studies
Nurse practitioners
In 2003, HB 3669 relaxed restrictions regard-
ing who can be an attending physician by allow-
ing nurse practitioners to perform some of these 
functions. The bill requires nurse practitioners to 
become authorized by the department to provide 
any compensable medical services as attending 
physicians. It allows authorized nurse practitioners 
to give expanded treatment in three signifi cant 
ways. They may provide compensable medical ser-
vices for 90 days from the date of the fi rst visit on 
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Figure 12. Top 10 medical payments by provider type, 2007
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the claim, to authorize the payment of temporary 
disability benefi ts for 60 days, and to release work-
ers to their jobs. 

In 2005, the department began a study to measure 
the effects of HB 3669. The study provided the 
results of a review of the department’s medical bill-
ing data, claims information provided by SAIF, and 
a survey of board-certifi ed nurse practitioners. The 
results found no system cost increases related to 
the expanded authority for nurse practitioners. In 
the survey, nurse practitioners reported providing 
more services to injured workers after the bill went 
into effect. 

Care providers
In 2006, the department, at the request of the 
Governor and in conjunction with the Manage-
ment- Labor Advisory Committee, completed 
a study of care providers. The department and 
MLAC focused on chiropractors, naturopaths, po-
diatrists, and physician assistants. The study tried to 
determine if current rules regarding who may treat 
workers and authorize disability benefi ts facilitates 
accessible, timely, effi cient, and effective medical 
treatment. The study included a literature review; 
an analysis of chiropractic, naturopathic, podiatric, 
and physician assistant care providers in Oregon’s 
workers’ compensation system; employer focus 
groups; and an injured worker survey.

The literature review found little data about the 
role of chiropractors, naturopaths, podiatrists, 
and physician assistants within the workers’ com-
pensation system. The available data did not 
provide suffi cient evidence to either support or 
oppose a change in Oregon’s limitations on who 
can treat workers. 

Employers and injured workers indicated that they 
were generally satisfi ed with access to quality health 
care, the choice of available health care provid-
ers, and the quality of care received. Both groups 
requested that additional restrictions not be added 
to the current system.

The 2007 Legislature passed HB 2756, which 
expanded the roles and responsibilities of certain 
provider types. The new law increased the role 
of chiropractors, nurse practitioners, podiatrists, 
naturopaths, and physician assistants to act as at-
tending physician. The new time limit for these 
providers to act as attending physician was estab-
lished at 18 visits or 60 days from the fi rst date of 
service, whichever comes fi rst. These providers 
were also allowed to authorize temporary disability 
for up to 30 days from the fi rst service date.

The new law also allowed a medical provider who 
did not qualify to be an attending physician to 
provide compensable services for the fi rst 30 days 
or up to 12 visits, whichever comes fi rst. Beyond 
the 60 days or 18 visits for chiropractors, nurse 
practitioners, podiatrists, naturopaths, and physi-
cian assistants, and 30 days or 12 visits for providers 
not authorized to be attending physicians, only a 
doctor of medicine, osteopathy, or maxillo-facial 
surgery can act as attending.

Independent medical examinations
SB 311 (2005) introduced changes to how inde-
pendent medical examinations may be conducted. 
Much of the bill was based on fi ndings from a study 
of IMEs the department completed at the request 
of the Management-Labor Advisory Committee. 
The study was designed to acquire information 
about Oregon’s IME system, especially in areas 
where there were concerns regarding:

■ Bias of IME physicians toward insurers

■ Rude and rough behavior by IME doctors with 
injured-worker patients

■ IME physicians not receiving actual diagnostic 
studies for review at the exam

■ The distance injured workers had to travel for an 
IME

■ The lack of information given an injured worker 
about what to expect at an IME

■ The use of leading questions in letters from in-
surers to IME physicians prior to an exam
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SB 311 required that IMEs be conducted by phy-
sicians who insurers select from a list developed 
by the Workers’ Compensation Division, and that 
WCD develop the training requirements and 
educational materials necessary for qualifi cation. 
Physicians must agree to abide by a standard of 
professional conduct for performing these exams. 
The bill also included a requirement to establish a 
process for the removal of a physician from the list 
and a process for investigating complaints about 
exams. In addition to physician training, the bill 
charged the department with approving specifi c 
training for claims examiners regarding communi-
cations with physicians conducting IMEs. 

Other changes the bill made to the existing IME 
process included provisions for injured workers to 
challenge the location of an exam, imposing penal-
ties against workers who fail to attend an exam 
without prior notifi cation or justifi cation, and 
imposing penalties against medical service provid-
ers who unreasonably fail to provide diagnostic 
records for an exam in a timely manner.



40

BIENNIAL REPORT ON THE OREGON WORKERS’ COMPENSATION SYSTEM  ■  December 2008

MCO contracts with insurers and self-insured employers, FY 1995-2007

Fiscal year Insurers
Self-insured 
employers Total

At the end of calendar year 2007, four certifi ed managed care 
organizations had 69 active contracts with insurers and self-
insured employers. 

Note: These fi gures are based on reports submitted by MCOs and 
may change as new data are reported.

1995 30 41 71
1996 35 39 74
1997 39 44 83
1998 33 46 79
1999 33 46 79
2000 36 48 84
2001 35 48 83
2002 35 49 84
2003 30 51 81
2004 30 50 80
2005 28 49 77
2006 25 43 68
2007 27 42 69

Employers and employees covered by managed care organizations, 1996-2007

Date Employers Employees As of October 2005, 60 percent of Oregon employers and 64 
percent of workers were covered by MCOs. In 2003, the Liberty 
group of insurers canceled most of its contracts and disenrolled 
all workers covered by those contracts. Largely as a result of this, 
the percent of employers covered by MCOs fell by 12 percentage 
points, and the percent of employees dropped by 15 points.

Note: The October 2002 data includes estimated data from the 
Liberty group.

Oct 1996 39,868 51.8% 648,500 43.6%
Oct 1997 46,846 59.3% 902,400 58.3%
Oct 1998 51,995 64.7% 969,300 61.5%
Oct 1999 51,786 63.7% 993,700 62.0%
Oct 2000 56,225 68.3% 1,121,400 68.9%
Oct 2001 58,084 69.3% 1,116,900 69.1%
Oct 2002 60,200 71.3% 1,163,600 72.9%
Oct 2003 50,333 59.0% 913,400 57.6%
Oct 2004 51,066 59.3% 965,300 59.2%
Oct 2005 52,639 60.4% 1,073,100 63.8%
Oct 2006 53,273 59.4% 1,092,700 63.0%
Oct 2007 58,684 64.1% 1,144,700 64.9%

Employees with accepted disabling claims enrolled in MCOs, 1998-2007

Year SAIF
Private 
insurers

Self-insured 
employers Overall

The percentage of claimants with accepted disabling claims who 
have been enrolled in MCOs has varied between 36 percent and 
42 percent. 

Note: The 2002 private insurer fi gure includes estimated data 
from the Liberty group.

1998 76.8% 24.5% 23.2% 39.8%
1999 72.4% 20.9% 21.8% 37.1%
2000 76.3% 20.1% 27.9% 40.1%
2001 70.3% 12.3% 26.8% 35.6%
2002 67.5% 11.7% 27.8% 36.5%
2003 70.3% 8.2% 30.1% 39.1%
2004 69.7% 10.4% 30.7% 40.9%
2005 70.5% 7.8% 32.9% 42.1%
2006 67.0% 5.7% 33.2% 39.6%
2007 65.8% 6.7% 34.0% 39.8%
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Medical payments by provider type, 2007

Provider type
Payments
($ millions) Percent of total

In 2007, an estimated $319.38 million were paid for workers’ 
compensation medical services. Of this, 28.7 percent was paid to 
medical doctors. 

Note: Other Medical Provider payments are chiefl y for 
independent medical exams and ambulance services. The 
remaining provider types are osteopath, home health care, 
occupational therapist, dentist, nursing home care, acupuncturist, 
physician assistant, podiatrist, laboratory, optometrist, registered 
nurse practitioner, psychologist, and naturopath.

Medical doctor $91.78 28.7%
Hospital outpatient 71.69 22.4%
Hospital inpatient 37.20 11.6%
Other medical provider 33.02 10.3%
Physical therapist 25.39 7.9%
Pharmacy 19.47 6.1%
Radiologist 8.54 2.7%
Chiropractor 7.48 2.3%
Ambulatory surgical center 7.51 2.4%
Medical supplies 5.74 1.8%
Subtotal 307.81 96.4%
Remaining provider types 11.57 3.6%
Total $319.38 100.0%

Medical payments by service category, 2007

Service category
Payments
($ millions) Percent of total

Physical medicine $46.72 14.6%
Evaluation & management $45.51 14.2%
Surgery 41.97 13.1%
Procedural services (ICD-9-CM codes) 33.34 10.4%
Revenue services 31.82 10.0%
Radiology 26.18 8.2%
Healthcare common procedural services (HCPCS codes) 21.21 6.6%
Pharmaceuticals (NDC codes) 20.50 6.4%
Oregon specifi c services (OSC codes) 13.66 4.3%
Medicine 12.66 4.0%
Durable medical equipments & supplies 5.98 1.9%
Anesthesia 5.87 1.8%
Laboratory & pathology 1.89 0.6%
Other Services 12.08 3.8%
Total $319.38 100%
As set forth in Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) 436-009-0040, the insurer shall pay for medical services at the provider’s usual 
fee or in accordance with the fee schedule, whichever is less. Medical services that have no fee schedule are reimbursed at the 
provider’s usual fees.

This table shows total payments and market shares for 10 fee-schedule-regulated service categories and three non-fee-schedule 
categories. Examples of non-fee schedule service categories include revenue services, HCPCS (Medicare’s national level II codes, 
detailing supplies and materials), and procedural services (Hospital ICD-9-CM; international classifi cation of diseases 9th revision 
clinical modifi cation). However, all non-fee-schedule services, if performed in the hospital setting, are subject to the hospital’s cost-to-
charge ratio. In 2007, the total share of non-fee-schedule service categories was about 27 percent of total medical payments. Oregon 
specifi c services accounted for about $13.7 million, 75 percent of which was spent on reimbursements for Independent Medical 
Examinations (IMEs) and related services.
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Top 15 workers’ compensation medical services, 2007
Service 

code Description of service
Payments
($ millions)

Percent 
of total

In 2007, the single medical 
service code with the most 
payments, $19.4 million, was 
therapeutic exercises.

97110 Therapeutic exercises $19.41 6.1%
99213 Offi ce/outpatient visit (established patient, 15 min) 14.50 4.6%
97140 Manual therapy 10.42 3.3%
360 Operating room services 8.18 2.5%
450 Emergency room 7.40 2.5%
D0003 Independent Medical Examination 6.66 2.1%
99214 Offi ce/outpatient visit (established patient, 25 min) 5.83 1.9%
ASC Ambulatory Surgical Center services 5.31 1.3%
99203 Offi ce/outpatient visit (new patient, 30 min) 4.29 1.2%
72148 Magnetic resonance image (MRI), lumbar & spine; w/o dye 3.96 1.2%
73721 Magnetic resonance image (MRI), joint of lower extremity; w/o dye 3.73 1.2%
97530 Therapeutic activities 3.70 1.2%
99283 Emergency department visit 3.62 1.1%
73221 Magnetic resonance image (MRI), joint of upper extremity; w/o dye 3.34 0.9%
97001 Physical therapy evaluation 2.97 0.9%

Subtotal 103.31 32.0%
Remaining services 216.07 68.0%
Total $319.38 100%

Top 15 pharmacy payments by drug name, 2007

Drug name Drug type Drug class
Payments
($ millions)

Percent 
of total

In 2007, the top 15 pharmaceuticals 
accounted for 47 percent of total 
pharmacy payments. 

Generic drugs made up about 79 
percent of the prescriptions dispensed 
to injured workers and 49 percent of 
pharmacy payments for prescription 
medications. Precription medications 
accounted for 92 percent of total 
pharmacy payments. Medical supplies 
and other non-drug services provided 
by pharmacy made up the remaining 8 
percent of total pharmacy payments.

Oxycodone Hcl Cr, Er Generic Narcotic analgesics $1.37 7.0%
Hydrocodone/Acetaminophen Generic Narcotic analgesics 1.19 6.1%
Oxycontin Brand Narcotic analgesics 1.12 5.7%
Celebrex Brand Anti-arthritic 0.58 3.0%
Lyrica Brand Anticonvulsants 0.56 2.9%
Lidoderm Brand Anaesthetic 0.49 2.5%
Oxycodone/Acetaminophen Generic Narcotic analgesics 0.48 2.5%
Gabapentin Generic Anticonvulsants 0.82 4.2%
Skelaxin Brand Muscle relaxants 0.44 2.3%
Fentanyl Generic Narcotic analgesics 0.42 2.2%
Morphine Sulfate Cr, Er Generic Narcotic analgesics 0.42 2.1%
Cymbalta Brand Antidepressants 0.40 2.1%
Cyclobenzaprine Hcl Generic Muscle relaxants 0.32 1.6%
Duragesic Brand Narcotic analgesics 0.29 1.5%
Endocet, Percocet, Roxicet Brand Narcotic analgesics 0.25 1.3%
Subtotal 9.14 46.9%
Remaining pharmacy payments 10.34 53.1%
Total $19.47 100%
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Indemnity Benefi ts 
In 2003, SB 757 created a new structure for perma-
nent partial disability (PPD) awards. The changes 
apply to claims for injuries occurring since Jan. 1, 
2005: 

■ Injuries to all body parts are rated in relation 
to the whole person. There is no longer a dis-
tinction between scheduled and unscheduled 
awards, and awards are no longer measured in 
degrees.

■ Workers with permanent disability receive an 
impairment benefi t based on the state average 
weekly wage multiplied by the percentage of 
impairment. Benefi ts are adjusted annually in 
accordance with the change in the state average 
weekly wage.

■ Workers unable to return to work receive a work 
disability benefi t based on the impairment modi-
fi ed by age, education, adaptability factors, and 
earnings at the time of injury. Wage-based work 
disability rates are limited to a range between 
50 percent and 133 percent of the state average 
weekly wage. 

In 2005, HB 2408 modifi ed this new structure. 
Workers injured since Jan. 1, 2006, who are re-
leased to regular work are specifi cally excluded 
from work disability benefi ts. HB 2408 also man-
dated a study by the department of the impact of 
the PPD benefi t changes.

Also in 2005, SB 386 provided increased access to 
permanent total disability benefi ts and protections 
for severely injured workers.

In 2007, HB 2244 removed the sunset in the 2003 
bill and made the permanent partial disability 
changes permanent. The bill also required the 
Workers’ Compensation Management-Labor Advi-
sory Committee (MLAC) to review permanent par-
tial disability benefi t amounts on a biennial basis 
and make recommendations to ensure the original 
policy goals continue to be met over time.

Indemnity benefi ts
Indemnity benefi ts for workers with accepted dis-
abling claims include temporary total and partial 
disability (time-loss) payments during recovery 
from the injury, permanent partial and permanent 
total disability awards for permanent impairment 
and wage loss, fatality benefi ts, disputed claim 
settlements and claim disposition agreements, and 
professional services and purchases under voca-
tional assistance. (Benefi ts for the two other return-
to-work programs, the Employer-at-Injury Program 
and the Preferred Worker Program, are paid from 
the Workers’ Benefi t Fund rather than by insurers; 
they are not included here.)

In 2001, SB 485 included several changes to tem-
porary disability benefi ts. The bill raised the ceiling 
on benefi ts for temporary total disability (TTD) to 
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133 percent of the statewide average weekly wage. 
Also, for the fi rst time, workers could be paid for 
wages lost from multiple jobs. A worker is respon-
sible for providing proof of the multiple jobs to the 
insurer. The disabling status of the claims is deter-
mined by the status for the job at injury. Therefore, 
if a worker can return immediately to the job at 
injury but not to a second job, the claim is nondis-
abling, and no time-loss benefi ts are paid for the 
job at injury.

SB 485 did two things to protect employers and 
insurers from the cost of these added benefi ts. For 
employers, the supplementary benefi ts paid cannot 
be used for ratemaking, for an employer’s rating, 
or for dividend calculations. Insurers may pay the 
supplemental benefi ts; if they do, the department 
reimburses the insurer for the benefi ts and its ad-
ministrative costs from the Workers’ Benefi t Fund. 
If the insurer chooses not to pay the benefi ts, the 
department pays benefi ts directly to the worker, 
also from the Workers’ Benefi t Fund. 

Indemnity benefi ts paid on accepted disabling 
claims increased moderately during the current 
decade; in 2007, an estimated $256.4 million was 
paid. Of this amount, 42 percent were temporary 
disability payments, 28 percent were permanent 
partial disability awards, and 21 percent were settle-
ments (disputed claim settlements and claim dispo-
sition agreements). Almost all accepted disabling 
claims have time-loss benefi ts; about 30 percent 
have PPD benefi ts granted. Settlements on ac-
cepted disabling claims occur more often as claim 
disposition agreements (CDAs), which release 
rights to all indemnity benefi ts, rather than dis-
puted claim settlements on denied medical condi-
tions; CDAs accounted for 81 percent of settlement 
dollars paid in 2007.

The average indemnity benefi t for 2007 was 
$10,565. Average indemnity benefi ts have in-
creased by an average of 4 percent per year since 
1998. Over the same period, the average weekly 
wage used to set most benefi t levels increased by an 
average of 2.8 percent per year.

Average time-loss dollars increased slightly in 2007, 
to $4,519, continuing a trend of annual increases 
from the low of $2,931 in 1997. The average days 
of time loss paid, a measure of claim duration, 

declined from a high of 92 days in 1990 to 53 days 
in 2000, after which the trend turned upward, to 
67 days for claims last closed or settled in 2007. For 
claims with permanent partial disability awards, the 
average PPD award had been increasing at a rate of 
4.5 percent per year; the average award for claims 
last closed in 2007 was $10,579. 

In the 1980s, permanent total disability (PTD) claims 
accounted for a signifi cant portion of indemnity dol-
lars. By 1993, however, the number of net PTD claims 
had declined to 13 from the peak of 195 in 1988. Per-
manent total disability benefi ts were affected by law 
amendments that standardized permanent disability 
rating and redefi ned gainful employment. The cre-
ation of CDAs in 1990 and changes in claims manage-
ment practices also reduced the number of net PTD 
awards. The number for 2007 was 14, not much dif-
ferent from the net PTD award counts in preceding 
years. Senate Bill 386 (2005), which modifi ed criteria 
for eligibility and rescission of PTD benefi ts, went 
into effect in 2006; the early effects of this change can 
be seen in the reduction in rescissions: one each in 
2006 and 2007.

National rankings and comparisons
Along with the costs of indemnity benefi ts, national 
rankings that address adequacy of benefi ts have 
been important to Oregon’s policymakers. States 
can be ranked using seven categories of maximum 
indemnity (statutory) benefi ts. Oregon’s ranking 
for temporary total disability benefi ts has been 
above the 86th percentile since 2002, in large part 
a result of 2001 legislation that raised the ceiling 
on TTD. After the implementation of SB 485, 
about 10 percent of workers with a disabling claim 
received increased time-loss payments, while only 
about 2 percent have TTD benefi ts reduced by the 
higher maximum. 

In 2006, Oregon’s maximum benefi ts continued 
to be above the national median for PTD awards, 
survivor’s benefi ts for spouses with children, and 
burial allowances. For the fi rst time, permanent 
partial disability benefi ts for both scheduled and 
unscheduled body parts or systems were also above 
the national medians. This is attributable to SB 757 
in 2003, which went into effect in 2005. The only 
benefi t below the median was survivor’s benefi ts 
for spouses without children. 
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Although the national median for maximum ben-
efi ts has been useful in comparing PPD and other 
benefi ts among states, it is insuffi cient to measure 
the generosity of benefi ts. The most recent study 
to address this issue came in 2001, when the RAND 
Institute for Civil Justice conducted a multi-state 
evaluation of the adequacy and equity of cash ben-
efi ts, especially PPD, for New Mexico. Oregon was 
included in a group of four comparison states, using 
Oregon claims and benefi t data from 1992 and 1993 
injuries. The study researchers derived estimates of 
post-injury wage losses and the proportions of lost 
wages that were replaced by indemnity benefi ts. 

None of the states studied met the researchers’ 
standards for adequate (two-thirds) replacement of 
wage losses by PPD benefi ts. No state’s indemnity 
benefi ts replaced as much as half of the estimated 
10-year earnings losses. Oregon’s overall rate of 
pre-tax wage replacement was 42 percent, second 
to New Mexico’s rate. The study did note that 
workers’ post-injury earnings losses were lower in 
Oregon than in most of the four other states. The 
researchers concluded that this was largely a prod-
uct of Oregon’s emphasis on return-to-work incen-
tives. These programs reduce the length of occupa-
tional disability. 

House Bill 2408 study of PPD 
benefi t structure
A section of HB 2408 in 2005 mandated that the 
department report to the 2007 Legislature on the 
impact to permanent partial disability awards from 
the SB 757 and HB 2408 changes to the benefi t 
structure. The department’s study was based on 
a random sample of PPD awards made in the last 
nine months of calendar year 2005, and compared 
three sets of laws and associated administrative 
rules:

■ PPD benefi ts and rules for dates of injury imme-
diately prior to Jan. 1, 2005

■ PPD benefi ts and rules for dates of injury in 
2005 (effects of SB 757)

■ PPD benefi ts and rules for dates of injury in 
2006 (effects of HB 2408)

This method was chosen because claims with dates 
of injury under the more recent laws were not suf-
fi ciently mature to provide an accurate refl ection 
of the law within the study’s time frame. Thus, the 
study results refl ect the potential effects of SB 757 
and HB 2408 on the PPD benefi t structure. While 
the sample study results did show increased aver-
age PPD awards under SB 757 and small decreases 
under HB 2408, the differences were not statisti-
cally signifi cant.

The study data showed that 26 percent of SB 757 
cases and 24 percent of HB 2408 cases received 
work disability awards. The study confi rmed one of 
the expected effects of SB 757, which was to real-
locate PPD award dollars to claims with greater 
economic loss. The assumption was that claimants 
who returned to regular work (generally shorter-
duration claims) would receive lower awards under 
SB 757. Experience for short-duration claims rated 
under SB 757 supported the assumed effect. Aver-
age awards for 2005 claims that were closed within 
three quarters of the date of injury were more than 
25 percent lower than comparable claims in 2004. 

SB 835 Study of Fatality Benefi ts
In SB 835, the 2007 Legislature required a study 
and report by the Workers’ Compensation Manage-
ment-Labor Advisory Committee (MLAC) on ad-
equacy of death benefi ts in the workers’ compen-
sation system. The bill required the study include 
review of:  

■ The current method of calculating burial ben-
efi ts in relation to the actual cost of burial

■ Current formulas for determining benefi ts

■ The categories of benefi ciaries who are entitled 
to benefi ts

■ The feasibility of providing lump-sum benefi t 
payments

MLAC appointed a subcommittee to conduct the 
study, which met seven times in 2007 and 2008, 
and included opportunity for public testimony. 
The subcommittee found that the current fatality 
benefi t structure is generally working well, with a 
few areas for improvement.
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The subcommittee approved a set of recommen-
dations based on its study, which included some 
administrative process enhancements. The Gover-
nor and MLAC requested a draft bill to include the 
major statutory recommendations contained in the 
report:

■ Broadening the statutory term “burial” to the 
more encompassing term “fi nal disposition of 
body and funeral services.” This ensures that the 
benefi t covers the wide range of options avail-
able to the worker’s family.

■ Doubling the amount of the burial benefi t, from 
10 times to 20 times the state average weekly 
wage.

■ Allow the family, employer, or other parties to 
submit burial and funeral bills to the insurer for 
60 days after the claim is accepted. At that point, 

the insurer would pay the unused amount of 
the benefi t to the worker’s estate to address any 
remaining expenses. MLAC bases this recom-
mendation on public input about the number of 
issues that a family must take care of right after 
the worker’s death, as well as other expenses that 
arise long after the burial and funeral. 

■ Create a category of benefi ts for children aged 
18-23, who are attending school, but have no sur-
viving parents. Set the benefi t amount at 4.35 x 
66 2/3 percent of the state average weekly wage.

■ Clarify ORS 656.218 so that when a worker 
without statutory dependents dies before his or 
her permanent partial disability award is paid in 
full, the insurer must pay the full amount of the 
remaining award to the worker’s estate.
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Indemnity benefi ts for accepted disabling claims by type, 1995-2007

Year
Time loss 

($ millions)
PPD 

($ millions)
PTD 

($ millions)
Fatal 

($ millions)

Claim
disposition

agreements 
($ millions)

Disputed
claim

settlements
($ millions)

Vocational
assistance
($ millions)

1995 $97.14 $60.69 $13.65 $8.98 $47.62 $9.52 $8.28
1996 85.99 59.96 13.12 9.61 43.97 8.11 8.09
1997 80.99 55.61 12.61 10.28 42.68 7.85 6.43
1998 81.38 55.49 11.97 10.85 36.30 7.87 5.50
1999 81.75 53.74 11.45 11.07 38.44 8.10 4.83
2000 79.30 55.19 11.03 11.81 38.51 10.06 4.90
2001 88.90 59.38 10.42 12.01 37.72 9.28 4.72
2002 90.83 58.36 9.80 12.30 43.21 11.64 4.80
2003 87.52 57.94 9.45 13.14 39.40 10.35 4.59
2004 89.89 61.13 9.11 13.05 42.00 10.78 5.08
2005 88.92 64.05 8.93 13.62 42.06 10.27 5.22
2006 92.66 64.84 8.51 13.68 50.00 9.79 5.47
2007 100.68 67.13 8.26 14.45 50.24 11.61 4.04

The table provides indemnity payment data by type. In 2007, 42 percent of the indemnity benefi ts were temporary disability payments, 
28 percent were PPD payments, and 21 percent were awarded in settlements.

Notes: Data are reported by the year of the award, except for time-loss data, which are reported by the year of the claim closure, and 
vocational assistance data (purchases and professional services), which are reported by the date vocational assistance is completed. 
Time loss paid during vocational training is included with the other time-loss payments. Fatal and PTD benefi ts shown are benefi ts 
that are not reimbursed from the WBF. The fatal benefi ts include the benefi ts paid on PTD claims after the claimant has died. Some 
data are estimated, and historical data are subject to small changes.

Some claims are settled with a CDA before claim closure. The time-loss payments made on these claims are not reported to the 
department. The time-loss fi gures include estimates of these amounts.

Indemnity and medical benefi ts paid, 1995-2007

Year paid
Total paid
($ millions)

Indemnity 
percent of total

Medical 
percent of total

Indemnity benefi ts have been a decreasing percentage of all 
payments.

Note: The data include paid amounts for all claims, not just 
accepted disabling claims. The total paid excludes payments for 
the Employer-at-Injury Program, the Preferred Worker Program, 
and fatal and PTD benefi ts that are reimbursed from the Workers’ 
Benefi t Fund. Some data are estimated, and historical data are 
subject to small changes.

1995 $458.2 56.6% 43.4%
1996 435.5 55.2% 44.8%
1997 430.8 53.2% 46.8%
1998 427.5 51.8% 48.2%
1999 428.3 51.6% 48.4%
2000 448.1 50.1% 49.9%
2001 471.3 50.2% 49.8%
2002 487.4 50.2% 49.8%
2003 476.9 49.6% 50.4%
2004 503.0 48.4% 51.6%
2005 533.5 46.2% 53.8%
2006 557.6 46.6% 53.4%
2007 590.5 45.9% 54.1%

Indemnity benefi ts paid for accepted disabling claims, 1995-2007

Year
Benefi ts paid 
($ millions) Average benefi ts 

Indemnity benefi ts include temporary disability payments, 
permanent partial disability awards, permanent total and fatality 
indemnity benefi ts, settlements (claim disposition agreements and 
disputed claim settlements), and vocational assistance.

Total indemnity benefi ts remained fairly constant between 1995 
and 2007. At the same time, the number of claims has fallen, so 
the average indemnity benefi t has increased by an average of 4 
percent per year since 1998.

Note: Some data are estimated, and historical data are subject to 
small changes.

1995 $245.9 $7,411
1996 228.8 7,506
1997 216.4 7,419
1998 209.4 7,367
1999 209.4 7,767
2000 210.8 8,128
2001 222.4 8,609
2002 230.9 9,482
2003 222.4 9,689
2004 231.0 10,028
2005 233.1 10,357
2006 244.9 10,374
2007 256.4 10,565



48

BIENNIAL REPORT ON THE OREGON WORKERS’ COMPENSATION SYSTEM  ■  December 2008

Temporary disability days paid per accepted disabling claim, 1995-2007
Claim closure 

year
Average 

days
Average time 

loss paid
Median 

days
The average number of temporary disability days per accepted 
disabling claim was 67 days in 2007. The average has been 
increasing 3 percent per year since 2000. Statutory time-loss 
benefi ts increase each year with changes in the statewide 
average weekly wage, so average benefi ts have increased faster 
than the average days. Average time-loss benefi ts have increased 
5 percent per year.

Note: The data are reported by the year of the latest claim 
closure. Claims that are resolved with claim disposition 
agreements rather than notices of closure are included in these 
series; the time loss paid for these claims is estimated. Data will 
change as claims are reopened and closed. The changes are 
fairly consistent, and recent data have been adjusted for expected 
changes.

1995 61 $3,117 15
1996 57 2,988 14
1997 55 2,931 14
1998 55 3,015 15
1999 55 3,171 15
2000 53 3,179 15
2001 57 3,556 16
2002 60 3,853 17
2003 60 3,993 17
2004 62 4,061 17
2005 65 4,183 19
2006 63 4,152 19
2007 67 4,519 19

Average temporary disability days, by type of claim resolution, 1995-2007

Year
Initial 

closure

Subse-
quent 

clsoure

Vocational 
training 
closure

Resolved 
with a 
CDA

Any 
resolution

Accepted disabling claims may be closed multiple times. In 
2007, 90 percent of claim resolutions were initial claim closures. 
The average time-loss days paid was 51 days. Five percent of 
resolutions were subsequent closures of reopened claims. The 
average time-loss days for these reopenings was 99 days. One 
percent of the resolutions were closures after the completion of 
vocational training. The average time-loss days during this period 
was 212 days. Finally, about 5 percent of the resolutions involved 
claims that ended with a claim disposition agreement rather than 
closure. The department estimates that insurers paid time-loss 
benefi ts for an average of 202 days on these claims.

1995 47 98 208 211 57
1996 45 98 190 205 54
1997 42 91 200 197 51
1998 44 84 218 186 52
1999 44 80 203 192 52
2000 42 77 211 194 51
2001 46 89 218 186 55
2002 48 80 244 208 57
2003 47 72 226 198 56
2004 49 79 236 208 59
2005 52 85 219 210 62
2006 51 72 216 198 60
2007 51 99 212 202 62

Permanent partial disability cases and average dollars, 1995-2007

Year
PPD 

claims

Percentage 
of closed 

claims

Average 
PPD 

award

In general, 30 percent to 31 percent of claims that have been 
closed have received permanent partial disability awards. The 
average PPD award has increased at a rate of about 4.5 percent 
per year.

Note: These data are reported by the year of the last claim 
closure; data will changes as claims are opened and closed. The 
average awards include the initial awards made by insurers and 
the net amounts that were awarded during the appeal process. 
About 95 percent of claim resolutions are claim closures.

1995 9,476 30.8% $6,375
1996 8,904 31.6% 6,618
1997 8,049 29.9% 7,028
1998 7,759 29.5% 7,161
1999 7,342 29.7% 7,360
2000 6,954 29.2% 7,766
2001 7,015 29.6% 8,320
2002 6,730 30.4% 8,569
2003 6,266 30.0% 9,069
2004 6,369 30.2% 9,684
2005 6,386 31.0% 10,060
2006 6,580 30.1% 10,096
2007 6,844 30.1% 10,579
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Permanent total disability awards, 1987-2007

Year Grant Rescind Net awards The number of permanent total disability awards declined 
dramatically between 1988 and 1990, when disability rating 
standards were adopted system-wide. The creation of CDAs in 
1990 led to further decline.

PTD grants can be made by insurers or by the department 
through the appeal process. These counts include the 
reinstatement of awards that were rescinded by insurers or 
during earlier appeals. Of the 15 grants in 2007, 13 were by 
insurer closure and the other two grants were by department 
reconsideration.

1987 204 27 177
1988 209 14 195
1989 139 15 124
1990 81 36 45
1991 68 22 46
1992 47 5 42
1993 26 13 13
1994 36 9 27
1995 32 17 15
1996 17 6 11
1997 20 5 15
1998 16 6 10
1999 25 11 14
2000 14 6 8
2001 13 14 -1
2002 23 3 20
2003 14 6 8
2004 20 7 13
2005 20 4 16
2006 18 1 17
2007 15 1 14

Oregon percentile ranking for maximum temporary disability and permanent disability benefi ts, 1988-2006

Year TTD
Scheduled 

PPD
Unscheduled 

PPD PTD
Temporary total disability benefi ts are set at two-thirds of workers’ 
weekly wages, between maximum and minimum limits. For injuries 
since Jan. 1, 2002, the maximum is 133 percent of the average 
weekly wage. The AWW applies to benefi ts paid during the fi scal 
year. This provides an infl ation escalator. The 2002 change 
increased Oregon’s percentile for maximum TTD benefi ts from the 
74th percentile to the 88th percentile. 

Restructuring of permanent partial disability benefi ts in 2005 by 
SB 757 (2003) brought the maximums for both scheduled and 
unscheduled parts of the body above the national median.

Permanent total disability benefi ts are set at two-thirds of workers’ 
weekly wages, between maximum and minimum limits. The 
maximum values have been above the national median since 1988.

Note: National data are from the U.S. Department of Labor. 
Publication of this comparative data series ended in 2006; a similar 
data series is expected to become available in 2009.

1988 68 10 6 70
1994 73 33 8 73
1996 71 48 46 75
1998 74 46 47 74
2000 74 49 46 74
2002 88 50 38 66
2004 86 43 40 64
2006 86 82 70 66
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Oregon percentile ranking for survivors' benefi ts, 1988-2006

Year Death - no child Death - child Burial Survivors’ benefi ts are based on the average weekly wage for 
the injury year. Oregon’s benefi ts have remained fairly constant 
relative to national levels since 1988, except for death benefi ts 
without children.

Note: National data are from the U.S. Department of Labor. 
Publication of this comparative data series ended in 2006; a 
similar data series is expected to become available in 2009.

1988 28 86 78
1994 25 88 43
1996 27 88 67
1998 22 91 81
2000 26 91 85
2002 24 87 75
2004 18 84 72
2006 16 90 72

Maximum PPD benefi ts, since July 1986

Dates of injury

Maximum 
scheduled 

PPD

Maximum 
unscheduled 

PPD
Maximum 

PPD

In 2003, SB 757 revised the PPD award structure, effective 
January 2005. It eliminated the distinction between scheduled 
and unscheduled PPD. The new structure reallocates benefi ts 
to better refl ect earnings loss, providing less-generous benefi ts 
to some workers who can return to regular work, and more-
generous benefi ts to those who cannot. The maximum PPD 
award was increased, but there was no initial increased cost to 
the workers’ compensation system. 

The increase in PPD maximum amounts since 2005 is due to 
benefi t levels now being escalated by the change in the AWW 
under the new law.

July 1986 - June 1987 $24,000 $32,000 -
July 1987 - June 1990 27,840 32,000 -
July 1990 - June 1991 58,560 32,000 -
July 1991 - June 1992 58,577 60,503 -
July 1992 - June 1993 60,601 62,592 -
July 1993 - June 1994 63,631 65,723 -
July 1994 - June 1995 66,722 68,915 -
July 1995 - Dec. 1995 67,402 69,617 -
Jan. 1996 - Dec. 1997 80,640 130,400 -
Jan. 1998 - Dec. 1999 87,168 138,224 -
Jan. 2000 - Dec. 2001 98,168 149,033 -
Jan. 2002 - Dec. 2004 107,328 162,272 -
--------------> Series break
Jan. 2005 - June 2005 - - $263,917
July 2005 - June 2006 - - 273,271
July 2006 - June 2007 - - 276,517
July 2007 - June 2008 - - 290,073
July 2008 - June 2009 - - 302,946
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Return-to-Work Assistance
The fundamental goals of the workers’ compensa-
tion system include returning injured workers to 
their jobs quickly and enabling them to earn close 
to their pre-injury wages. Oregon statute does this 
in three ways. First, the disability benefi ts structure 
has incentives to get injured workers back to work. 
Second, statute prohibits employment discrimina-
tion and provides re-employment and reinstate-
ment rights to injured workers. The Bureau of 
Labor and Industries enforces those laws, as well 
as other civil rights. Third, the workers’ compen-
sation system assists injured workers with three 
employment programs.

The Management-Labor Advisory Committee has 
been studying the three return-to-work programs 
since the end of the 2003 legislative session. Rec-
ommendations to improve access to the programs, 
increase participation, and streamline processes 
have been enacted into law through Senate Bill 
119, effective Jan. 1, 2006, and by July 1, 2005, and 
Dec. 1, 2007, amendments to Oregon Administra-
tive Rules: 436-105, Employer-at-Injury Program; 
436-110, Preferred Worker Program; and 436-120, 
Vocational Assistance.

Oregon’s return-to-work programs
The Employer-at-Injury and the Preferred Worker 
programs provide incentives to employers who 
choose to hire injured workers. The Employer-at-
Injury Program focuses on early return to transi-
tional work while workers have medical release to 
restricted work and the claim is still open. The Pre-
ferred Worker Program targets workers who have 
known permanent work restrictions. The essence 
of both programs is to help workers return to work 
as quickly as possible in jobs that accommodate 
their restrictions. Costs are paid from the Reem-
ployment Assistance Program within the Workers’ 
Benefi t Fund (WBF). The WBF is funded by assess-
ments paid equally by workers and their employers. 
The vocational assistance program is available for 
only the most severe disabilities; insurers provide 
formal plans for returning disabled workers to suit-
able jobs. For injuries after 1985, the program is 
funded through employers’ insurance premiums.

The department measures the effectiveness of 
return-to-work programs, in part, by examining em-
ployment and wage data reported to the Oregon 
Employment Department. The wages are reported 
in the 13th quarter after the disabling injury or 
exposure — a point at which most workers have 
recuperated and used return-to-work programs.
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Note: The data are the percentage point differences in employment and wage-recovery rates between workers who 
used return-to-work programs and similar workers who did not. The measures are based on a snapshot of wages reported 
in the 13th quarter after the disabling injury or exposure. This is a point at which most workers have recuperated and used 
return-to-work programs.

Figure 14. Employment and wage advantage for return-to-work 
program users, FY 1997-2008
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The department compares employment and wage-
recovery rates between workers who used return-to-
work programs and similar workers who did not. In 
fi scal year 2008, the employment rate of workers in-
jured in 2004 was 11 percentage points higher for 
workers using return-to-work programs compared 
to similar workers who did not use these programs. 
Wage recovery for workers who used these pro-
grams was 11 percentage points higher. 

The department also monitors use of the pro-
grams for disabling claims that close within 13 
quarters of injury. The use rate rose rapidly after 
the introduction of the Employer-at-Injury Pro-
gram in 1993. For disabling injuries that occurred 
in 1993, the use rate was measured in 1997; it was 
more than 6 percent. Peak use came in 2002, when 
slightly more than 18 percent of workers with 
closed disabling claims from 1998 injuries used 
return-to-work programs. Program use has trended 
upward beginning in 2006. One inference is that 
statutory and administrative law changes have suc-
ceeded to some extent in improving access and 
participation. However, economic conditions prob-
ably have an effect on all these indicators, whether 
of use or effectiveness. 

Profi les of each return-to-work program follow.

The Employer-at-Injury Program
The Employer-at-Injury Program (EAIP), created 
in 1993, is available to Oregon employers who 
obtain temporary medical releases specifying their 
injured workers may return to light-duty, transition-

al jobs. Insurers arrange job placements for which 
they receive a fl at fee of $120 each. Assistance 
to employers generally consists of a 50 percent 
wage subsidy for a period of up to three months. 
Worksite modifi cations and early-return-to-work 
purchases are also available. Financial and manage-
ment information for the fi rst half of 2008 indicate 
that these benefi ts are being used more often than 
in the past.

A statutory change in 1995 permitted extension of 
the program to include workers with claims classi-
fi ed as nondisabling even though the workers have 
medical restrictions on the kinds of work they can 
perform. By getting workers back to a job shortly 
after injury, the EAIP has precluded many accepted 
nondisabling claims from becoming classifi ed as 
disabling, because no temporary disability benefi ts 
are due and payable. An administrative rule change 
in December 2007 permits extension of the pro-
gram to workers with claims where compensability 
ultimately was denied, but temporary disability ben-
efi ts were due and payable while compensability 
was investigated.

Insurers may reduce or discontinue time-loss ben-
efi ts if a worker refuses modifi ed work, including 
an EAIP placement. Effective mid-2001, Senate Bill 
485 gave injured workers the right to refuse modi-
fi ed work if the job requires a commute that is 
beyond the worker’s physical ability, is more than 
50 miles away, is not with the employer at injury or 
not at that employer’s worksite, or is inconsistent 
with the employer’s practices or a collective bar-
gaining agreement.
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Figure 15. Percent of closed disabling claims with use of return-to-work 
programs by fourth year post-injury, FY 1997-2008
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Limited diagnostics, treatment, and
disability stabilization; time loss may be

due and payable.

Claim acceptance and disability
classification; time loss is due and payable

if classified disabling.

On-the-job injury, occupational disease
or aggravation claim

Note: This flow chart provides a general description of
return-to-work programs. It omits many details. The
time frames shown are those in statute and rule;
exceptions to these time frames are not shown. Flow
charts in the claims processing chapter and the
disputes chapter provide additional information.

Complete medical treatment.

Employer may use Employer-at-
Injury Program as soon as worker
has restricted release to suitable
work, until claim closure. Wage

subsidy may substitute for time loss;
purchases and worksite modifications
are also available. EAIP assistance

is payable only while claim is
accepted or deferred.

Worker is medically stationary.

Claim is closed and worker is not
released to regular work.

Claim is closed and worker is
released to regular work.

Employer at injury may apply for
Preferred Worker Program benefits to

assist in early return to work of the injured
employee until 180 days after claim

closure. PWP benefits include premium
exemption, wage subsidy, worksite

modification, and employment purchases.

Worker is not eligible for Preferred
Worker Program or vocational

assistance. Worker may request
review; see Disputes flowchart.

Worker is classified as preferred
worker if worker has a permanent
disability and is not released to

regular work, based on an accepted
medical condition.

Preferred worker may offer PW
Program benefits to prospective
employers: premium exemption,

wage subsidy, worksite modification,
and employment purchases.

Worker has no substantial handicap
to suitable employment or is

otherwise ineligible for vocational
assistance.  Worker may request
review; see Disputes flowchart.

Worker has substantial handicap to
suitable employment and is eligible for

vocational assistance. Selection of
provider must occur within 20 days of

eligibility.

If worker has the necessary transferable skills to
obtain suitable new employment, then a direct

employment plan must be developed within 45 days of
determining the worker entitled to a direct employment
plan.  The insurer must provide an eligible worker with
4 months of direct employment services, starting form

the date the plan is approved.

If worker has no marketable skills,
training plan must be developed within

90 days of determining the worker
entitled to a training plan. Maximum
training is 16 months, plus 4 months

of placement services.

Insurer must determine eligibility for
vocational assistance within 35 days of

worker's request; knowledge of projected or
actual permanent limitations; or knowlege

that the claim qualifies for closure; based on
the worker not being reemployed or

reinstated by the employer at injury or
aggravation..

The                   indicates potential path of process.

Figure 16. Return-to-work flowchart
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The peaks for EAIP use came in 1998, when the 
department approved 10,066 placements with 
1,775 employers; and in 1999, during which 1,837 
employers used the program for 9,440 workers. 
Program use has trended upward beginning in 
2006. One inference is that statutory and adminis-
trative law changes have succeeded to some extent 
in improving access and participation. However, as 
with other return-to-work program indicators, eco-
nomic conditions probably have an effect on these 
measures, too.

Measured at the 13th quarter after injury, em-
ployment and wage recovery rates have been 
consistently higher for workers with disabling 
claims where employers and insurers accessed 

Employer-at-Injury Program benefi ts. In 2008, the 
employment and wage recovery rates were both 
four points higher. These statistics are based on a 
comparison of workers released to regular work, 
but with signifi cant severity indicators for tempo-
rary and permanent impairment. 

While these outcomes are low compared to other 
programs, 12 years of consistently higher indicators 
for EAIP use at 3.25 years post-injury is remarkable 
in that EAIP use typically takes place in the quarter 
of or the fi rst quarter after injury — about three 
years before the measurement. Research in prog-
ress provides more evidence that a wage recovery 
and employment advantage is sustained over a 
period of at least fi ve years after injury.
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Figure 17. Employer-at-Injury Program, placements approved, 
1993-2007 
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Figure 18. Employment rates for the Employer-at-Injury Program, 
FY 1997-2008
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Preferred Worker Program
Although incentives such as wage subsidies and 
worksite modifi cations have been available for 
many years, the current version of the Preferred 
Worker Program was formed during the 1990 
special session. Clarifi cations were added in 1995 
through SB 369; notably, workers may not release 
these benefi ts through a claim disposition agree-
ment. Senate Bill 119 (2005) expanded the pro-
gram’s options by enabling the payment for limited 
placement services contracted for on behalf of 
preferred workers.

The program’s objective is to sustain disabled 
workers in modifi ed regular or new employment as 
soon as permanent medical restrictions are known. 
A worker automatically receives a preferred worker 
identifi cation card when the insurer reports that 
the worker has a work-related permanent disability 
preventing return to regular work. The card in-
forms prospective employers that the worker may 
be eligible for the program’s benefi ts. A worker 

may also request qualifi cation as a preferred 
worker from the department. The department, 
not insurers, delivers benefi ts under the Preferred 
Worker Program.

An eligible employer who chooses to hire a pre-
ferred worker is exempt from workers’ compensa-
tion premiums on the worker for three years. If the 
worker moves to another employer, premium ex-
emption is transferred to the new employer for an 
additional three years. The department reimburses 
insurers for all claim costs, including administrative 
expenses, for any claims preferred workers fi le dur-
ing the premium-exemption period.

Three other benefi ts are available for preferred 
workers and employers. Wage subsidies provide 
50 percent reimbursement for six months; higher 
benefi ts are available for exceptional levels of 
disability. Worksite modifi cations alter worksites 
within Oregon to accommodate the workers’ re-
strictions. Employment purchases provide 
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Figure 19. Preferred worker contracts started, 1990-2007
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Figure 20. Employment rates for preferred workers, FY 1997-2008
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uniforms, licenses, tools, worksite creation, and 
other benefi ts required to set up the preferred 
worker for employment. These benefi ts may be 
used more than once.

Administrative rule changes effective July 1, 2005, 
permit use of the program at the initiative of the 
employer at injury. A worker’s entitlement to future 
program benefi ts is not affected if the worker accepts 
this option. Otherwise, use of the Preferred Worker 
Program is at the initiative of the injured worker and 
at the option of the prospective employer. Adminis-
trative rule changes effective Dec. 1, 2007, clarifi ed 
that a preferred worker has no time limit on when to 
start using the program’s benefi ts.

Benefi t use among preferred workers is diffi cult to 
measure because some workers use benefi ts as soon 
as possible after becoming eligible, while others 
may wait for years. The statistical indicators point 
to peak use in 1996, falling drastically thereafter 
until stabilizing early in the current decade. Finan-
cial and management information for the fi rst half 
of 2008 indicate that further rule changes effective 
in 2007 may be increasing benefi t use.

Measured at the 13th quarter after injury, employ-
ment and wage recovery rates have been consis-
tently higher for preferred workers who used the 
program’s benefi ts, compared to preferred workers 
who did not. These statistics are based on a com-
parison of workers who were released to modifi ed 
work at claim closure, excluding workers who were 
also eligible for vocational assistance. They offer a 
relatively short-term perspective on the effi cacy of 
the program. However, large differences in wage 
recovery since 2005, in favor of benefi t users, may 
be due in part to changes in administrative rules 
and statute.

Vocational assistance
Insurers provide vocational assistance, usually 
through professional rehabilitation organizations, 
to overcome limitations that prevent injured work-
ers’ return to suitable work. In 1987, more than 
8,500 workers became newly eligible for vocational 
assistance plans to return to work, and more than 
1,300 had their eligibility restored. Total reported 
benefi ts stood at $36.5 million, excluding the costs 
of eligibility determinations. The average cost of 
vocational assistance benefi ts was more than $4,000. 

In 1987, the Legislature passed HB 2900, which 
signifi cantly restricted eligibility for the vocational 
assistance program by introducing a new test, 
substantial handicap. In general, substantial handi-
cap means that injured workers are eligible for 
vocational assistance only if a permanent disability 
prevents re-employment in any job paying at least 
80 percent of the job-at-injury wage. One effect 
has been to exclude many minimum-wage earners 
from eligibility; HB 2900 also excluded from eli-
gibility workers whose fi ve-year aggravation rights 
had expired.

In 1995, the Legislature further restricted eligibility 
for vocational assistance for aggravation claims. Be-
cause of these legislative amendments, there have 
been fewer eligibilities for vocational assistance. 
The average has been around 740 each year since 
1999. Total costs of benefi ts have also declined. 
Under current law, the typical eligible worker gets 
a training plan followed by direct employment 
(placement) services. In the past, many more work-
ers returned to work through direct employment 
plans because they did not need retraining. Now, 
few workers receive only placement services under 
vocational assistance. As a result, the cost reduc-
tion has not been as steep as the reduction in the 
number of eligible workers.

Benefi ts available under vocational assistance 
include time-loss payments (worker subsistence) 
during training; purchases of goods and services, 
such as tuition; and professional rehabilitation 
services, such as plan development, counseling and 
guidance, and placement. For cases closed in 2007, 
reported as of May 2008, time-loss payments were 
an estimated $4.5 million, and insurers’ reported 
expenditures for purchases were $1.7 million and 
for professional services, $2.3 million.

Eligible workers are not required to use voca-
tional assistance benefi ts. Since at least 1987, less 
than one-half of eligible workers have received 
a plan following their eligibility determinations. 
Since 1995, less than one-third of workers have 
completed their plans — completion is defi ned as 
placement in a job or receipt of maximum services. 
The maximum service is 16 months of training (21 
months for exceptional cases), plus four months of 
direct employment services.
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In 1990, the claim disposition agreement (CDA) 
was legalized. With CDAs, workers release their 
rights to vocational assistance and most other 
disability benefi ts in exchange for lump-sum 
settlements. Since 1995, at least 50 percent of 
cases have ended with a CDA. In general, workers 
with permanent work restrictions who settle their 
claims have low post-injury employment rates and 
wages. Many of those workers do not use pre-
ferred worker benefi ts.

The de-emphasis of the vocational assistance pro-
gram has resulted in few workers returning to work 
because of the program, just 132 cases in 2007. 

However, workers who completed a vocational assis-
tance plan have had better employment outcomes 
than eligible workers who did not complete their 
plans. Measured at 13 quarters after injury, employ-
ment rates have been at least 20 percent higher 
for workers who completed plans. Wage-recovery 
rates have shown similar advantages for workers 
who completed their plans. Note that the comple-
tion of a vocational assistance plan typically occurs 
in the third year after injury. These statistics, then, 
represent a relatively short-term perspective on the 
effi cacy of the program.
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Figure 21. Vocational assistance eligibilites, 1987-2007
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Figure 22. Employment rates for vocational assistance cases, FY 1997-2008
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Employer-at-Injury Program placements approved, 1995-2007

Year Workers Employers
Average cost 
per placement

The Employer-at-Injury Program was created to encourage 
placement of injured workers into transitional work while they 
recover from their injuries. Benefi ts available to employers and 
their workers include wage subsidy, worksite modifi cation, and 
purchases. Financial and management information for the fi rst 
half of 2008 indicate that modifi cations and purchases are being 
used more often.

Increasing counts of workers and employers with placements 
approved since 2005 are evidence that recent administrative rule 
changes are promoting use and access to the program. 

1995 3,739 1,189 $1,326
1996 6,078 1,345 $1,245
1997 8,357 1,515 $1,182
1998 10,066 1,775 $1,168
1999 9,440 1,837 $1,132
2000 7,855 1,579 $1,216
2001 8,585 1,656 $1,290
2002 6,405 1,236 $1,414
2003 5,953 1,314 $1,481
2004 6,609 1,491 $1,473
2005 6,475 1,474 $1,553
2006 7,423 1,607 $1,605
2007 7,752 1,793 $1,768

Preferred workers, CY 1995-2007

Calendar  
year Eligibilities

Workers using 
benefi ts

Percent of 
eligibilities 
with benefi t 

use

Preferred workers have permanent work restrictions that prevent 
return to unmodifi ed regular work. In 2007, there were 2,022 
preferred worker eligibilities, the highest number since 2001. 

Benefi t use among preferred workers is diffi cult to measure 
because some workers use benefi ts as soon as possible after 
eligibility while others may wait for years. There is no time limit 
on when use may begin. Current statistics exclude some workers 
using benefi ts at the injury employer’s initiative.

Preferred worker statistical data were revised following system 
updates to refl ect administrative rule changes.

1995 4,459 1,334 30%
1996 3,708 1,104 30%
1997 3,120 912 29%
1998 2,946 738 25%
1999 2,549 643 25%
2000 2,267 584 26%
2001 2,375 562 24%
2002 1,858 492 26%
2003 1,821 496 27%
2004 1,779 469 26%
2005 1,806 456 25%
2006 1,770 Available Dec. 2009
2007 2,022 Available Dec. 2010

Preferred Worker Program contracts started, CY 1995-2007

Calendar 
year

Workers 
starting 

contracts
Wage 

subsidies

Worksite 
modifi - 
cations Purchases

Preferred Worker Program benefi ts include premium exemption and 
claim cost reimbursement, plus wage subsidy, worksite modifi cation, 
and employment purchase contracts or agreements. Workers may 
use all these benefi ts, more than one time.

Administrative rule changes provided for use of program benefi ts at 
the injury employer’s initiative beginning July 2005. However, use 
of benefi ts, as measured by contracts started, has not increased 
through 2007. Financial and management information for the fi rst 
half of 2008 indicate that further rule changes effective in 2007 may 
be increasing benefi t use. 

1995 1,379 1,110 418 527
1996 1,448 1,111 519 638
1997 1,380 1,063 448 602
1998 1,273 957 448 668
1999 979 734 293 462
2000 871 673 282 344
2001 718 539 232 310
2002 594 473 200 250
2003 620 517 200 235
2004 620 488 265 249
2005 594 458 245 252
2006 573 482 232 225
2007 602 493 218 237
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Vocational assistance determinations, 1995-2007

Year
Total 

determinations Ineligible Eligible
Insurers determine eligibility or ineligibility for vocational 
assistance for workers with permanent partial disability who 
do not return to permanent work with the employer at injury. 
The department audits claim closures to assure that insurers 
determine eligibility.

In general, workers are eligible for vocational assistance if they 
have a substantial handicap that prevents reemployment in any 
job that pays at least 80 percent of the job-at-injury wages.

Eligible determinations include insurer letters, eligibility orders, 
and eligibility restorations.

1995 4,447 3,168 1,279
1996 4,084 2,975 1,109
1997 3,547 2,698 849
1998 3,441 2,647 794
1999 3,299 2,555 744
2000 2,421 1,705 716
2001 2,046 1,291 755
2002 2,046 1,308 738
2003 2,108 1,324 784
2004 2,495 1,723 772
2005 2,668 1,928 740
2006 2,438 1,749 689
2007 2,274 1,534 740

Vocational assistance eligibility closures, plans, and outcomes, 1995-2007

Year
Total eligibility 

closures
Closed, 
no plan

Closed, direct 
employment 

plan
Closed, 

training plan
Outcome: 

return to work

Outcome: 
maximum 

services or job 
ended

Outcome: 
CDA

Outcome: 
other

1995 1,403 840 52 511 340 87 631 345
1996 1,242 701 39 502 337 58 582 265
1997 993 515 23 455 248 59 441 245
1998 870 455 6 409 208 50 424 188
1999 777 415 7 355 157 41 354 225
2000 723 396 4 323 171 46 324 182
2001 708 382 4 322 154 46 313 195
2002 782 454 7 321 140 70 394 178
2003 717 418 7 292 123 75 380 139
2004 760 440 5 315 128 60 391 181
2005 728 432 4 292 135 58 370 165
2006 733 409 7 317 143 48 391 151
2007 653 377 2 274 132 35 347 139

Eligibility closures include insurer eligibility closures and eligibilities where there is a claim disposition agreement in full but no eligibility 
closure. No-plan closures continue to account for more than 50 percent of eligibility closures. The claim disposition agreement 
continues to account for more than 50 percent of eligibility closure outcomes.
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Disputes
The purpose of the Oregon workers’ compensa-
tion system is to provide fair and timely benefi ts to 
injured workers. An impartial forum for the resolu-
tion of disputes is an important part of this system. 

The Oregon system provides several methods 
through which disputes may be resolved. In these 
processes, workers, employers, insurers, and, in 
some instances, medical service providers have 
legal rights. Workers may contest denials and 
benefi ts, and insurers and employers may defend 
against claims and benefi ts believed to be unwar-
ranted. Medical providers may raise issues about 
medical services and fees.

The Oregon workers’ compensation system has 
evolved to include a two-part dispute resolution 
system: 

■ The Workers’ Compensation Board is an in-
dependent agency that receives administrative 
support from the Department of Consumer and 
Business Services. It has original jurisdiction on 
insurer denials and certain claims-processing 
issues — time loss and time-loss rate when the 
claim is open, insurer penalty for unreasonable 
conduct, etc. It also hears appeals of cases de-
cided by DCBS Workers’ Compensation Division 
administrative review — primarily the reconsid-
eration of claims closures, medical services and 
vocational assistance disputes, and nonsubjectiv-
ity and noncomplying employer determinations. 
Hearings decisions can be appealed to board 

review, and then to the Court of Appeals. Court 
of Appeals decisions can be appealed to the 
Oregon Supreme Court, whose review is discre-
tionary. Exceptions are disputes about medical 
services, vocational assistance, non-complying 
status, subjectivity, and safety citations; orders for 
these disputes are not appealable to board review 
but instead are reviewed by the Court of Appeals.

■ The Workers’ Compensation Division provides 
administrative review for many types of disputes. 
Within the Benefi t Services Section, the Appel-
late Review Unit resolves disputes involving claim 
closures and classifi cations, and the Employment 
Services Team resolves vocational disputes. The 
Medical Section resolves medical disputes.

The system, however, is more complex than the de-
scription above suggests. For instance, workers may 
have disputes in different venues at the same time; 
they may be disputing vocational assistance deci-
sions while appealing PPD awards. In other cases, 
medical disputes may have two issues: whether the 
proposed treatment is related to the accepted con-
ditions, and whether it is reasonable and necessary. 
In such cases, after the WCB decides treatment is 
related to the accepted condition, the WCD Medi-
cal Review Unit decides on necessity. As a fi nal ex-
ample, disputes with a managed care organization 
(MCO) may begin with the MCO’s review process 
and then go to WCD. 
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Reforming the 
dispute-resolution system
During the 1980s, there was a growing number of 
claims with disputes about the amount of perma-
nent disability benefi ts payable to injured workers. 
Workers were requesting more hearings at the 
Workers’ Compensation Board. Written standards 
or rules for determining permanent disability 
benefi ts had been available since 1980, but their 
use at hearings was optional. Parties presented 
their evidence at hearing and at further review by 
the Workers’ Compensation Board and the courts. 
Dispute resolution was neither swift nor effi cient.

In part to reduce litigation, the Legislature enacted 
HB 2900 in 1987 and SB 1197 in 1990. HB 2900 
included provisions to speed up litigation. It re-
duced the time to request a hearing on a claim clo-
sure from one year to 180 days, required hearings 
to be scheduled for a date within 90 days of the 
request, required that orders be issued within 30 
days of the hearing, and required that hearings be 
postponed only in extraordinary circumstances. It 
also required that the Hearings Division create an 
expedited claim service to informally resolve small 
claims for which compensability was not at issue. 
It required fact-fi nding about disability, emphasiz-
ing objective medical evidence, with the idea that 
uniform standards for permanent disability would 
reduce litigation. The bill also created the Offi ce of 
the Ombudsman for Injured Workers; the ombuds-
man reduces litigation by resolving complaints. 

SB 1197 created new administrative review process-
es and provided for claim disposition agreements. 
Prior to 1990, there were voluntary administrative 
review processes to resolve disputes over claim clo-
sure and disability classifi cation (disabling or non-
disabling). These processes were used infrequently. 
SB 1197 made the reconsideration processes man-
datory. It also made the medical dispute process 
mandatory. Claim disposition agreements allowed 
workers to compromise and release claim benefi ts 
other than medical services, reducing litigation. 

In 1995, SB 369 produced further changes. Fol-
lowing the Court of Appeals’ decision in Jefferson 
v. Sam’s Café in 1993, WCD lost jurisdiction over 
disputes involving proposed medical treatment; SB 

369 restored it. The Legislature also tightened the 
timelines in the reconsideration process, limited 
hearing issues to those that were raised at, or arose 
out of, the reconsideration, and limited evidence 
at hearings to that provided at reconsideration. For 
WCB, SB 369 allowed Hearings Division judges and 
the board to impose attorney sanctions for appeals 
that are frivolous, made in bad faith, or made for 
harassment purposes. 

With SB 485, the 2001 Legislature addressed 
evidentiary concerns by providing for a worker 
deposition to be included as part of the reconsid-
eration process. The insurer-paid deposition is 
limited to testimony and cross-examination about 
a worker’s condition at closure. The bill also pro-
vided for a medical exam as part of a hearing on a 
compensability denial. In a denial case where the 
worker’s attending physician disagrees with the 
fi ndings of an independent medical examiner, the 
worker can ask the WCD Medical Section to pro-
vide the name of a physician who will conduct a 
new independent exam. The insurer pays the costs 
of the exam and physician’s report, which becomes 
part of the hearing record.

The appeal process has been changed frequently. 
With SB 369 in 1995, the Legislature transferred 
jurisdiction for appeals of vocational service dispute 
orders and most medical service dispute orders from 
the Workers’ Compensation Board to the Workers’ 
Compensation Division. Some reconsideration or-
ders were also appealed to WCD. In 1998, however, 
a Court of Appeals decision, James Jordan v. Bra-
zier Forest Products, determined that all Appellate 
Review Unit decisions were reconsideration orders 
and had to be appealed to the board. HB 2525 in 
1999 created a centralized Hearing Offi cer Panel 
(later renamed the Offi ce of Administrative Hear-
ings) and transferred WCD appeals to this panel. 
HB 2091 in 2005 transferred jurisdiction from the 
Hearing Offi cer Panel back to the Hearings Division 
of WCB. This dispute resolution process is unique: 
(1) The hearing request is made to WCD; (2) WCD 
refers the dispute to WCB; (3) the WCB judge sends 
to WCD a proposed and fi nal order; (4) WCD issues 
a fi nal order; (5) review of the fi nal order is by the 
Court of Appeals. There is no board review.
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Disputes resolved by the 
Workers’ Compensation Division
Appellate review of claim closures and 
disability classifi cations
For injuries that have occurred since mid-1990, 
a party disputing a claim closure must seek de-
partmental reconsideration before proceeding to 
hearing. If the extent of the worker’s impairment 
is not disputed, the process must be completed in 
18 working days. When impairment is disputed or 
medical information is insuffi cient to determine 
impairment, a medical arbiter is appointed to 
examine the worker, and an additional 60 days is 
allowed. No additional medical evidence may be 
used in subsequent litigation.

Since 1995, requests for appellate review have 
fallen — reconsideration requests have fallen 
much more than classifi cation requests. The 
long-term trend of decreasing numbers of claim 
closures has contributed to this decline.

In 2001, insurers assumed total responsibility for 
claim closures, and the Legislature amended claims 
processing law. In 2003, SB 757 made changes in 
claim closure for workers injured in 2005, and HB 
2408 in 2005 made changes in claim closure for 
workers injured in 2006. Despite the increased 
complexity of claim processing, disputes of closures 
and classifi cations have leveled off, as measured 
by the appellate review request rate. In 2007, 16.3 
percent of closures were appealed.
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Note: The reconsideration figures include requests on closures and requests on disabling classifications.

Figure 24. Requests for reconsideration and medical and vocational 
dispute resolution, 1991-2007
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Figure 25. Appeal rates of claim closures and reconsideration orders, 1991-2007
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There has been other legislation concerning the 
reconsideration process. In 2000, the Oregon 
Supreme Court (Koskela v. Willamette Industries, 
Inc.), in an exception to the evidence limitation, 
ruled that in permanent total disability cases a 
worker must be allowed to testify about willing-
ness to work and efforts to obtain employment. In 
response, SB 485 (2001) allowed for worker deposi-
tions to be included in the records of the reconsid-
eration process. Through SB 285 in 2003, the Leg-
islature permitted insurers to request reconsidera-
tion of their own notices of closure, in particular 
when they disagree with fi ndings on impairment by 
attending physicians. In both 2006 and 2007, insur-
ers requested reconsideration on more than 100 of 
their notices of closure (102 and 143, respectively).

Nearly all appellate review orders are issued timely. 
The median time from request for review of claim 
closure to date of order issue was 70 days in 2007.

Appellate review orders may be appealed to the 
WCB Hearings Division. Overall, the trend for ap-
pealed orders is downward. In 2007, the rate was 23 
percent, a record low. This trend is down consider-
ably from the 50 percent appeal rates registered 
in the fi rst years of administrative review of claim 
closures and disability classifi cations.

Medical disputes
The number of medical-dispute-resolution requests 
previously peaked in 1992 at 1,518. Following the 
Court of Appeal’s decision in Jefferson v. Sam’s 
Café in 1993, the department lost jurisdiction over 
disputes involving proposed medical treatment. 
As a result, the number of requests fell to 466 in 
1994. SB 369 restored this jurisdiction, and the 
number of requests rose again; the 1,827 requests 
in 2007 mark a new high. SB 369 also required that 
disputes concerning the actions of a managed care 
organization, regarding the provision of medi-
cal services, peer review, or utilization review, be 
handled through the medical-dispute-resolution 
process. In 2007, 8 percent of the requests con-
cerned MCO issues.

With SB 728, the 1999 Legislature specifi ed that 
the Hearings Division had jurisdiction over dis-
putes concerning the compensability of the under-
lying medical condition or the causal relationship 
between the accepted condition and the medical 
service. Compensability issues are normally re-
solved before other medical issues, such as medical 
services or the appropriateness of treatment, are 
considered. Once compensability or causality is 
determined a case is sent to the Medical Resolution 
Team for resolution of the medical service dispute. 
Compensability cases represented 12 percent of all 
2007 medical dispute resolution requests.

The medical dispute process differs from many of 
the other dispute processes; the injured worker 
may not be directly involved in the dispute. In 
2007, 54 percent of the medical dispute requests 
were from medical providers; most concerned fee 
disputes and disagreements between the provider 
and insurer about services to which the injured 
worker may have been entitled.

With the implementation of HB 2091 in 2005, 
medical dispute orders could be reviewed by the 
WCB Hearings Division; 5 percent were appealed 
in 2007. 

Vocational assistance disputes
The Employment Services Team (EST) strives to re-
solve vocational disputes by mediating agreements 
between the parties. When agreement is not pos-
sible, EST issues an administrative review order. 
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Figure 26. Medical disputes,
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The number of requests for vocational-dispute 
resolution fell by about 75 percent between 1991 
and 2001 and has been relatively stable since. Most 
of the long-term decline resulted from the decline 
in the number of eligibility determinations for 
vocational assistance. Vocational disputes, however, 
have remained steady with about 20 percent of eli-
gibility determinations having at least one dispute. 
Most disputes follow an insurer’s denial of eligibil-
ity for vocational assistance; other disputes concern 
vocational training programs, the quality of profes-
sional services, or worker purchases.

In 2007, 28 percent of the vocational disputes were 
resolved through agreement. Another 43 percent 
were dismissed, often due to a claim disposition 
agreement; remaining resolutions required a 
formal administrative order. The insurer prevailed 
in about 70 percent of those orders. With HB 
2091, responsibility for appeals of these orders was 
returned to the WCB Hearings Division. During the 
past fi ve years, about 12 percent of vocational dis-
pute review orders, including orders of dismissal, 
were appealed.

About 93 percent of vocational disputes were re-
solved timely, as measured by a nonstatutory stan-
dard of 60 days. The median number of days from 
request for review of vocational assistance to date 
of resolution was 28 in 2007.

Disputes resolved at the 
Workers’ Compensation Board
The Workers’ Compensation Board’s Hearings 
Division provides a forum to achieve justice. In 
hearings conducted by administrative law judges, 
parties have an opportunity to present their case. 
They have the right to be represented by counsel, 
to have a qualifi ed interpreter, to present evidence 
(lay and expert witnesses, personal testimony, 
medical and vocational reports, etc.), to compel 
testimony by subpoena and under oath, to receive 
pre-hearing disclosure of evidence, to present argu-
ment on issues of fact and of law, to provide cross-
examination and impeachment evidence, to have 
the hearing postponed or continued, to have the 
hearing at a location not distant from the worker’s 
home, and to request reconsideration of an order 
and appeal the order.

The Board Review Division hears appeals of ALJ or-
ders, decides board own-motion cases (reopenings 
or additional benefi ts after aggravation rights have 
expired), approves claim disposition agreements, 
hears appeals of Department of Justice decisions in 
the crime victim assistance program, and resolves 
third-party disputes (distribution of proceeds from 
a liable third party, between insurer and worker). 
The board is composed of fi ve governor-appointed 
members: the chair, two members selected because 
of their background and understanding of employer 
concerns, and two members selected because of 
their background and understanding of employee 
concerns. Appeals are heard by at least one “worker” 
member and one “employer” member.

Hearing requests
Hearing requests reached a peak in 1989 after 
increasing for more than 20 years. The number of 
requests dropped substantially in the early 1990s; 
the number in 1997 was just 41 percent of the 
1989’s peak. Since then, the number of requests 
has declined by about 2 percent per year. There 
were 9,355 requests in 2007.

The primary reason for declining hearing requests 
in the early 1990s was the creation of the reconsid-
eration process, which cut the hearing request rate 
on initial disabling claim closures from 21 percent 
in 1989 to 6 percent since 1997. SB 369 also re-
duced litigation by requiring that workers believing 
that a condition has been omitted from a notice of 
acceptance must notify the insurer and not allege a 
de facto denial in a hearing request. 

The composition of issues litigated has changed 
signifi cantly over time. The extent of permanent 
disability was by far the most frequent hearing is-
sue in 1987, with 46 percent of the cases, but this 
percentage dropped to less than 5 percent in 2007. 
The primary reasons are fewer accepted disabling 
claims, director-prescribed disability standards, re-
quired reconsideration of claim closures, and claim 
disposition agreements.

On the other hand, the issue of partial denial has 
risen from 9 percent of hearing cases in 1987 to 
nearly 41 percent in 2007, the highest since at 
least 1987 (most post-acceptance compensability 
disputes that don’t involve aggravation of the ac-
cepted condition are classifi ed as “partial denial”). 
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One reason for the increase is that the Legislature 
specifi cally provided for major-contributing-cause 
denials in SB 369. 

The median request-to-order time lag for hearings 
was 138 days in 2007. The median request-to-order 
lag for board review was 170 days in 2007, higher 
than the average of 149 days during the previous 
10 years. The median lag for 2007 Court of Appeals 
decisions was 453 days (1.2 years).

Mediation
Since 1996, the board has offered trained admin-
istrative law judge mediators and facilities, at no 
cost, to help settle disputes without formal litiga-
tion. Historically, the mediators completed about 
250 mediations per year; this number increased 
to around 350 for 2006-07. This increase is in part 
due to a change in how mediations are counted. 
Most mediated cases deal with complex issues: 

mental stress claims, occupational disease claims, 
claims about permanent total disability, and claims 
with additional issues such as employment rights or 
other civil actions (tort, contract, etc.). Adding to 
that complexity, the average mediation deals with 
1.2 hearing requests. More than 89 percent of 2007 
mediations resulted in settlement. 

The board also has an agreement with the Court of 
Appeals to mediate cases pending before the court.

Appeal rates
The appeal rate of reconsideration orders has 
dropped from 53 percent in 1992 to 23 percent 
in 2005. The appeal rate of hearings orders has 
been declining slowly, from 12 percent in 1997 
to less than 9 percent in 2007. The appeal rate 
of board-review orders dropped from 1987’s 30 
percent to 13 percent the next year, mostly in 
response to HB 2900 (1987), which changed the 
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Figure 27. Requests for hearing, 1987-2007
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Figure 28. Hearing issue relative frequencies, 1987-2007
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court review standard from de novo to “substantial 
evidence.” For 1992-2004, board appeal rates have 
mostly ranged from 17 percent to 23 percent, but 
dropped to 14 percent in 2007.

Law changes may temporarily increase appeal 
rates, as new and sometimes precedent-setting re-
form issues arise and decisions are appealed.

Claim disposition agreements
In 1990, SB 1197 allowed workers to release their 
rights to claim benefi ts other than medical services 
in claim disposition agreements (CDA). In 1995, 
SB 369 prohibited the release of preferred worker 
benefi ts. Since 1991, the board has approved an 
average of nearly 3,200 CDAs per year. The num-
bers have declined recently; there were 3,025 CDAs 
in 2007. The average agreement in 2007 was more 
than $17,000. CDAs signifi cantly reduce the subse-
quent litigation because workers relinquish rights 
for most benefi ts. Return-to-work studies show that 
workers who negotiate CDAs often have diffi culty 
returning to work.

Claimant attorney fees
Fees are awarded to claimant attorneys for (1) get-
ting a reversal of a denial of a claim or of services 
in an accepted claim; (2) getting an increase in 

indemnity benefi ts; (3) preventing a decrease in 
indemnity benefi ts; (4) getting a penalty assessed 
against the insurer; and (5) negotiating a disputed 
claim settlement or claim disposition agreement. 
Fees for (1), (3), and (4) are assessed against insur-
ers, while fees for (2) and (5) are taken out of the 
award increase or settlement proceeds.

The 1990 law change limited penalty-related at-
torney fees to half of the penalty amount. Via SB 
369, the 1995 Legislature made three changes 
that further reduced attorney fees. It limited fees 
in responsibility disputes, prohibited the Hear-
ings Division from awarding penalties and fees for 
matters arising under the director’s jurisdiction, 
and limited fees for the reversal of a denial to cases 
where the denial is based on the compensability of 
the underlying condition. 

In 1999, for the fi rst time in more than 11 years, 
the board changed its rules to increase fees allowed 
in disputed claim settlements, CDAs, and orders 
increasing disability awards.

With SB 620 in 2003, the Legislature reversed the 
1990 law change by providing for penalty-related 
attorney fees proportional to the benefi t, and limit-
ing them to $2,000, except in extraordinary cir-
cumstances. It also required a fee when a dispute is 
settled prior to a contested-case hearing.

A
pp

ea
l r

at
es

Figure 29. Appeal rates of WCB hearing orders and board review orders, 1987-2007
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The 2003 law change, for the fi rst time, allowed 
attorney fees in medical services and vocational as-
sistance disputes before the director. 

Total claimant attorney fees jumped by almost 49 
percent from 1987 to 1991. However, the total of 
$19.2 million in 2007 was about 90 percent of the 
total in 1991. Fees in 2007 included $841,000 at 
reconsideration, $9,647,000 at hearing, $746,000 at 
board review, and $7,621,000 for CDAs. 

Lump-sum settlements (CDAs and disputed claim 
settlements) have accounted for a growing share of 
total claimant attorney fees, rising from 25 percent 
in 1989 to more than 60 percent since 1996.

In 2007, SB 404 made two additions to assist claim-
ants and their attorneys in recovering costs and 
fees. First, the legislation allows an administrative 
law judge, board, or court to order payment for a 
claimant’s reasonable expenses and costs for re-
cords, expert opinions, and witness fees. Second, if 
an injured worker signs an attorney fee agreement, 
and the attorney was instrumental in obtaining ad-
ditional compensation or settling a worker’s claim, 
then the administrative law judge, board, or court 
may grant the attorney a lien on additional com-
pensation or proceeds from a settlement. 

Board own motion
Legislation in 1987 limited worker benefi ts under 
own-motion authority to time-loss and medical 
services. In SB 485, the 2001 Legislature expanded 
benefi ts by providing for reopenings for treat-
ment provided in lieu of hospitalization to enable 
return to work, claims for new or omitted medical 
conditions after aggravation rights have expired, 
and permanent disability awards in new or omitted 
medical condition cases.

Total own-motion orders peaked in 1991, and 
decreased steadily afterward to 243 orders in 2002. 
SB 485, passed in 2001, led to an increase in the 
number of orders, causing them to double. The 
number of own-motion orders declined again after 
a 2005 law change (HB 2294). 
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Figure 30. Claimant attorney fees, 1987-2007
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Appellate review requests and orders, 1991-2007

Year

Requests 
on 

closures

Requests on 
disabling 
classifi ca-

tions

Appellate 
review 
request 

rate

Total 
orders 
issued

Percent of 
orders 

appealed to 
hearings

The WCD Appellate Review Unit provides administrative 
review of decisions made by insurers regarding claim closures 
and classifi cations of claims as disabling or nondisabling. 
Effective in 2004, insurers may also appeal claim closures 
when they disagree with fi ndings on impairment by attending 
physicians.

The appeal rate for appellate review orders reached a record 
low in 2007. While the number of requests on closures 
increased in 2007, the rate of requests for appellate review 
was below its peak of 2004.

1991 6,065 26 16.8% 5,953 49.0%
1992 6,590 73 17.3% 6,508 53.4%
1993 6,011 87 17.2% 6,029 48.1%
1994 5,915 99 16.9% 6,026 47.8%
1995 6,764 152 16.6% 6,563 44.6%
1996 5,773 128 15.8% 6,299 41.2%
1997 4,621 100 14.6% 4,790 38.8%
1998 4,527 123 14.5% 4,582 38.9%
1999 4,313 126 14.8% 4,544 38.7%
2000 4,078 132 14.5% 4,244 33.7%
2001 4,208 142 15.6% 4,253 35.1%
2002 4,072 188 16.8% 4,290 33.0%
2003 3,888 205 17.1% 4,187 31.7%
2004 3,955 186 17.3% 4,110 33.3%
2005 3,641 182 16.5% 3,935 26.8%
2006 3,514 198 15.4% 3,731 26.9%
2007 3,909 186 16.3% 4,057 23.4%

Medical dispute requests and orders, 1990-2007

Year Requests Orders
Request to order 

median days
Medical dispute resolution requests and orders had a peak in 
1992. They declined sharply after a court decision limited the 
department’s jurisdiction. SB 369 reversed this decision and 
the numbers have since increased, with 2007 having the most 
requests and orders overall.

In 1999, SB 728 gave authority for determining the 
compensability of the underlying medical condition or the 
causal relationship between the accepted condition and the 
medical service to the Hearings Division. All other medical 
disputes are handled by the WCD Medical Resolution Team.

In 2007, the number of medical dispute requests rose by 11 
percent to 1,827; the number of orders rose by 3 percent to 
1,804.

1990 1,172 310 28
1991 1,386 969 112
1992 1,518 1,412 63
1993 876 987 44
1994 466 467 33
1995 741 469 39
1996 716 856 120
1997 878 816 61
1998 801 816 89
1999 905 819 84
2000 991 948 114
2001 1,181 1,222 69
2002 1,054 918 81
2003 1,365 1,293 88
2004 1,360 1,264 87
2005 1,457 1,548 75
2006 1,651 1,745 41
2007 1,827 1,804 28

Medical dispute issues, by year of request, 2001-2007

Year Fees
Medical 
services Treatments

Palliative 
care

MCO 
issues

Changes of 
attending 
physician

Insurer 
medical 
exams Compensability

Interim 
medical 
benefi ts

2001 22.8% 39.7% 8.6% 3.0% 8.2% 2.4% 1.1% 14.1% -
2002 15.7% 39.0% 11.7% 3.1% 9.3% 1.8% 1.0% 18.2% 0.1%
2003 13.0% 40.6% 10.7% 1.8% 12.7% 0.7% 0.5% 19.6% 0.4%
2004 13.5% 38.8% 9.6% 2.2% 16.8% 1.0% 0.5% 17.4% 0.2%
2005 11.5% 49.1% 7.8% 1.2% 17.2% 1.3% 0.7% 10.9% 0.3%
2006 25.6% 45.1% 7.3% 1.6% 9.0% 1.3% 0.3% 9.7% 0.1%
2007 27.8% 42.4% 8.0% 0.9% 7.9% 0.5% 0.4% 11.9% 0.2%

SB 728 (1999) gave responsibility for disputes in which the compensability of the underlying medical condition is at issue to the 
Hearings Division. These cases were 12 percent of all 2007 medical-dispute-resolution requests. SB 485 (2002) amended the law 
regarding payment for interim medical benefi ts (medical services provided before a claim’s initial acceptance or denial). It added a 
process for these disputes.
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Vocational dispute requests and resolutions, 1991-2007

Year Requests Resolutions

Request to 
resolution 

median days

The WCD Employment Services Team provides administrative 
review of vocational disputes brought by workers. The number 
of requests has fallen by about 77 percent since 1991. The 
decline has resulted chiefl y from the decrease in the number of 
vocational assistance cases.

The median number of days to resolve a dispute was 28 days for 
disputes resolved in 2007, and 93 percent were resolved within 
the standard of less than 60 days.

1991 2,067 2,137 41
1992 1,643 1,725 29
1993 1,493 1,519 25
1994 1,389 1,373 24
1995 1,347 1,304 28
1996 996 1,037 35
1997 877 881 32
1998 716 715 26
1999 630 681 28
2000 549 563 35
2001 511 480 35
2002 512 530 63
2003 504 530 56
2004 551 551 42
2005 492 485 47
2006 456 495 30
2007 468 446 28

Vocational dispute resolutions, by outcome, 2001-2007

Year Agreements

Insurer 
prevail 
orders

Worker 
prevail 
orders

Other 
orders Dismissals

The department strives to resolve vocational disputes through 
agreements, which generally have accounted for less than a third 
of resolutions.

2001 32.9% 17.4% 10.7% 2.5% 36.5%
2002 31.3% 21.7% 13.0% 2.3% 31.7%
2003 27.9% 28.5% 15.8% 0.8% 27.0%
2004 30.1% 26.0% 15.1% 2.0% 26.9%
2005 27.0% 22.9% 10.1% 1.2% 38.8%
2006 27.3% 27.9% 8.1% 0.8% 36.0%
2007 28.0% 21.5% 6.5% 0.9% 43.0%

Hearing requests, orders, time lags, and appeal rates, 1987-2007

Year Requests Orders

Request 
to order 

median days Appeal rate

Hearing requests peaked in 1989. There were 9,130 requests in 
2006, the lowest on record, and a third of the 1989 fi gure. 

Hearing requests have dropped for three primary reasons: fewer 
injuries and accepted disabling claims; law changes that have 
reduced litigation about permanent disability; and other reform 
measures implemented to reduce litigation, including the provision 
for claim disposition agreements.

HB 2900 (1987) required that a hearing be scheduled within 90 
days and an order published within 30 days of the hearing. The 
median time between request and order was 138 days in 2007.

Notes: Counts include settlements that were received without 
a prior hearing request and cases generated in order to record 
a mediation result. Appeal rates are based on all hearing order 
types, not just appealable orders.

1987 20,397 23,680 224 8.1%
1988 23,316 26,386 114 9.0%
1989 27,549 24,890 116 8.7%
1990 24,018 25,073 147 7.3%
1991 19,673 21,368 133 12.2%
1992 17,490 19,580 125 12.6%
1993 16,422 16,888 119 11.3%
1994 16,527 15,751 121 11.3%
1995 14,862 16,798 124 10.6%
1996 12,351 13,341 120 11.5%
1997 11,266 11,596 122 12.5%
1998 11,059 11,271 121 11.7%
1999 11,084 10,846 124 11.5%
2000 10,654 10,935 128 11.0%
2001 11,074 10,269 126 10.6%
2002 10,679 10,830 128 9.8%
2003 10,177 10,429 136 10.9%
2004 9,980 9,531 127 9.6%
2005 9,297 10,006 146 9.0%
2006 9,130 9,442 143 9.4%
2007 9,355 9,261 138 8.6%
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Percentage of hearing orders involving selected issues, 1987-2007

Year
Permanent 
disability

Claim 
denial

Partial 
denial

Insurer 
penalty

Permanent disability was the most frequent hearing issue until 
1989, when whole claim denial replaced it. For 2006-2007, 
permanent disability was an issue in less than 5 percent of 
hearings. Since the late 1980s, partial denial has become the 
most frequent hearing issue, rising from 9 percent of hearings to 
more than 40 percent.

The primary reasons for the relative frequency change of 
permanent disability were HB 2900 in 1987 (disability standards, 
reduced own-motion authority, court review standard), SB 1197 in 
1990 (department reconsiderations, medical arbiters, and CDAs), 
and SB 369 in 1995 (limitations on issues and evidence, and the 
defi nition of “gainful employment”).

Notes: This table does not include all issues. Also, orders may 
deal with multiple cases, and each case may have multiple 
issues. Issues are not recorded for cases that are dismissed or 
withdrawn.

1987 46.1% 24.5% 9.3% 14.6%
1988 39.7% 24.5% 10.4% 16.4%
1989 31.9% 32.3% 7.3% 16.6%
1990 33.3% 34.8% 8.8% 14.6%
1991 18.2% 43.7% 14.5% 10.0%
1992 15.7% 40.9% 14.7% 7.5%
1993 12.6% 48.7% 14.5% 10.3%
1994 11.6% 44.7% 19.9% 12.5%
1995 10.4% 39.4% 27.5% 12.1%
1996 11.5% 38.2% 34.4% 8.4%
1997 10.1% 46.6% 24.6% 5.9%
1998 7.6% 42.9% 33.4% 7.2%
1999 7.8% 42.5% 33.9% 7.8%
2000 7.5% 40.7% 36.2% 7.4%
2001 6.1% 39.7% 38.7% 8.1%
2002 6.3% 39.7% 38.9% 6.6%
2003 5.6% 40.7% 38.0% 7.2%
2004 6.6% 39.7% 37.8% 7.5%
2005 5.3% 41.5% 38.1% 7.3%
2006 4.5% 39.8% 38.7% 7.7%
2007 4.6% 37.6% 40.6% 8.6%

Workers' Compensation Board mediations, 1996-2007

Year
Mediations 
completed

Percent 
settled

Percent of 
settlements resolved 

by DCS

The board’s mediation program began in June 1996. 

A mediation is considered settled by a disputed claim settlement if 
any included case is closed by a DCS.

Data through 2005 are based on mediation worksheets; data for 
2006-2007 are based on mediation events in the board’s data 
system.

1996 128 84.4% 80.9%
1997 250 91.6% 82.0%
1998 233 90.1% 86.6%
1999 216 89.8% 83.5%
2000 280 89.3% 86.6%
2001 248 85.5% 92.5%
2002 285 86.3% 84.9%
2003 241 86.3% 88.4%
2004 268 84.0% 80.9%
2005 270 87.0% 81.6%
2006 356 87.7% 76.9%
2007 346 89.4% 79.0%

Issues in WCB mediations, 1996-2007

Year Disease
Mental 
disease Compensability

Non-WCB 
issues

“Disease” means compensability of an occupational disease; it 
includes mental disease.

“Non-WCB issues” includes employment rights, Workers’ 
Compensation Division issues, torts, contracts, and other civil 
actions.

The cases resolved by mediation almost always include 
compensability as an issue. Nearly half of the cases include non-
WCB issues.

1996 50% 31% N/A N/A
1997 50% 30% 90% 40%
1998 44% 30% 98% 47%
1999 63% 37% N/A 46%
2000 41% 32% 97% 43%
2001 49% 36% 99% 51%
2002 42% 27% 95% 55%
2003 41% 20% 99% 45%
2004 31% 16% 97% 50%
2005 67% 21% 94% 47%
2006 46% 10% 81% 42%
2007 64% 20% 81% 43%
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Board review requests, orders, time lags, and appeal rates, 1987-2007

Year Requests Orders

Request-to- 
order median 

days
Appeal 
rates

The number of requests for board review peaked in 1991. 
Requests have dropped primarily because the number of hearing 
opinion and orders (judge’s decision on the merits) has dropped 
from the high of more than 7,000 in 1988 to fewer than 2,000 in 
recent years.

HB 2900 (1987) required a board review to be scheduled within 
90 days and an order published within 30 days of the review.

The appeal rate of board-review orders dropped immediately from 
the 1987 peak, largely because HB 2900 changed the court’s 
review standard from de novo to “substantial evidence.”

Note: Counts exclude crime-victim and third-party cases, 
reconsideration orders, and on-remand orders. Appeal rates are 
based on all board-review order types, not just orders on review.

1987 1,719 1,222 259 29.6%
1988 2,151 991 306 12.8%
1989 1,944 1,576 548 13.6%
1990 1,653 3,067 458 17.2%
1991 2,346 2,064 264 23.8%
1992 2,230 2,487 255 27.9%
1993 1,726 1,931 256 19.5%
1994 1,599 1,814 238 20.1%
1995 1,553 1,655 204 17.4%
1996 1,381 1,676 163 17.9%
1997 1,307 1,229 160 18.2%
1998 1,187 1,358 134 18.5%
1999 1,141 1,147 125 19.1%
2000 1,076 1,166 118 21.2%
2001 966 860 110 22.9%
2002 939 818 209 14.5%
2003 996 1,023 161 19.2%
2004 802 912 162 17.9%
2005 796 770 140 13.8%
2006 782 738 167 14.9%
2007 705 701 170 14.4%

Board own-motion orders, 1987-2007
Year BOM orders In 1987, the Legislature (HB 2900) limited worker benefi ts by own 

motion. The number of board own-motion orders peaked in 1991.

The 2001 Legislature (SB 485) provided for benefi ts when 
treatment is in lieu of hospitalization, new and omitted medical 
condition claims, and permanent disability. This may account for 
the increase in orders in 2003-2005 over 2002.

Lawmakers in 2005 (HB 2294) required that a condition must be 
compensable before an own-motion claim may be processed, 
reducing own-motion claims. 

1987 612
1988 724
1989 703
1990 962
1991 1,135
1992 1,003
1993 927
1994 845
1995 751
1996 659
1997 616
1998 639
1999 593
2000 555
2001 431
2002 243
2003 395
2004 496
2005 466
2006 183
2007 179
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Court of Appeals requests, decisions, and time lags, 1987-2007

Year Requests Decisions
Request-to-decision 

median days
Appeals to the court peaked in 1992; in 2007, the number of 
appeals, 101, was just 15 percent of the peak.

The primary reasons for the subsequent decline are the 
decreasing numbers of orders on review and the change in the 
court’s review standard.

Time lags for court decisions climbed for six straight years 
between 1996 and 2002. Time lags peaked in 2006 at 482 days 
(1.3 years).

Notes: Decisions exclude court dismissals and remands where 
the court did not rule on the primary issue or direct a resolution. 
Time lags exclude dismissals. The decision date is the date of the 
court’s slip opinion.

1987 362 287 335
1988 127 283 323
1989 214 108 281
1990 528 178 298
1991 491 332 293
1992 695 247 321
1993 377 285 295
1994 365 239 286
1995 288 172 299
1996 300 175 288
1997 224 160 318
1998 251 130 330
1999 219 126 343
2000 247 98 376
2001 197 102 426
2002 119 111 458
2003 196 64 457
2004 163 114 441
2005 106 80 440
2006 110 60 482
2007 101 59 453

Median time lag (days) from injury to order, 1987-2007
Year Hearings Board Court Times from injury to order have declined substantially since 1987, 

in large part due to the change in the mix of issues. Whole-claim 
denial is generally the fi rst possible issue in a claim and hearings 
the fi rst level of appeal.

Notes: Data are for all order types except Court of Appeals 
dismissals. The 2007 court lag of 1,440 days equates to 3.9 
years.

1987 758 1,067 1,496
1988 677 1,098 1,606
1989 602 1,320 1,512
1990 617 1,169 1,770
1991 659 978 1,512
1992 655 1,047 1,549
1993 598 966 1,443
1994 561 870 1,402
1995 574 817 1,490
1996 532 763 1,247
1997 502 723 1,484
1998 488 716 1,330
1999 485 685 1,446
2000 506 721 1,238
2001 496 714 1,281
2002 549 811 1,311
2003 541 780 1,369
2004 535 806 1,481
2005 559 827 1,446
2006 537 831 1,447
2007 533 834 1,440
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Claim disposition agreements, 1990-2007

Year
CDAs 

approved
Total amount 
($ millions)

SB 1197 authorized claim disposition agreements in 1990. In 
2004, 2,869 CDAs were approved, the fewest since 1991. This 
decline probably results from the decline in the number of claims. 
In 2007, more than $52 million was paid in for CDAs. This fi gure 
includes $7.6 million in claimant attorney fees. 

1990 362 $6.9
1991 2,840 45.6
1992 3,229 47.0
1993 3,304 42.5
1994 3,260 41.8
1995 3,929 48.6
1996 3,564 45.0
1997 3,268 44.3
1998 3,074 37.7
1999 3,073 39.7
2000 3,144 39.9
2001 3,143 39.3
2002 3,207 44.9
2003 3,040 41.2
2004 2,869 43.8
2005 2,923 43.7
2006 2,954 52.2
2007 3,025 52.1

Disputed claim settlements at hearing and board review, 1987-2007

Year

Hearing Board The number of DCSs at hearing has dropped signifi cantly 
since the peak in 1991, but their relative signifi cance has risen. 
Between 1987 and 2007, DCSs grew from 16 to 36 percent of 
all hearing orders and from 26 to 70 percent of all settlements. 
Attorney fees for DCSs have increased from 23 to 47 percent of 
all hearing claimant attorney fees.

Note: Since 2000, the board fi gures include on-remand DCSs.

DCS cases 
Amount

($ millions) DCS orders 
Amount

($ millions)
1987 3,778 $18.2 N/A N/A
1988 4,139 21.6 N/A N/A
1989 4,365 22.5 N/A N/A
1990 5,374 29.1 N/A N/A
1991 6,021 32.6 N/A N/A
1992 4,942 25.7 64 $0.980
1993 4,700 24.8 84 1.166
1994 4,100 20.8 64 0.778
1995 4,455 22.2 52 0.521
1996 4,001 19.1 55 0.608
1997 3,846 19.0 49 0.622
1998 3,921 20.3 35 0.374
1999 3,721 19.6 40 0.398
2000 4,019 22.8 55 0.706
2001 3,899 21.2 68 0.854
2002 3,931 23.1 68 0.860
2003 3,703 22.1 71 0.898
2004 3,219 20.7 62 1.065
2005 3,401 22.6 60 0.822
2006 3,176 22.5 45 0.735
2007 3,276 24.0 48 0.787
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Claimant attorney fees, 1987-2007

Year
Hearings

($ thousands)
Board

($ thousands)
CDA

($ thousands)
Reconsideration
($ thousands)

SB 369 in 1995 limited attorney fees in responsibility disputes, 
prohibited hearing-awarded fees for issues before the director, 
and limited fees for reversal of denials before hearing.

In early 1999, the board increased the maximum amount of 
fees that may be awarded out of increased disability awards, 
disputed claim settlements, and claim disposition agreements.

SB 620 changed penalty fees from one-half of the penalty to 
fees proportional to the benefi t. The maximum fee is $2,000.

In 2007, 40 percent of all fees came from CDAs. 

For information about series breaks see comment in previous 
table.

“Dept. Hrng.” refers to “WCD contested cases,” usually medical 
or vocational disputes, that are appealed to hearing (previously 
to the Offi ce of Administrative Hearings and, from 1/1/2006 to 
WCB hearings).

See table above for explanation of series breaks.

1987 $14,187 $226 - -
1988 15,967 335 - -
1989 15,953 656 - -
1990 15,902 1,007 $900 $1
1991 13,796 905 6,429 277
1992 12,505 1,067 7,096 727
1993 11,145 1,165 6,658 858
1994 10,400 1,140 6,511 835
1995 10,859 826 7,315 890
1996 9,100 857 6,677 825
1997 8,518 753 5,999 683
1998 8,863 802 5,664 761
1999 8,537 612 5,908 764
2000 9,128 693 6,118 786
2001 8,540 612 6,115 833
2002 8,914 626 6,880 785
2003 8,989 721 6,540 810
--------------------------->Series break #1
2004 8,886 790 6,787 890
2005 9,490 762 6,784 994
2006 9,681 757 7,291 954
--------------------------->Series break #2
2007 9,647 746 7,621 841

Claimant attorney fees and defense legal costs, 1987-2007

Year
Claimant attorney fees

($ millions)
Defense legal costs

($ millions)
Claimant attorney fees peaked in 1991 and 1992 at about 49 
percent above 1987 fees. 

Defense legal costs peaked in 1992 and were rising again in 
2003-2006, reaching the highest level on record in 2006. 

Defense legal costs differ from claimant attorney fees in 
several ways: they include all costs, in addition to fees; they 
are the actual amounts paid rather than the amounts in rule; 
they are not reversible on appeal; there may be fees paid to 
multiple attorneys on a single dispute. 

Information about series breaks:

Break #1. Beginning with 2004, data on fees at the Court of 
Appeals and in department medical service and vocational 
assistance disputes were available. For 2004-2006, these 
added fees were 1.5 to 1.9 percent of the total.

Break #2. For 2007, data on fees for WCD contested cases at 
hearing (“Dept. Hrng.”) and Board Own Motion were available. 
Added fees were 0.4 percent of total fees. Both fees are 
estimated.

1987 $14.4 N/A
1988 16.3 N/A
1989 16.6 $23.4
1990 17.8 26.1
1991 21.4 27.0
1992 21.4 28.2
1993 19.8 27.2
1994 18.9 25.7
1995 19.9 27.4
1996 17.5 25.3
1997 16.0 24.3
1998 16.1 24.2
1999 15.8 24.2
2000 16.7 23.9
2001 16.1 25.7
2002 17.2 25.3
2003 17.1 27.1

--------------------------->Series break #1
2004 17.7 27.7
2005 18.4 29.4

--------------------------->Series break #2
2006 19.0 29.7
2007 19.2 29.7
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Maximum out-of-compensation attorney fees
Hearings Prior to 2/1999 2/1999 - present The maximum claimant attorney fees payable from workers’ 

increased compensation were raised effective February 1999.
Maximum fees at Board review include fees at hearing, if any.PTD $4,600 $12,500

PPD 2,800 4,600

Time loss 1,050 1,500

DCSs 25% of the fi rst $12,500,
10% of the remainder

25% of the fi rst $17,500, 
10% of the remainder

Board Prior to 2/1999 2/1999 - present

PTD $6,000 $16,300

PPD 3,800 6,000

Time loss 3,800 5,000

CDAs 25% of the fi rst $12,500, 
10% of the remainder

25% of the fi rst $17,500, 
10% of the remainder

Claimant attorney fees from lump-sum settlements, 1989-2007
Year Hearing DCS 

($ thousands)
Board DCS 

($ thousands)
Lump sum 

($ thousands)
Lump sum 
percentage

Lump-sum attorney fees are from claim disposition agreements 
and disputed claim settlements. (CDA attorney fees are shown in 
the previous table.) Lump-sum fees increased from 25 percent of 
all attorney fees in 1989 (before CDAs) to 66 percent in 2002.

In 1987, DCSs accounted for 23 percent of all hearing fees. This 
percentage peaked in 2002 at 50 percent; it was 47 percent in 
2007.

Note: The 1989-1991 board DCS fi gures are estimates.

1989 $4,049 $98 $4,147 25.0%
1990 5,222 151 6,273 32.5%
1991 6,107 136 12,672 59.2%
1992 4,978 164 12,238 57.2%
1993 4,708 222 11,588 58.4%
1994 4,105 143 10,759 57.0%
1995 4,376 106 11,797 59.3%
1996 3,787 129 10,593 60.7%
1997 3,629 121 9,749 61.1%
1998 3,954 57 9,675 60.1%
1999 3,787 67 9,762 61.7%
2000 4,338 168 10,624 63.5%
2001 4,145 149 10,409 64.7%
2002 4,407 170 11,457 66.6%
2003 4,318 196 11,054 64.8%
2004 3,910 200 10,897 61.6%
2005 4,316 178 11,278 61.4%
2006 4,270 146 11,707 61.7%
2007 4,528 152 12,302 63.9%
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Insurance and Self-insurance
Oregon law requires every employer to provide 
workers’ compensation coverage for its employees. 
Employers have three insurance options: self-insur-
ance, insurance through a private insurance com-
pany, or insurance through the state fund (SAIF 
Corporation). The department’s Insurance Divi-
sion provides fi nancial, rate, and trade practices 
regulation of insurance companies including SAIF, 
while the Workers’ Compensation Division regu-
lates benefi ts, coverage, and claims practices. WCD 
also regulates self-insured employers. 

Every two years, the department studies the work-
ers’ compensation insurance rates in other states. 
An index is then created that applies each state’s 
rates to Oregon’s distribution of occupations. Us-
ing this measure, Oregon’s average premium rate 
ranking was sixth highest in the nation in 1986. 
After the early reforms, it dropped from eighth 
highest in 1990 to 32nd highest in 1994. Oregon’s 
average ranking was 39th highest in 2008.

History of reform
In the late 1980s, the Oregon workers’ compensa-
tion insurance market was under fi nancial strain. 
Premiums and system losses were at all-time highs, 
and SAIF was losing $1 million each week. As a 
result, SAIF canceled the policies of thousands of 
small employers. Many employers were unable to 
get new policies from private insurers and ended 
up in the assigned risk pool. This situation was one 
the of the principal reasons for the Legislature’s 
1990 special session.

Prior to 1990, HB 2900 (1987) allowed employers 
to exclude some claims costs from their loss experi-
ence. Employers were allowed to pay up to $500 in 
medical costs for nondisabling claims; these costs 
were excluded from their rating experience. HB 
3318 (2005) increased the exclusionary amount 
from $500 to $1,500. SB 762 (2007) added an 
annual adjustment of this amount, based on the 
change in the medical services Consumer Price 
Index, rounded to the nearest $100.

The reforms also provided employer incentives to 
lower some claims costs by limiting claim duration. 
Through the Preferred Worker Program, employ-
ers are encouraged to hire injured workers who 
have not returned to work. HB 2900 excluded 
claim costs incurred as a result of an injury sus-
tained by a preferred worker during the fi rst two 
years of hire. SB 1197 (1990) extended this exemp-
tion from two to three years. 

HB 2900 also restricted the eligibility for board’s 
own motion relief (aggravation more than fi ve 
years after the fi rst claim closure) and directed that 
these costs be paid from the Workers’ Benefi t Fund 
and excluded from the employers’ loss experience. 

Workers’ compensation premiums 
and rates
Oregon has employed a competitive rate-making 
system for workers’ compensation insurance since 
July 1, 1982. Under this system, the National Coun-
cil on Compensation Insurance develops pure pre-
mium rates for each of the almost 600 rating classi-
fi cations, based on expected losses. These rates are 
subject to the approval of the Oregon insurance 
commissioner. Pure premium covers benefi t costs 
only; it is based on claims from recent injuries. 

Overall pure premium rates were reduced 5.9 
percent for CY 2009. Pure premium rates have 
been reduced or left unchanged in each of the past 
19 years. There were reductions of more than 10 
percent in 1991, 1992, 1993, 1997, and 1998. As a 
result of these reductions, the CY 2009 pure pre-
mium rate is 38.5 percent of the CY 1990 rate. 

Under Oregon’s rate-making system, each insurer 
develops an expense loading factor to cover operat-
ing expenses, taxes, profi t, and contingencies. This 
factor is multiplied by the pure premium rate for 
a classifi cation to arrive at the manual rate to be ap-
plied to the employer’s payroll to determine gross 
premium. The average expense loading factor for 
SAIF and private insurers rose slightly in 2007 to 30 
percent, the highest percentage on record.
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Workers’ compensation total system written pre-
miums totaled $1,192.9 million in 2007. (The 
department defi nes total system written premiums 
as the premium written by insurers, the simulated 
premium that the department calculates for each 
self-insured employer to set its workers’ compensa-
tion assessment, and the estimated premium from 
large-deductible premium policies.) Premiums 
have grown steadily since 1999, when they were 
$607.6 million. The average annual growth rate 
since 1999 has exceeded 8 percent.

The loss ratio (defi ned as incurred losses divided by 
earned premiums) is one measure of an insurer’s fi -
nancial condition. SAIF’s loss ratio was 86.4 percent 

in 2007. SAIF’s loss ratio had been above 100 per-
cent in fi ve of the eight years prior to 2007. Its loss 
ratio has been volatile, due in part to substantial 
adjustments to its reserves. Private insurers’ average 
loss ratio was 69.7 percent, below the average for 
the previous fi ve years. The combined loss ratio for 
SAIF and private insurers in 2007 was 79.1 percent. 

Insurers may pay dividends to their policy hold-
ers. Dividends depend on premiums and insurers’ 
profi tability in previous years. For the previous six 
years, little has been paid in dividends. But, 2007 
saw a large increase in SAIF’s dividend to $60.0 mil-
lion. Private insurers continued their low dividend 
rate and paid $1.9 million in dividends in 2007.
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Figure 31. Pure premium rate changes, 1987-2009
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Figure 32. Breakdown of workers' compensation premium, calendar years 1995 and 2007
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There have been changes over time in the distribu-
tion of the costs that premiums cover. The percent 
of premiums paying for medical benefi ts increased 
from 36 percent in 1995 to 43 percent in 2007, while 
the percent paying for indemnity benefi ts decreased 
from 45 percent to 34 percent. Insurer overhead 
expenses were 23 percent of premiums in 2007.

Large-deductible premium policies
In 1996, large-deductible premium policies were 
added as an option to workers’ compensation in 
Oregon. Under deductible policies, insurers ad-
minister the workers’ compensation claims and pay 
the claims costs. Employers reimburse insurers for 
claims costs up to the specifi ed deductible amount. 
In return for purchasing policies with a deductible, 
employers pay lower premiums. Insurers and em-
ployers are assessed on premium prior to deduct-
ible credits.

Few credits were applied in 1996, but the program 
has grown rapidly since. An estimated $96.8 million 
were applied in 2007. This amount was 21 percent 
of private insurers’ written premium. (The state’s 
two largest insurers, SAIF and Liberty Northwest, 
do not write large-deductible premium credits.) 

Self-insured employers and groups
There were 146 self-insured employers active 
in Oregon at the end of 2007. These employers 
must meet specifi c fi nancial criteria and must 
obtain excess workers’ compensation insurance 

from an authorized company. This excess insur-
ance protects the self-insured employer in the 
event of a catastrophic claim. In addition, the 
self-insured employer must have deposits with the 
Workers’ Compensation Division. These depos-
its protect injured employees in the event of the 
employer’s bankruptcy.

There are also six employer groups, combining 
more than 1,250 employers. Employers can form 
groups if the grouping of employers is likely to im-
prove accident prevention and claims handling for 
the employers. Employers who are members of the 
group are jointly liable for one another’s workers’ 
compensation claims.

Market share
Workers’ compensation market share can be deter-
mined using total system written premiums, includ-
ing the estimated premiums for self-insured em-
ployers and for large-deductible premium credits. 
In 2007, SAIF’s share of the market was 49 percent, 
the highest percentage since 1978. Over the past 
several years, the market has been at its most con-
centrated level in more than 20 years.

Although 432 private insurers were authorized to 
write workers’ compensation insurance in Oregon, 
only 178 reported positive premium written in 
2007. Private insurers, including Liberty Northwest, 
had 39 percent of the market; Liberty Northwest’s 
market share was 10 percent. Self-insured employ-
ers made up 12 percent of the market.
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Figure 33. Earned large-deductible premium credits, 1996-2007
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NOTE: SAIF Corporation reports that its 2007 writ-
ten premium amount is artifi cially infl ated due to 
a policy system conversion, which now recognizes 
annual written premium at policy inception. SAIF 
estimates that this one-time adjustment has infl ated 
2007’s written premium by $143.8 million.

Oregon Workers’ Compensation 
Insurance Plan (Assigned Risk Pool)
When the Legislature created SAIF in 1965 it 
provided that, if requested by either SAIF or the 
National Council on Compensation Insurance, 
the insurance commissioner had to promulgate an 
assigned risk plan to make workers’ compensation 
insurance available to employers unable to obtain 
coverage in the voluntary market. The law was 
amended in 1979 to implement a plan. In 1980, 
the commissioner adopted rules constituting the 
Oregon Workers’ Compensation Insurance Plan 
and establishing the state’s assigned risk pool. Cur-
rently under Oregon’s assigned risk plan, SAIF and 
Liberty Northwest act as service providers. Pre-
mium rates paid by employers for coverage refl ect 
state pure premium rates and an expense loading 
factor recommended by NCCI and subject to the 
commissioner’s approval. The National Workers’ 
Compensation Reinsurance Pool provides reinsur-
ance with the cost borne by all insurers in propor-
tion to their share of all Oregon workers’ compen-
sation premiums written.

The assigned risk pool premium was in the range 
of 3 percent to 4 percent of written premium be-
tween 1997 and 2000. The pool grew between 2000 
and 2003, becoming more than 9 percent of pre-
mium in 2003. Since then, the pool has declined 
as a percentage of written premium. Although the 
number of employers in the pool grew from 2000 
to 2005, it declined in 2006 and 2007. At the end 
of 2007, there were more than 12,000 employers 
in the pool; the pool premium was 6 percent of all 
written premium, the lowest share since 2001.

A tiered rating plan was fi rst mandated in 1991 for 
assigned risk plan employers too small to qualify 
for experience rating plans. Under the plan, small 
employers receive a premium discount. Most of 
the employers in the assigned risk plan received a 
non-experience-rated credit of 11 percent. In 1994, 
a second-tier credit was added to the assigned 
risk plan for new small businesses. The additional 
credit is for 15 percent. The tiered rating plan has 
resulted in savings in premium of about $1 million 
a year.

A major study of the Oregon Assigned Risk Plan 
(ARP) was undertaken by the Workers’ Compen-
sation Division, Insurance Division, Information 
Management Division, and the Small Business 
Ombudsman for Workers’ Compensation with 
technical expertise and guidance from the Nation-
al Council of Compensation Insurance. The study 
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Figure 34. Total system written premiums, by insurer type, 1987-2007
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report, released in 2007, found that the Oregon 
Assigned Risk Program is working well and does 
not need major changes. Recommendations were 
made in three areas:

1. Improve assigned risk plan operations and pricing.

2. Help assigned risk plan employers obtain volun-
tary market coverage where possible.

3. Improve incentives and programs that may keep 
employers from entering the plan.

HB 2250, effective Jan. 1, 2008, allows a surcharge 
to plan members to help pay the costs of assigned 
risk pool losses when they exceed premiums. Prior 
to this, when losses exceeded premiums the volun-
tary market had to make up the difference. This 
bill implements one of the recommendations from 
the ARP study. All other study recommendations 
must be implemented and evaluated before the 
plan will consider using a surcharge.

Oregon Insurance 
Guaranty Association
The Oregon Insurance Guaranty Association is an 
insurance organization that pays claims costs when 
one of its member insurers becomes insolvent. 
Membership is mandatory for all private insurers. 
The OIGA collects assessments from its insurers to 
cover these costs.

In 2003, HB 3051 changed the method for 
generating these assessments. It authorizes the 
insurers to recoup the assessments by assessing 
each policyholder an amount that is based on 
the policyholder’s premium. 
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Workers' compensation premiums and rate changes, 1987-2009

Year

Total system 
written 

premiums 
($ millions)

Annual 
change 

in written 
premium

Annual pure
premium 

rate 
changes

Cumulative 
rate 

changes 
since 1990

Workers’ compensation pure premium rates have decreased 59 
percent between 1991 and 2008. Total system written premiums 
decreased by $245.0 million between 1990 and 1999; they 
increased $585.3 million between 1999 and 2007, an annual 
growth rate of more than 8 percent.

Notes: Although self-insured employers do not pay premiums, 
the department calculates a simulated premium for each self-
insurer. Figures here include these simulated premiums. They 
also include large-deductible premium credits. 

1987 $677.0 - 14.5%
1988 735.5 8.6% 0.0%
1989 798.8 8.6% 5.2%
1990 852.6 6.7% 6.2%
1991 748.1 -12.3% -12.2% -12.2%
1992 786.1 5.1% -11.0% -21.9%
1993 739.5 -5.9% -11.4% -30.8%
1994 731.2 -1.1% -4.3% -33.7%
1995 750.3 2.6% -3.2% -35.9%
1996 743.0 -1.0% -1.8% -37.0%
1997 723.9 -2.6% -10.5% -43.6%
1998 664.0 -8.3% -15.6% -52.4%
1999 607.6 -8.5% -4.8% -54.7%
2000 615.5 1.3% -2.2% -55.7%
2001 637.0 3.5% -3.7% -57.3%
2002 728.0 14.3% -0.1% -57.4%
2003 758.4 4.2% 0.0% -57.4%
2004 859.0 13.3% 0.0% -57.4%
2005 907.5 5.6% 0.0% -57.4%
2006 982.6 8.3% 0.0% -57.4%
2007 1,192.9 21.4% -2.1% -58.3%
2008 N/A N/A -2.3% -59.2%
2009 N/A N/A -5.9% -61.6%

Workers' compensation premium rate ranking, 1986-2008
Year Rate ranking % study median Oregon’s average premium rate ranking improved from sixth 

highest in the nation with a 137 percent of study median in 1986 
to 32nd highest with an 85 percent of study median in 1994. In 
2008, the ranking was the 39th highest, 83 percent of the study 
median.

Note: The premium rate ranking is based on the manual rates in 
the 50 states applied to Oregon’s mix of occupations. The use of 
other occupational distributions will produce different rankings.

1986 6th 137%
1988 8th 142%
1990 8th 149%
1992 22nd 107%
1994 32nd 85%
1996 34th 89%
1998 38th 85%
2000 34th 85%
2002 35th 85%
2004 42nd 79%
2006 42nd 79%
2008 39th 83%

Earned large-deductible premium credits, 1996-2007

Year
Premium credits 

($ millions)
% of private insurer 

written premium
Earned large-deductible premium credits are credits on 
employers’ workers’ compensation premium. Participating 
employers repay insurers their claims costs up to the deductible 
amounts. The use of these credits grew rapidly through 2002, 
then stayed roughly the same through 2004, after which rapid 
growth started again. In 2007, these credits were equal to 21 
percent of private insurers’ written premium.

1996 $0.6 0.2%
1997 9.3 2.5%
1998 16.2 4.6%
1999 24.4 7.5%
2000 20.9 6.8%
2001 37.7 12.0%
2002 54.8 16.8%
2003 54.4 16.8%
2004 50.8 14.3%
2005 60.3 16.9%
2006 79.8 20.1%
2007 96.8 21.0%
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Workers' compensation market share, by insurer type, 1995-2007

Year SAIF Private insurers
Self-insured 
employers

In 2007, as measured by total system written premiums, SAIF had 
49 percent of the market. Private insurers’ share was 39 percent. 
The largest private insurer, Liberty Northwest, had 10 percent of 
the market and 25 percent of the private insurer market.

Note: SAIF Corporation reports that its 2007 written premium 
amount is artifi cially infl ated due to a policy system conversion, 
which now recognizes annual written premium at policy inception. 
SAIF estimates that this one-time adjustment has infl ated 2007’s 
written premium by $143.8 million.

1995 33.2% 50.4% 16.3%
1996 32.6% 50.4% 17.0%
1997 30.9% 52.3% 16.8%
1998 31.0% 53.2% 15.8%
1999 31.4% 53.7% 14.9%
2000 35.7% 50.2% 14.0%
2001 37.2% 49.3% 13.5%
2002 41.7% 44.9% 13.4%
2003 42.5% 42.8% 14.7%
2004 44.3% 41.4% 14.3%
2005 46.1% 39.3% 14.6%
2006 45.8% 40.4% 13.9%
2007 49.4% 38.7% 11.9%

SAIF Corporation fi nancial characteristics, 1995-2007

Year

Total system 
written premiums 

($ millions)
Loss 
ratio

Expense
loading
factors

Dividends
($ millions)

SAIF’s written premium grew by about 13 percent per year 
between 1999 and 2006. Starting with 2007, SAIF changed its 
DPW calculation method from arrears based to total estimated at 
policy inception. This caused a large one-time jump in 2007.

SAIF’s loss ratio (incurred losses divided by earned premiums) 
was 86.4 percent. 

SAIF’s expense loading factor covers operating expenses, 
taxes, profi t, and contingencies. This factor is multiplied by the 
pure premium rate to the employer’s payroll to determine gross 
premium. The 2007 factor was 1.211.

Between 1998 and 2000, SAIF paid $492 million in dividends. 
Little had been paid until the $60.0 million of 2007. The 2002 
negative dividend fi gure represents uncashed dividend checks 
credited back to SAIF.

1995 249.3 82.4 1.206 80.2
1996 242.2 125.6 1.200 50.1
1997 223.6 66.6 1.193 69.8
1998 205.7 40.6 1.130 121.1
1999 191.0 140.4 1.097 211.5
2000 220.0 166.2 1.103 159.4
2001 237.0 94.5 1.108 0.1
2002 303.4 108.9 1.129 -0.6
2003 322.0 109.5 1.149 0.2
2004 380.2 123.3 1.203 2.0
2005 418.3 65.8 1.204 0.0
2006 449.8 92.9 1.208 0.0
2007 588.9 86.4 1.211 60.0

Private insurers' fi nancial characteristics, 1995-2007

Year

Total system 
written premiums 

($ millions)
Loss 
ratio

Expense
loading
factors

Dividends
($ millions)

Private insurers’ written premium jumped 16 percent in 2007. It 
had been growing by about 5 percent per year since 2000. The 
2007 premium was $461.9 million.

The loss ratio for all private insurers was 69.7 percent in 2007, 
lower than the average of the six previous years.

Each private insurer develops an expense loading factor to cover 
operating expenses, taxes, profi t, and contingencies. These 
factors are multiplied by the pure premium rate to the employer’s 
payroll to determine gross premium. The average 2007 factor was 
1.413, unchanged from 2006.

Over the past fi ve years, private insurers have paid back less than 
1 percent of written premium in dividends.

1995 378.4 68.2 1.269 12.5
1996 374.8 66.8 1.207 10.3
1997 378.4 62.2 1.213 9.4
1998 353.6 71.3 1.232 10.3
1999 326.0 69.4 1.216 11.6
2000 309.1 78.4 1.238 10.3
2001 314.0 88.7 1.272 8.4
2002 327.0 66.7 1.349 6.0
2003 324.7 91.2 1.384 3.1
2004 355.7 88.0 1.382 2.6
2005 356.7 83.2 1.423 1.4
2006 396.7 81.1 1.413 2.2
2007 461.9 69.7 1.413 1.9
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WC insurance plan (Assigned Risk Pool) characteristics, 1987-2007

Year
Covered 

employers
Pool premium 

($ millions)
Percent of 

written premium
After declining during the late 1990s, the Assigned Risk Pool grew 
rapidly between 2000 and 2003, from 3 percent to 9 percent of 
the total premium. Although the number of employers in the pool 
has stayed roughly constant for 2004 through 2007, pool premium 
as a percentage of written premium has declined.

1987 1,935 $19.4 3.4%
1988 1,872 20.1 3.3%
1989 3,658 28.8 4.2%
1990 12,765 71.9 9.8%
1991 11,970 71.7 11.4%
1992 12,140 50.2 7.7%
1993 16,056 48.6 8.0%
1994 18,008 53.1 8.7%
1995 17,982 49.1 7.9%
1996 13,627 34.5 5.6%
1997 12,771 24.7 4.2%
1998 11,369 21.3 3.8%
1999 9,739 17.3 3.4%
2000 7,414 16.5 3.2%
2001 8,533 25.2 4.9%
2002 10,981 42.4 7.4%
2003 12,421 55.6 9.4%
2004 12,761 57.5 8.4%
2005 13,054 58.9 8.2%
2006 12,799 59.4 7.7%
2007 12,023 55.6 5.8%
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Workers’ Benefi t Fund 
The Workers’ Benefi t Fund provides funds for a 
number of programs that assist employers and in-
jured workers. HB 2044 in 1995 created the WBF 
and altered the structure of the workers’ compen-
sation accounts. Effective Jan. 1, 1996, the WBF 
contains these former workers’ compensation 
reserves that are now considered WBF programs: 
Re-employment Assistance, Workers with Disabili-
ties, Reopened Claims, and Retroactive programs. 
WBF assessment revenue funds these programs 
with employers and workers each paying one-
half the assessment. The WBF assessment rate is 
currently set at 2.8 cents per hour, unchanged 
since Jan. 1, 2007. The WBF also includes the 
Noncomplying Employer (NCE) and Rehabilita-
tion programs. Formerly, these programs were 
included within the Workers’ Compensation Pre-
mium Assessment Operating Account (PAOA), a 
major account of the DCBS Fund. Fund transfers 
are made quarterly from the PAOA to the WBF 
to cover the net expenditures for the NCE and 
Rehabilitation programs. 

Before the passage of SB 484 during the 1997 leg-
islative session, WBF assessment rates were set so 
that the fi scal-year ending fund balance would be 
approximately two quarters of expenditures and 

rate volatility would be minimized. SB 484 altered 
the minimum balance to four quarters of expen-
ditures. The bill’s language was set to expire at 
the end of calendar year 1999, but SB 213 in 1999 
made the fund balance change permanent for the 
assessment-funded programs. 

In 2001, Senate Bill 485 added a new component 
to the WBF; it allowed wages from multiple jobs to 
be considered in time-loss computations. Previ-
ously, only the wages from the job at injury could 
be used. This provision was effective for claims for 
injuries since Jan. 1, 2002. A new program was es-
tablished within the WBF to report expenditures 
associated with SB 485 multiple jobs. 

Beginning July 1, 2001, the WBF began funding 
a portion of the DCBS operating costs associated 
with the administration of WBF programs. The de-
partment’s fi scal year 2008 budget includes a trans-
fer of $3.6 million from the WBF to the PAOA for 
the reimbursement of administrative costs. This 
effectively reduced some of the cost burden on the 
PAOA for administering WBF programs. 

The 2005 Legislature, in SB 386 and SB 119, pro-
vided that insurers pay vocational assistance ben-
efi ts and permanent total disability benefi ts while 

Figure 35. Workers' Benefit Fund expenditures and transfers,
FY 2008
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workers are appealing the denial of these benefi ts. 
In cases where insurers’ denials are upheld, the 
WBF is now used to reimburse the insurers’ costs.

Workers with Disabilities Program 
(formerly known as Handicapped 
Workers’ Program)
Senate Bill 1197, passed during the 1990 special 
session, increased the level of incentives offered 
under the Re-employment Assistance Program 
and phased out the Handicapped Workers’ Pro-
gram (now known as Workers with Disabilities 
Program in accord with SB 183, passed during 
the 2007 legislative session). No new applications 
were accepted after May 1, 1990, and program 
expenditures have been slowly declining. Nev-
ertheless, more than $673,000 was paid in fi scal 
year 2008, and expenses on existing claims will be 
incurred for years to come. 

Rehabilitation Assistance Program
The Rehabilitation Assistance Program was cre-
ated to reimburse providers for vocational as-
sistance services and to pay temporary disability 
compensation during vocational training. It is 
limited to claims for injuries that occurred prior 
to Jan. 1, 1986. There were no expenditures from 
fi scal year 2000 through the third quarter of fi scal 
year 2004. However, SAIF submitted requests for 
reimbursement under this program for fi scal years 
2004-2006. Some intermittent payments may oc-
cur from this program in the future. 

Re-employment Assistance Program
The Re-employment Assistance Program was 
developed to provide incentives for returning 
injured workers to jobs. The major incentive pro-
grams currently available are the Preferred Work-
er Program and the Employer-at-Injury Program. 
It also includes several other programs. 

The Preferred Worker Program is designed to 
assist injured workers who suffer a permanent 
disability and who are unable to return to regular 
work. Under the program, if an injured worker is 
hired as a preferred worker and has a new injury 
during the fi rst three years of re-employment, 
then the Re-employment Assistance Program pays 
the claims costs, including the administrative 
costs. The program also pays wage subsidies, di-
rect employment purchases, and worksite modifi -
cations. In fi scal year 2008, $8.7 million was spent 
on the Preferred Worker Program. 

The Employer-at-Injury Program provides incen-
tives for employers that return workers to the 
job prior to claim closure. Since 1995, employers 
with injured workers who have either disabling or 
nondisabling claims can use the program. Work-
ers who have not been released to regular work 
but can return to light-duty, transitional jobs are 
eligible. Expenditures totaled $15.5 million in fi s-
cal year 2008. 

The Re-employment Assistance Program also 
provides money to the Oregon Health and Science 
University Center for Research on Occupational 
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Figure 36. Oregon WBF (Cents-Per-Hour) assessment rate,
1986-2009
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and Environmental Toxicology. Of the 2.8 cents per 
hour assessment, 1/16 of a cent is paid to CROET, 
which totaled $1.7 million in fi scal year 2008.

SB 119, passed during the 2005 legislative session, 
provides payments from the WBF to the Depart-
ment of Human Services, Offi ce of Vocational 
Rehabilitation Services for the injured worker job 
placement program. Transfers to DHS totaled 
$67,200 in fi scal year 2008. 

Retroactive Assistance Program
The Retroactive Assistance Program, the largest 
WBF program, pays benefi t increases to workers 
or their benefi ciaries to account for changes in 
average wages. In fi scal year 2008, the program 
had $54.1 million in expenditures. 

Effective Oct. 1, 2008, the Retroactive Assistance 
Program benefi ts increased 4.9 percent for work-
ers’ injuries prior to July 1, 2007. The maximum 
PTD benefi t remained at 90 percent of the aver-
age weekly wage. This decision gives those workers 
who were injured prior to July 1, 2007, a cost-of-
living adjustment. The benefi t decisions also in-
cluded the fatal benefi t increase mandated by SB 
369 (1995) for surviving spouses without children 
and the administrative decision to grant a similar 
increase to surviving spouses with children, effec-
tive Oct. 1, 1996. 

Reopened Claims Program
This program was created by the 1987 Legisla-
ture to fund payments authorized by the Work-
ers’ Compensation Board for claims reopened 
more than fi ve years after their fi rst closure. The 
program reimburses temporary-disability and 
medical-benefi t costs for claimants with injuries 
prior to Jan. 1, 1966. Claimants with more recent 
injuries are reimbursed for temporary-disability 
costs. In addition, provisions in SB 485 (2001) 
permit the Workers’ Compensation Board to 
grant permanent partial disability benefi ts for new 
or omitted medical conditions. In fi scal year 2008, 
the program had $3.9 million in expenditures.

Noncomplying Employer Program
The department is responsible for enforcing the 
laws and rules related to employer workers’ com-
pensation coverage. An employer who violates 
the law by not having workers’ compensation 
insurance is called a noncomplying employer. 
The department pays the costs of injured workers 
employed by noncomplying employers. It then 
recovers claims costs from those employers and 
levies monetary penalties against them. A transfer 
from the Premium Assessment Operating Account 
fi nances the remaining program expenditures. In 
fi scal year 2008, the program had $5.0 million in 
net expenditures.
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Table 1 - Workers’ Benefi t Fund 
revenues and expenditures, FY 2008

Revenues FY 2008

Assessments1 $75,593,938 
Investment income 8,748,531 
Fines and penalties 1,552,831 
Other income 325,603 
Noncomplying Employer Program2 5,081,721 
Total $91,302,624 
Expenditures

Workers with Disabilities Program $673,443 
Noncomplying Employer Program 6,341,363 
Re-employment Assistance Program3 25,844,396 
Rehabilitation Program 0 
Reopened Claims Program 3,863,983 
Retroactive Program 54,128,492 
SB 485 Multiple Wage Jobs 916,670 
Other agency WBF collection costs4 428,548 
Shared services chargeback5 1,066,733 
Total $93,263,628 
Transfers

NCE/Rehabilitation6 $1,366,604 
WBF administrative cost7 (3,560,481)
Bureau of Labor and Industries8 (310,000)
Department of Human Services9 (67,200)
Transfer out – other10 (124)
Total ($2,571,201)

Net cash fl ow ($4,532,205)

Ending fund balance $164,123,246

 1 The WBF assessment rate is 2.8 cents effective January 1, 2007. 
 2 Noncomplying Employer Program revenues includes NCE recoveries, NCE fi nes and penalties, and NCE interest.
 3 OHSU/CROET transfers and/or expenditures are equal to 1/16 cent per worker per hour and are included with total Re-employment expenditures.
 4 Expenditures paid to other state agencies for collection of WBF assessment rate revenue.
 5 This represents the indirect portion of the WBF Administrative Cost and is refl ected as an expenditure.
 6 Net NCE/Rehab expenditures are transferred from the Premium Assessment Operating Account.
 7 Quarterly transfer from the WBF to the PAOA to cover direct costs associated with WBF programs.
 8 In accord with the legislatively approved budget for 2007-2009, a transfer of $310,000 was made to the Bureau of Labor and Industries in FY 2008.
 9 This represents the indirect portion of the WBF Administrative Cost and is refl ected as an expenditure.
 10 Transfers to the Department of Human Services for costs related to injured worker assistance programs in accord with SB 119.

Column detail may not add to totals due to rounding.
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Workers with Disabilities and Rehabilitation Assistance Program expenditures, FY 1987-2008

Fiscal year

Workers with 
Disabilities Program 

($ millions)

Rehabilitation Assistance 
Program 

($ millions)

The Workers with Disabilities Program (SB 183, passed 
during the 2007 legislative session, changed the name of the 
Handicapped Workers’ Program to the Workers with Disabilities 
Program) was created by the Legislature in 1981. It provides 
reimbursement to employers or insurers for costs in excess of 
$1,000 for injuries suffered or caused by previously disabled 
workers. SB 1197, enacted during the 1990 special session, 
restricted the Handicapped Worker Program to cases for which 
application for reimbursement had been made prior to May 1, 
1990. The program paid $0.7 million in FY 2008.

The Rehabilitation Assistance Program was created to pay 
for vocational assistance services and temporary disability 
compensation during vocational training. It is limited to claims for 
injuries prior to Jan. 1, 1986. There had been no expenditures 
from this program since the fi rst quarter of FY 2000. In the last 
quarter of FY 2004, however, SAIF requested reimbursement for 
three claimants under this program and a small amount was paid. 
The program reimbursed SAIF $40,000 in FY 2005 and $4,556 
in FY 2006. There were no payments in FY 2007 or FY 2008, but 
there may be additional small payments in the future.

1987 $9.8 $30.4
1988 12.1 17.8
1989 11.8 11.0
1990 10.7 5.1
1991 9.0 4.3
1992 6.4 2.0
1993 4.5 1.2
1994 3.8 0.7
1995 2.6 -0.1
1996 1.8 0.5
1997 2.1 0.0
1998 2.0 0.0
1999 2.2 0.0
2000 1.7 0.0
2001 1.3 0.0
2002 1.3 0.0
2003 1.4 0.0
2004 1.6 0.0
2005 0.5 0.0
2006 0.7 0.0
2007 0.6 0.0
2008 0.7 0.0

Re-employment Assistance Program expenditures, FY 1991-2008

Fiscal year
Re-employment Assistance Program

($ millions)
The Re-employment Assistance Program funds employment 
incentives through the Preferred Worker and Employer-at-Injury 
programs. 

Re-employment Assistance Program expenditures peaked at 
$33.3 million in FY 1997. Part of the reduction can be attributed to 
a reduction in the number of PPD claims. With few exceptions, a 
worker must have a PPD award to be eligible for benefi ts from the 
Preferred Worker Program.

Total Re-employment Assistance Program expenditures refl ect 
certain programmatic costs that are not explicitly identifi ed in 
the detailed Re-employment Assistance Program tables below. 
The expenditures shown are net Re-employment Assistance 
Program expenditures, which means they include transfers-in and 
transfers-out.

1991 $7.6
1992 9.1
1993 10.5
1994 15.4
1995 18.6
1996 25.1
1997 33.3
1998 28.8
1999 29.3
2000 26.4
2001 28.9
2002 20.5
2003 17.1
2004 19.6
2005 18.6
2006 20.2
2007 22.0
2008 25.9
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Expenditures for the Preferred Worker portion of the Re-employment Assistance Program, FY 1991-2008

Fiscal 
year

Wage 
subsidy

($ millions)

Worksite 
modifi cation
($ millions)

Obtained 
employment 
purchases
($ millions)

Claim cost 
reimbursements

($ millions)

The Preferred Worker Program was created by HB 2900 in 1987. 
It provides assistance opportunities for many injured workers with 
PPD awards who have not returned to regular work. Expenditures 
for the program were $8.7 million in FY 2008. 

Benefi ts of the program include wage subsidy, worksite 
modifi cations, and payment for items needed for employment, 
such as tools. The program also reimburses insurers for claims 
costs if the worker suffers a new injury.

1991 $3.1 $0.7 $0.1 $0.0
1992 3.2 1.9 0.1 0.4
1993 2.8 2.0 0.1 1.1
1994 3.5 2.8 0.3 1.9
1995 3.7 2.5 0.3 2.6
1996 3.8 2.7 0.5 3.1
1997 4.9 3.1 0.6 3.2
1998 4.4 3.4 0.7 3.2
1999 4.6 2.6 0.6 3.7
2000 3.8 2.3 0.4 3.4
2001 3.9 2.0 0.3 3.0
2002 2.9 1.9 0.3 3.1
2003 2.7 1.7 0.2 2.4
2004 3.1 2.2 0.2 2.7
2005 3.0 2.3 0.2 2.0
2006 2.7 2.4 0.3 2.2
2007 3.0 2.3 0.2 2.1
2008 3.5 2.3 0.4 2.5

Expenditures for the other components of the Re-employment Assistance Program, FY 1991-2008

Fiscal 
year

Employer-at- 
Injury Program

($ millions)
CROET

($ millions)

Vocational 
rehabilitation 

services
($ millions)

The Employer-at-Injury Program is available to employers with 
injured workers who have not been released to regular work but 
who can return to light-duty jobs. In 1995, SB 369 expanded the 
program to cover workers with nondisabling claims. This led to 
increased expenditures. 

In accord with ORS 656.630, a portion of WBF assessment 
revenue is paid to the OHSU Center for Research on 
Occupational and Environmental Toxicology for payment of 
operational expenses.

SB 119 (2005) provides payments to the Department of Human 
Services, Offi ce of Vocational Rehabilitation Services from the 
WBF for the injured worker job placement program.

1994 $1.8 $1.3 -
1995 3.9 1.4 -
1996 5.3 2.2 -
1997 10.1 3.2 -
1998 9.9 1.7 -
1999 11.6 1.5 -
2000 10.4 1.4 -
2001 10.6 1.6 -
2002 10.4 1.6 -
2003 8.4 1.6 -
2004 9.6 1.6 -
2005 9.4 1.6 -
2006 10.9 1.6 $0.10
2007 12.5 1.7 0.05
2008 15.5 1.7 0.07
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Noncomplying Employer, Reopened Claims, and Retroactive Assistance Program expenditures, FY 1991-2008

Fiscal 
year

Noncomplying 
Employer 
Program

($ millions)

Reopened 
Claims 

Program
($ millions)

Retroactive 
Assistance 
Program

($ millions)

Under Oregon law, people who are injured while working for a NCE 
have the same right to medical care and compensation as do other 
workers. Claims for employees of NCEs are sent to DCBS by either 
workers or their attorneys when they want to recover medical costs 
or time-loss wages. Noncomplying Program expenditures peaked 
in 1993 at $6.9 million. The expenditures shown since 1996 are net 
NCE Program expenditures, which means they include transfers-
in and transfers-out from the Premium Assessment Operating 
Account. Over the past three years, net expenditures have 
averaged $5.2 million, which is a substantial increase from the 
average level of $3.5 million seen from 1998-2005. Johnston and 
Culbertson Inc. has handled NCE claims since Aug. 1, 1998.

The Reopened Claims Program was established by the 1987 
Legislature and provides reimbursement to insurers, self-insured 
employers, and self-insured employer groups for costs arising from 
specifi c claim costs associated with board’s own-motion orders. 
Expenditures from the Reopened Claims Program were $5.0 
million in FY 2005, the highest level in the history of the program. 
FY 2003-FY 2008 expenditures include additional costs to this 
program occasioned by SB 485.

The Retroactive Program provides increased benefi ts to workers 
or their benefi ciaries for benefi t levels that are lower than current 
benefi ts. Expenditures peaked in 1999 and 2002 at $66.3 million. 
Increases in program expenditures are attributable mainly to 
growth in the average weekly wage, which drives the annual 
benefi t level increase. However, reduced expenditures in recent 
years are a function of a reduction in the pool of benefi ciaries due 
to lower claim volume and stricter acceptance criteria.

1991 $6.7 $4.2 $43.8
1992 6.7 4.1 45.4
1993 6.9 3.8 47.4
1994 6.8 3.4 48.5
1995 5.5 3.9 50.2
1996 0.9 2.7 54.5
1997 4.8 3.6 60.1
1998 3.5 3.9 61.3
1999 3.5 3.4 66.3
2000 3.3 4.1 63.2
2001 2.7 3.6 64.6
2002 3.3 3.9 66.3
2003 2.8 4.0 64.0
2004 2.8 4.2 59.0
2005 3.7 5.0 56.3
2006 4.8 4.6 56.8
2007 5.9 4.7 57.0
2008 5.0 3.9 54.1

Multiple Wage Job Program expenditures, FY 2002-2008

Fiscal year
Multiple Wage Jobs Program

($ millions)
Expenditures for the Multiple Wage Jobs Program arise from 
SB 485, passed in 2001. It provides payment of supplemental 
temporary disability benefi ts for workers employed in more than 
one job at the time of injury. It also reimburses the administrative 
costs of handling these payments.

2002 $0.00
2003 0.28
2004 0.53
2005 0.66
2006 0.75
2007 0.95
2008 0.92



92

BIENNIAL REPORT ON THE OREGON WORKERS’ COMPENSATION SYSTEM  ■  December 2008

Workers’ Compensation Premium Assessment 
Much of the regulation of the Oregon workers’ 
compensation system is funded by an assessment 
on workers’ compensation premium. The assess-
ment revenue is collected from insurers based on 
workers’ compensation premiums earned in Or-
egon. (For self-insured employers and self-insured 
employer groups, the assessment is based on a 
simulated premium calculated by the department.) 
The revenue is deposited into the Premium Assess-
ment Operating Account. The PAOA is also funded 
in part by some fi nes and penalties, federal grant 
monies, investment income, other miscellaneous 
revenue, and a transfer of funds from the Workers’ 
Benefi t Fund to reimburse some of the WBF ad-
ministrative costs. The fund is used to pay for many 
of the operations of the Workers’ Compensation 
Division, Workers’ Compensation Board, Oregon 
OSHA, some of the Insurance Division’s duties, the 
Director’s Offi ce, and the department’s support 
divisions. Senate Bill 592 in 1999 established the 
current rules for setting the assessment rate. 

Since January 2007, the assessment rate for insur-
ers is 4.6 percent of premium. For self-insured em-
ployers and self-insured employer groups, it is 4.8 
percent. The rate for self-insured employers and 
self-insured employer groups is higher than that 

for insurers in order to fully fund the Self-Insured 
Employer Adjustment Reserve and the Self-Insured 
Employer Group Adjustment Reserve.

The 2007-2009 rates are the lowest since the period 
1988-1997, when the rates were lowered to draw 
down the PAOA fund balance. The fund is man-
aged to meet the cash-fl ow needs of the account, 
accommodate the timing of receipts and expendi-
tures, ensure stable funding for legislatively ap-
proved programs and services, and minimize the 
volatility of fees and assessments. The department’s 
current policy is to slowly draw down the fund with-
out rate volatility until the ending balance approxi-
mates six to 12 months of expenditures. 

In fi scal year 2008, there were $58.7 million in 
expenditures and transfers from the PAOA. $47.5 
million was gathered through premium assess-
ment. In addition, $3.6 million was earned in 
investment income, $1.7 million was collected in 
fi nes and penalties, $1.9 million in other revenue 
that includes a settlement payment of $1.2 million 
from American International Group (AIG), and 
$5.6 million was received in federal funds. The 
fund also received money transferred to the ac-
count from other accounts and transferred money 
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Figure 37. Workers' compensation premium assessment rate, insurers, 1986-2009
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to the Workers’ Benefi t Fund to pay for the Non-
complying Employer Program. Also, $1.7 million 
was paid to Oregon Health and Science University 
for its Center for Research on Occupational and 
Environmental Toxicology. The money paid from 
the PAOA essentially matches the money paid to 
OHSU from the WBF. 

Three bills from the 2003 Legislature affected the 
PAOA in fi scal year 2004. House Bill 2148 and HB 
5077 required the transfer of $18.2 million from 
the PAOA to the state’s general fund. HB 3630 
required that SAIF create a reinsurance program 
for rural physicians. This program reimburses 

some of the cost of these physicians’ medical li-
ability costs. As originally created, the program was 
to run during 2004-2007. However, SB 183, passed 
during the 2007 legislative session, extended the 
program through calendar year 2011. SAIF must 
pay the costs of the program, but it can reduce its 
assessments paid to the PAOA by $40 million over 
the duration of the program and cannot exceed an 
average of $5 million per year for the eight years 
of the program. SAIF’s assessments were reduced 
by $5.6 million in fi scal 2008 and it has used $22.2 
million of the $40 million allowable, with an aver-
age assessment credit of $4.4 million per fi scal year. 
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Table 2 - Premium Assessment Operating Account 
revenues and expenditures, FY 2008

Revenues FY 2008

Assessments1 $47,538,717 
Fines and penalties $1,732,538 
Investment income $3,638,624 
Federal funds $5,552,742 
Other2 $1,879,096 
SAIF reinsurance pool credit3 ($5,590,022)

Total $54,751,695 

Expenditures

Administration4 $65,098,978 
Self-insured employer reserve $363,077 
Chargeback5 ($6,785,093)
Oregon Health Sciences University6 $1,678,823 

Total $60,355,785 

Adjustments/transfers

Noncomplying employer7 ($1,366,604)
Insurance Division8 ($159,090)
WBF administrative expenses9 $3,560,481 
BOLI transfer10 ($174,000)
Miscellaneous transfers/adjustments11 ($211,355)

Total $1,649,432 

Net cash fl ow ($3,954,658)

Ending fund balance $74,706,132

For the purposes of this analysis, self-insured employer reserves are included in the Premium Assessment Operating Account.

 1 The premium assessment rate was 4.6 percent effective since 1/1/2007.
 2 The category of “Other” includes a $1.2 million payment from AIG.
 3  Annual premium assessment credit for SAIF in accordance with Section 781, Oregon Laws 2003 (HB 3630) and amended by Chapter 574, Oregon 

Laws 2007 (SB 183).
 4 Includes Department and Board administrative costs, expenditures of Federal funds, capital outlay, and Shared Services costs.
 5 Chargeback expenditures refl ect Central Support chargeback recoveries, from non-PAOA account, DCBS entities. Chargeback expenditures also 

include indirect costs from the WBF. 
 6 OHSU/CROET transfers and/or expenditures are equal to 1/16 cent per worker per hour.
 7 Net noncomplying employer expenditures are transferred to/from the Workers’ Benefi t Fund. 
 8 Transfer to the Insurance Division in the fi rst quarter of each fi scal year to help fund workers’ compensation activities.
 9 Quarterly transfer from the WBF to the PAOA to cover direct administrative costs associated with WBF programs.
 10 Quarterly transfer to the Bureau of Labor and Industries. 
 11 Miscellaneous transfers and adjustments are from actual quarterly fi nancial statements.

Column detail may not add to totals due to rounding.
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Premium assessment rates, 1986-2009
Calendar 

year Insurers
Self-insured 
employers

Self-insured 
employer groups

For insurers, the premium assessment rate is a percentage of 
workers’ compensation premiums earned in Oregon. For self-
insured employers, it is a percentage of the simulated premium 
that the department calculates for each self-insured employer.

The rates for 1988-1997 and again in 2007-2009 were set low in 
order to draw down the PAOA balance. 

The 2006-2009 rate for self-insured employers and self-insured 
employer groups is 0.2 percent higher than for insurers to fully 
fund the Self-Insured Employer Adjustment Reserve and Self-
Insured Employer Group Adjustment Reserve. 

1986 12.0% - -
1987 7.0% 7.2% 7.2%
1988 5.5% 5.5% 5.7%
1989 5.5% 5.5% 5.7%
1990 4.5% 4.5% 4.7%
1991 4.5% 4.5% 4.7%
1992 4.5% 4.5% 4.7%
1993 4.5% 4.5% 4.7%
1994 4.5% 4.5% 4.7%
1995 4.5% 4.5% 4.7%
1996 4.5% 4.5% 4.7%
1997 4.5% 4.5% 4.7%
1998 7.3% 7.3% 7.5%
1999 7.3% 7.3% 7.5%
2000 7.3% 7.3% 7.5%
2001 7.3% 7.3% 7.5%
2002 8.0% 8.0% 8.2%
2003 8.0% 8.0% 8.2%
2004 7.0% 7.0% 7.2%
2005 6.8% 7.0% 7.0%
2006 5.5% 5.7% 5.7%
2007 4.6% 4.8% 4.8%
2008 4.6% 4.8% 4.8%
2009 4.6% 4.8% 4.8%

Premium Assessment Operating Account expenditures, with funding sources, FY 1986-2008

Fiscal 
year

Expendi-
tures

($ millions)

Assessment 
revenue and 

other revenue
($ millions)

Investment 
income

($ millions)

Fund 
balance 

draw down
($ millions)

In fi scal year 2008, $58.7 million was spent from the PAOA to 
regulate the workers’ compensation system. 

Also in FY 2004, HB 2148 and HB 5077 required the transfer 
of $18.2 million from the PAOA to the state’s general fund. HB 
3630 required that SAIF create a reinsurance program for rural 
physicians. This program reimburses some of the cost of these 
physicians’ medical liability costs. SB 183, passed during the 
2007 legislative session, extended the program through calendar 
year 2011. SAIF must pay the costs of the program, but it can 
reduce its assessments paid to the PAOA by $40 million over this 
period. SAIF’s assessments were reduced by $5.6 million in FY 
2008. The assessment revenue and other revenue shown is net 
of SAIF’s assessment reductions. 

1986 $64.8 $61.7 $3.1 $0.0
1987 59.4 55.5 3.9 0.0
1988 53.2 48.9 4.3 0.0
1989 45.2 40.6 4.6 0.0
1990 42.0 35.0 7.0 0.0
1991 48.9 41.5 7.4 0.0
1992 48.6 43.1 5.5 0.0
1993 49.7 43.4 4.6 1.7
1994 51.0 42.2 5.0 3.9
1995 51.0 42.7 5.7 2.6
1996 54.7 41.2 7.2 6.3
1997 53.0 38.7 4.3 10.0
1998 48.9 39.7 2.4 6.8
1999 51.8 49.7 2.1 0.0
2000 56.6 49.7 2.3 4.6
2001 56.3 49.9 3.3 3.0
2002 52.6 51.0 1.6 0.0
2003 51.1 49.6 1.5 0.0
2004 53.2 47.2 1.8 4.1
2005 52.5 50.2 2.3 0.0
2006 52.4 49.3 3.2 0.0
2007 55.4 51.5 3.9 0.0
2008 58.7 51.1 3.6 4.0
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Premium Assessment Operating Account year-end balance, FY 1986-2008

Fiscal year
Ending balance

 ($ millions)
At the end of fi scal year 2008, the Premium Assessment 
Operating Account had a balance of $74.7 million. The PAOA 
is managed to meet the cash fl ow needs of the account, 
accommodate the timing of receipts and expenditures, ensure 
stable funding for legislatively approved programs and services, 
and minimize the volatility of fees and assessments. The 
department’s current policy is to slowly draw down the fund 
without rate volatility until the ending balance is approximately 
equal to six months of expenditures. 

1986 $27.9
1987 43.8
1988 46.3
1989 50.1
1990 61.2
1991 67.1
1992 68.1
1993 66.4
1994 62.5
1995 60.0
1996 53.6
1997 43.6
1998 36.8
1999 41.3
2000 36.8
2001 33.8
2002 39.0
2003 55.5
2004 51.4
2005 59.5
2006 72.5
2007 78.7
2008 74.7
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Appendices
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Appendix 1 - Workers’ Compensation Reform Legislation
Major legislative reform of the Oregon workers’ compensation system began during the 1987 legislative ses-
sion. A chronology of important legislative changes since then is provided below.

Safety and Health
1987
654.086 Increased penalties against employers who 
violate the state safety and health act. (HB 2900)

654.090 (4) Expanded the purposes of ORS Chap-
ter 654 to promote more effective safety and health 
educational efforts. (HB 2900)

654.097 Required insurers and self-insured employ-
ers to provide safety and health loss-prevention 
consultative programs that conform to department 
standards. (HB 2900)

1989
654.191 and 705.145 Established the Occupa-
tional Safety and Health Grant program to fund 
organizations and associations to develop train-
ing programs for employees in safe employment 
practices. (HB 2982)

1990
654.176 (1) Required that all employers with more 
than 10 employees establish a safety and health 
committee. The legislation also required that 
employers with 10 or fewer employees establish 
safety committees if the employer has had a lost 
workday cases incidence rate in the top 10 percent 
of all rates for employers in the same industry or is 
subject to a premium classifi cation in the highest 
25 percent of premium rates. (SB 1197)

1991
654.086 Mandated penalty increases to federal 
maximums against employers who violate occupa-
tional safety and health standards. (HB 3017)

1995
654.154 (1) Exempted small agricultural employers 
(10 or fewer employees) meeting certain criteria 
from scheduled inspections by Oregon OSHA. (HB 
3019) (Now 654.172)

654.176 (1) Exempted small agricultural employers 
(10 or fewer employees) from Oregon OSHA safety 
committee requirements unless the employer has a 
lost workday cases incidence rate in the top 10 per-
cent of all rates for employers in the same industry. 
(HB 2541)

656.622 Established a Worksite Redesign Program, 
including engineering design work and occupa-
tional health consulting services, to prevent the 
recurrence of on-the-job injuries. (SB 369) (This 
program’s funding was eliminated by the 2001 
Legislature by removing the funds from the depart-
ment’s budget in SB 5507.)

1997
656.796 This section was repealed, and the State 
Advisory Council on Occupational Safety and 
Health was abolished. (SB 135)

658.790 Transferred enforcement authority of the 
law from the Bureau of Labor and Industries to the 
department. Required farmworker camp operators 
to provide seven days of housing in the event of 
camp closure by a government agency. (SB 38)

1999
654.005 Exempted corporate farms from safety and 
health requirements when the farm’s only employ-
ees are family members. (HB 2402)

654.003, 654.035, 654.067, and 654.071 Provided 
that Oregon OSHA schedule inspections by pre-
dominantly focusing resources on the most unsafe 
places of employment. (HB 2830)

2001
654.086 (4) & (5) and 658.815 (1) Established a 
Farmworker Housing Development Account and 
directed that money collected from civil penalties 
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imposed for the nonregistration of farmworker 
camps be put in the account. The purpose of the 
account is to expand the state’s supply of housing 
for low-income farmworkers. (HB 3573)

Chapter 625, 2001 laws Amended tax law to trans-
fer the administration of the Farmworker Housing 
Tax Credit from Oregon OSHA to the Oregon 
Department of Housing and Community Services. 
(HB 3172)

Chapter 635, 2001 laws Amended tax law to make 
the Farmworker Housing Construction Tax Pro-
gram permanent. Also amended the program. 
(HB 3173)

2003
654.035 (2) Revised the authority for the director 
to adopt rules, regulations, codes, or special orders 
related to worker safety for construction involving 
steel erection. Prohibited the director from requir-
ing the use of fall protection for workers engaged 
in certain steel erection activities at heights lower 
than the fall protection trigger heights for steel 
erection required by federal regulation. (HB 3010)

2005
654.035 (1)(d) Removed the accepted disabling 
claims rate as one of the criteria used by Oregon 
OSHA when identifying employers who will receive 
notifi cation of the increased likelihood of having a 
workplace safety inspection. Provided the director 
with the authority to determine which industries 
and workplaces are most unsafe and should receive 
this notifi cation. (HB 2093)

2007
654.176(2), 654.182, and 654.182 (1)(f) Elimi-
nated the 10-employee threshold from statute and 
replaced the safety committee requirement with a 
requirement for all employers to have safety com-
mittees or use safety meetings under rules adopted 
by DCBS. The bill requires appropriate consider-

ation for the unique circumstances of agriculture, 
small employers and employers with mobile work-
sites. (HB 2222)

654.005 (5) Expanded the defi nition of “employer” 
for the purposes of the Oregon Safe Employment 
Act (ORS 654). The bill enables DCBS/Oregon 
OSHA to adopt rules that will hold a successor em-
ployer (one that is essentially the same as a prior 
employer) responsible for the correction of haz-
ards to protect workers, for determining “repeat” 
violations, and for the payment of civil penalties. 
(HB 2223)

ORS 654.414, 654.416, 654.418, 654.421, and 
654.423 Required health care employers to address 
assaults of employees who work in ambulatory 
surgical centers and hospitals. These employers are 
required to conduct periodic security and safety 
assessments to identify assault hazards, develop an 
assault prevention and protection program, pro-
vide training, and maintain a record of assaults that 
result in injury to their employees. (HB 2022)

656.062 (6)(a) Increased the amount of time a 
worker has to fi le a retaliation (discrimination) 
complaint with the Oregon Bureau of Labor and 
Industries from 30 days to 90 days if the worker 
believes they have been discriminated against for 
raising workplace health or safety issues. (HB 2259)

654.035 (2) Eliminated existing statutory provisions 
that prevent Oregon OSHA from adopting rules 
requiring fall protection in steel erection below the 
federal OSHA trigger height. (HB 3400)

654.078 Extended the appeals deadline for work-
place health and safety citations from 20 days to 30 
days and expanded the period before civil penalty 
can be recorded as a judgment from 10 to 20 days 
after a fi nal order. This statutory change applies to 
citations, notices and orders received by an employ-
er on or after the effective date of the bill. (SB 556)

Compensability
1987
656.266 Placed on the worker the burden of 
proving that an injury or occupational disease is 
compensable and of proving the nature and ex-
tent of any disability. The worker cannot prove 
compensability simply by disproving other explana-
tions. (HB 2271)

656.802 (3) Restricted mental stress claims to 
those arising out of real and objective employment 
conditions not generally inherent in every working 
situation, and required “clear and convincing evi-
dence” that the mental disorder arose out of and in 
the course of employment. (HB 2271)
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1990
656.005 (7) Required that a compensable injury 
be established by medical evidence supported by 
objective fi ndings. The compensable injury must 
be the major contributing cause of a consequen-
tial condition. If the compensable injury com-
bines with a pre-existing condition, the resulting 
condition is compensable only to the extent that 
the compensable injury is and remains the major 
contributing cause of the disability or need for 
treatment. Excluded injuries from recreational and 
social activities. Excluded injuries that arose from 
the use of alcohol or drugs if it is proven by clear 
and convincing evidence that the drug or alcohol 
use was the major contributing cause. (SB 1197)

656.262 (6) Allowed insurers to deny a previously 
accepted claim at any time up to two years from the 
date of claim acceptance if the claim is accepted 
in good faith, but is later determined not to be 
compensable or that the insurer is not responsible 
for the claim. (SB 1197)

656.273 Required that claims for aggravation be es-
tablished by medical evidence supported by objec-
tive medical fi ndings that the worsened condition 
resulted from the original injury. (SB 1197)

656.308 Specifi ed that when a worker sustains a 
compensable injury the responsible employer shall 
remain responsible for future aggravations un-
less the worker sustains a new compensable injury 
involving the same condition. (SB 1197)

656.802 (1) & (2) Changed the defi nition of oc-
cupational disease, and provided that compensable 
diseases must be caused by substances or activities 
to which an employee is not ordinarily subjected 
or exposed, and that employment be the major 
contributing cause. The existence of the disease 
must be established by medical evidence supported 
by objective fi ndings. (SB 1197)

1995
656.005 (7)(a)(B) Stated that a combined condi-
tion was compensable only as long as and to the 
extent the otherwise compensable injury was the 
major contributing cause of the combined condi-
tion or the need for treatment. (SB 369)

656.005 (7)(b)(C) Reduced the standard of proof 
required to show that the major contributing cause 
was consumption of alcoholic beverages or a con-
trolled substance from “clear and convincing evi-
dence” to “preponderance of evidence.” (SB 369)

656.005 (7)(c) Changed the previous defi nition 
of “disabling injury” to specifi cally exclude those 
injuries where no temporary benefi ts were due and 
payable, unless there was a reasonable expectation 
that permanent disability would result from the 
injury. (SB 369)

656.005 (19) Expanded the defi nition of “objective 
fi ndings” to be verifi able indications of injury or dis-
ease, and excluded physical fi ndings or subjective 
responses to physical examinations that were not 
reproducible, measurable, or observable. (SB 369)

656.262 (6)(a) Authorized the denial of an accept-
ed claim to be issued at any time when the denial is 
for fraud, misrepresentation, or other illegal activ-
ity, to be proved by a preponderance of evidence. 
Lowered the standard of proof for a back-up denial 
based on evidence uncovered after acceptance that 
the claim was not compensable or the insurer was 
not responsible from “clear and convincing evi-
dence” to “preponderance of evidence.” (SB 369)

656.262 (6)(d) Required that an injured worker 
who believed that a condition had been incorrectly 
omitted from the acceptance notice, or that the no-
tice was otherwise defi cient, to fi rst communicate 
in writing to the insurer or self-insured employer 
the worker’s objections. Precluded a worker who 
failed to comply with this requirement from taking 
up the matter at a hearing. (SB 369)

1997 
656.027 Exempted certain landscape contractors 
(sole proprietorships, partnerships, corporations, 
and limited liability companies) from coverage 
requirements. (HB 2038)

656.126 (2) & (7) Exempted extraterritorial cover-
age requirements for workers employed in another 
state but temporarily working in Oregon. (SB 544)
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1999 
656.630 (Note) Directed the Center for Research 
on Occupational and Environmental Toxicology 
to provide a report on the need for modifying the 
compensability criteria for hepatitis B and C. 
(HB 3629)

(Budget note) Directed the department to under-
take a study of the impact of the major contribut-
ing cause and combined conditions on the work-
ers’ compensation system and provided funds for 
the study. (HB 5012)

2001
656.005 (24) and 656.804 Revised the defi nition of 
pre-existing conditions. It provided separate defi ni-
tions for injury claims and for occupational disease 
claims. (SB 485)

656.017 and 656.126 Amended public contracts 
and purchasing law to state that each public con-
tract must include a clause that all subject work-
ers temporarily in the state are covered by either 
Oregon’s workers’ compensation law or by the laws 
of another state. (SB 507)

656.027 (6) Clarifi ed the exemption from work-
ers’ compensation law for fi refi ghters and police 
employees for cities with a population of more 
than 200,000 that provide disability and retirement 
systems. (HB 3100)

656.027 (26) Exempted from workers’ compensation 
law persons who serve as referees or assistant refer-
ees in recreational soccer matches whose services are 
retained on a match-by-match basis. (HB 3094)

656.266 (2) For combined condition injury claims, 
stated that once the worker has established that the 
injury is compensable, the employer has the burden 
of proof to show that the compensable condition is 
not, or is no longer, the major contributing cause of 
the disability or the need for treatment. (SB 485)

410.614 Amended senior and disability services 
law and made 14,000 home care workers subject 
employees. For the purposes of workers’ compen-
sation, these workers are public employees under 
the Home Care Commission. This was part of the 
implementation of Ballot Measure 99 in 2000. 
(HB 3816)

2003
626.027 (27) Added translators and interpreters 
who provide services through agents or brokers to 
the list of nonsubject workers. (SB 924)

2005
656.027 (15)(d) Provided that owners or leasehold-
ers of motor vehicles used in the transportation of 
property by a for-hire motor carrier are nonsubject 
workers for purposes of workers’ compensation 
statutes. (SB 433)

2007
656.039 (5)(a) Required the Home Care Commis-
sion to elect workers’ compensation coverage on 
behalf of Department of Human Services clients 
who employ home care workers if the worker is 
paid by the state on behalf of the client. Required 
the home care worker to accept appropriate modi-
fi ed employment with any client of the Depart-
ment of Human Services who employs a home care 
worker or risk termination of his or her temporary 
disability benefi ts. (HB 3362)

656.027(28) Clarifi ed that taxicab drivers are con-
sidered as nonsubject workers under workers’ com-
pensation insurance coverage requirements if they 
lease a taxicab by the shift or for a longer period or 
the taxicab used is under a contract to a third party 
for transporting designated passengers, to provide 
errand service, or to provide non-emergency medi-
cal transportation. (SB 688)

Claims Processing
1987
656.268 (4)(a) Allowed insurers to close permanent 
disability claims as long as department evaluation 
standards were applied and the worker had re-
turned to work. (HB 2900) (Now 656.268 (5)(a))

656.268 (14) Allowed for insurer offsets against awards 
for overpayments. (HB 2900) (Now 656.268 (13))

656.726 (3)(f) Allowed the director to provide stan-
dards for the evaluation of disabilities and altered 
the criteria for the evaluation of unscheduled dis-
abilities. (HB 2900) (Now 656.726 (4)(f))
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1990
656.160 Declared that injured workers are not 
eligible for time-loss benefi ts for periods during 
which they are incarcerated. (SB 1197)

656.214 (5) and 656.726 (3)(f) Required the 
department’s disability evaluation standards to be 
used for the initial rating and for all subsequent 
litigation; altered the defi nition of earning capac-
ity to be used in calculating disability. (SB 1197) 
(656.726 (3)(f) is now 656.726 (4)(f))

656.262 (4) Specifi ed situations for which time-
loss payments are not due or may be suspended by 
insurers. (SB 1197)

656.262 (6) Increased the time for insurer acceptance 
or denial of a claim from 60 days to 90 days. (SB 
1197) (In 2001, SB 485 reduced the time to 60 days.)

656.268 (4)(a) Expanded insurers’ authority to 
close claims when the worker has become medi-
cally stationary and has returned to work or the 
attending physician has released the worker to 
regular or modifi ed employment. (SB 1197)

656.726 (3)(f) Mandated that impairment be es-
tablished by a preponderance of medical evidence 
based on objective fi ndings. Also required that 
the director adopt temporary rules amending the 
standards for the evaluation of disabilities when the 
director determines that the standards do not ad-
equately address the worker’s disability. (SB 1197) 
(Now 656.726 (4)(f))

656.780 Required the director to establish a work-
ers’ compensation claims examiner certifi cation 
program. (SB 1197) (SB 211 repealed this in 1999.)

1991
656.622 (3) Clarifi ed that a worker may not waive 
eligibility for preferred worker status by entering 
into a claim disposition agreement. (HB 3040) 
(Now 656.622 (4)(b))

1993
192.502 Amended public records law exemptions 
to end access to claims histories by employers, in-
formation services, commercial interests, and oth-
ers using that information to discriminate against 
injured workers. (HB 3069)

1995
656.012 (3) Declared that provisions of workers’ 
compensation law be interpreted in an impartial 
and balanced manner. (SB 369)

656.018 (6) Clarifi ed that the exclusive remedy 
provisions and the liability limitations of this chap-
ter apply whether or not the injuries or diseases 
were compensable. (SB 369) (This was struck down 
in part in 2001 by the Oregon Supreme Court in 
the Smothers decision.) (Now 656.018 (7))

656.126 Authorized that the Oregon compensation 
paid for an injury or illness be offset by the out-
of-state compensation paid for the same injury or 
illness. (SB 369)

656.206 (1)(a) Defi ned “gainful occupation” as one 
that pays wages equal to or greater than the state-
mandated hourly minimum wage. (SB 369) (SB 386 
revised defi nition in 2005; now 656.206 (11)(a).)

656.212 (2) Authorized basing the temporary 
partial disability rate on the wages used to calculate 
temporary total disability. (SB 369)

656.262 (4)(b) Stated that the payment of wages by 
a self-insured employer shall be deemed timely pay-
ment of temporary disability benefi ts. (SB 369)

656.262 (4)(f) Stated that temporary disability 
compensation is not due and payable unless autho-
rized by the attending physician; limited retroactive 
authorization to 14 days. (SB 369) (Now 656.262 
(4)(g))

656.262 (14) & (15) Required that injured workers 
cooperate with the insurer or self-insured employer 
in the investigation of claims for compensation. 
If a worker does not cooperate, the director is to 
suspend the compensation. (SB 369) (Now 656.262 
(13) & (14))

656.265 (1) Increased the time for fi ling of a claim 
from 30 days to 90 days. (SB 369)

656.268 (1) Authorized claim closure before the 
worker’s condition becomes medically station-
ary if the accepted injury ceases to be the major 
contributing cause of the worker’s combined or 
consequential condition or, if without the approval 
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of the attending physician, the worker fails to seek 
medical treatment for a period of 30 days or fails to 
attend a closing examination. (SB 369)

656.273 (3) Required that a claim for aggravation 
be made in writing. (SB 369)

656.726 (3)(f)(D) Required that impairment be 
the only factor to be considered in evaluating a 
worker’s disability if the worker has returned to, or 
the attending physician has released the worker to, 
regular work at the job held at the time of injury. 
(SB 369) (Now 656.726 (4)(f)(E))

1997
656.262 (6)(b)(F) Required that the insurer or self-
insured employer modify the notice of acceptance 
when medical or other information changed a pre-
viously issued notice of acceptance. (HB 2971)

656.262 (7)(c) Required that when an insurer or 
self-insured employer determines that a claim 
qualifi es for closure, the insurer or self-insured 
employer must issue an updated notice of accep-
tance that specifi es the compensable conditions. If 
a condition is later found compensable, the insurer 
or self-insured employer must reopen the claim for 
processing that condition. (HB 2971)

1999
656.212 (2) Eliminated the two-year aggregate 
maximum for receipt of temporary partial disability 
payments. (SB 729)

656.268 (1) and 656.268 (Note) Made insurers and 
self-insured employers responsible for closing all 
claims and for determining the extent of perma-
nent disability. The department was to phase out 
its own claim closure activities; insurers and self-in-
sured employers were to assume responsibility, no 
later than June 30, 2001, for closing all claims. (SB 
220) (This was accomplished by Jan. 1, 2001.)

656.277 (1) Required that a request by a worker for 
reclassifi cation of an accepted nondisabling injury 
that the worker believes has become disabling must 
be submitted to the insurer or self-insured employ-
er. Prior to this, these submissions were made to 
the department. (SB 220)

2001
656.005 (30) For the purposes of determining the 
entitlement to temporary disability or permanent 
total disability benefi ts, excluded from the defi ni-
tion of “worker” anyone who has withdrawn from 
the workforce during the time period for which the 
benefi ts are sought. (SB 485)

656.210 (2) Defi ned how the weekly wage should 
be calculated and the disability status be defi ned 
for injured workers with multiple jobs. (SB 485)

656.210 (5) Created rules for the payment of 
supplemental temporary disability benefi ts to work-
ers employed in more than one job at the time of 
injury. (SB 485)

656.262 (6)(a) & (7)(a) and 656.308 (2)(a) Re-
duced the time an insurer has to accept or deny a 
claim from 90 days to 60 days after the employer’s 
knowledge of the claim. The bill also reduced the 
time the insurer has to accept or deny a claim for 
aggravation or new or omitted conditions to 60 
days after the insurer receives written notice of 
these claims. (SB 485)

656.267 Directed that for a worker to initiate an 
omitted medical condition claim, the worker must 
clearly request formal written acceptance of a new 
or omitted medical condition from the insurer. 
The worker may initiate a new or omitted condi-
tion claim at any time. After aggravation rights have 
expired, a worker must pursue a claim for new or 
omitted conditions through the Workers’ Compen-
sation Board’s own motion process. (SB 485)

656.268 (5)(b) Allowed the worker to request a 
claim closure when the worker is not medically 
stationary. (SB 269)

656.273 (4), 656.277 (1), and 656.277 (2) Clari-
fi ed the time frames for claims. The time frame 
for challenging a nondisabling classifi cation is one 
year from the date of the claim acceptance. Ag-
gravation rights for disabling claims extend fi ve 
years from the date of the fi rst claim closure. For 
claims originally classifi ed as nondisabling and not 
reclassifi ed during the year following acceptance, 
aggravation rights extend fi ve years from the date 
of injury. (SB 316)
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2003
656.054 (2) and 656.735 (3) Removed the penalty 
against noncomplying employers issued after claim 
closure. (SB 233)

656.210 (5)(b) Provided that if an insurer or self-
insured employer chooses not to pay supplemental 
disability benefi ts for a worker employed in more 
than one job, the department will administer and 
pay benefi ts directly or assign the administration to 
a paying agent. (SB 914)

656.262 (11)(a) Allowed attorney fees when an 
insurer or self-insured employer unreasonably 
delays or refuses to pay compensation or unreason-
ably delays acceptance or denial. The fee is based 
on the results achieved and the time devoted to the 
case. (SB 620)

656.265 (4)(c) Added an exemption to the require-
ment for reporting claims within 90 days if the 
worker can establish that he or she had good cause 
not to give timely notice. (SB 932)

705.175 Authorized the department to issue war-
rants for amounts owed to the department and 
authorized the debt to become a lien on real prop-
erty. (HB 3177)

Chapter 760, section 4, 2003 laws Required the 
department to conduct an evaluation of its claims 
reporting requirements. The results were to be 
presented to MLAC. (SB 914)

2005
656.273 (3) & (6) Expedited the processing of 
claims for aggravation, and clarifi ed that insurers’ 
and self-insured employers’ responsibility for time-
ly compensation payments does not begin until the 
physician’s report is received. (HB 2405)

656.268 (6)(e) Authorized the director to issue civil 
penalties for violation of statutes regarding reports 
or other requirements needed to administer work-
ers’ compensation law. (SB 172)

2007
656.230 (5) Eliminated the requirement to adopt 
a rule and instead allowed the determination of 
impairment to be included in an order on recon-
sideration, which can be appealed to the Workers’ 
Compensation Board. (HB 2218)

656.230 (7)(c)(J) Eliminated the requirement to 
consult a physician if requested when determining 
whether to approve a worker’s additional change of 
attending physician. (HB 2218)

656.230 Consolidated the reason an insurer can 
deny a lump-sum payment for a permanent partial 
disability award into one section of the law and 
removed the director’s review of a denied request. 
(HB 2218)

Advocates and Advisory Groups
1987
656.709 (1) Created the Offi ce of Ombudsman for 
Injured Workers. (HB 2900)

1990
656.709 (2) Established the Offi ce of the Ombuds-
man for Small Business. (SB 1197)

656.790 Created the Workers’ Compensation Man-
agement-Labor Advisory Committee. (SB 1197)

Established a Joint Legislative Task Force on In-
novations in Workers’ Compensation to reexamine 
the role of the workers’ compensation system and 
to develop recommendations to develop a more 
fair, just, and cost-effective system. (SB 1198)

1995
656.790 Reduced the membership of the Manage-
ment-Labor Advisory Committee from 14 members 
to 10 members (fi ve representing subject workers, 
fi ve representing subject employers). Mandated 
that MLAC report to the Legislature fi ndings and 
recommendations the committee fi nds appropri-
ate, including reports on court decisions having 
signifi cant impact on the workers’ compensation 
system, the adequacy of workers’ compensation 
benefi ts, medical and system costs, and the adequa-
cy of assessments for reserve programs and admin-
istrative costs. (SB 369) 
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1997
656.790 (Note) Required MLAC to study income 
and expenditures of the Workers’ Benefi t Fund. 
(SB 484)

2001
192.530 (Note) Created the Advisory Committee 
on Privacy of Medical Information and Records. 
The committee had 17 members. The committee’s 
purpose was to review state and federal laws con-
cerning the privacy of medical information and to 
see if state laws confl icted with federal laws, such as 
the Health Insurance Portability and Accountabil-
ity Act of 1996. The members were to report to the 
2003 Legislature. (SB 104)

Chapter 865 2001 laws Directed that MLAC recom-
mend to the 2003 Legislature an alternative rem-
edy to civil litigation that would allow the Legisla-
ture to create a constitutionally adequate system of 
exclusive remedies for workplace injuries. (SB 485)

2003
656.709 (1) & (2) Required the injured worker 
ombudsman and the small business ombudsman to 
provide quarterly written reports to the Governor. 
The reports must include summaries of the services 
provided during the quarter and recommendations 
for improvements. (HB 2522)

656.726 (4)(f)(C) Removed the requirement that 
the department submit its temporary rules to 
MLAC for review. (SB 234)

2007
Oregon Legislative Note: Required the Manage-
ment-Labor Advisory Committee to conduct an 
interim study of the adequacy of death benefi ts in 
the workers’ compensation system; report to the 
75th Oregon Legislative Assembly is required by 
Jan. 31, 2009. (SB 835)

Medical Benefi ts and Care

1987
656.245 (3)(a) Reduced the number of attending 
physicians an injured worker could select during 
the life of a claim from fi ve to three, unless other-
wise authorized by the director. (HB 2900) (Now 
656.245 (2)(a))

656.245 (4) Allowed the director to exclude from 
compensability any medical treatment deemed 
to be unscientifi c or unproven. (HB 2900) (Now 
656.245 (3))

656.248 (9) Allowed the director to establish a fee 
schedule for specifi c inpatient hospital services 
based on diagnostic-related groups. (HB 2900)

656.252 (1) Expanded the scope of medical rules 
to require insurer audits of billings for medical 
services, including hospital services. (HB 2900)

656.254 (3) Expanded sanctions against health 
care practitioners who failed to comply with rules 
adopted under the statute. (HB 2900)

656.325 (1) Limited independent medical examina-
tions to three per each opening of the claim unless 
otherwise authorized by the director. (HB 2900)

656.327 (3)-(5) Allowed the director to establish a 
medical review panel to review medical treatment 
of an injured worker upon request by any of the 
parties. (HB 2900)

1990
656.005 (12)(b) Limited who could be an at-
tending physician to a medical doctor, doctor 
of osteopathy, or a board-certifi ed oral surgeon. 
Chiropractors qualify as attending physicians for 
the fi rst 30 days or 12 visits, whichever comes fi rst. 
(SB 1197) (Revised in 2007 to include podiatrists, 
naturopaths, chiropractors, and physician assistants 
to act as attending physician for up to 60 days or 18 
visits, whichever comes fi rst.) (HB 2756)

656.245 (1)(b) Eliminated palliative care after the 
worker became medically stationary, except when 
provided to a worker determined to have perma-
nent total disability, when necessary to monitor the 
administration of prescription medication required 
to keep the worker in a medically stationary condi-
tion, or to monitor the status of a prosthetic device. 
In addition, if the worker’s attending physician 
believes that palliative care is appropriate to enable 
the worker to continue current employment, the 
attending physician may seek approval from the 
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insurer for such treatment. If the insurer refuses to 
authorize the treatment, the attending physician 
can ask the department to resolve the dispute. (SB 
1197) (Now 656.245 (1)(c))

656.248 (11) Required the director to establish 
utilization and treatment standards for all medical 
services. (SB 1197) (SB 223 repealed this in 1999.)

656.260 Allowed groups of medical service provid-
ers or health care providers to be certifi ed by the 
department as managed care organizations. Insur-
ers can contract with MCOs to provide medical 
services to injured workers. (SB 1197)

656.262 (4)(d) Excluded medical services from 
insurer reimbursement until the attending physi-
cian provides verifi cation of the worker’s inability 
to work. (SB 1197)

1991
656.248 (Note) Created economic incentives for 
hospitals to participate with certifi ed managed care 
organizations by providing exemptions from the 
hospital cost-to-charge ratio fee schedule. (SB 551)

1993
656.016 (Note) Authorized pilot programs to 
combine the medical component of workers’ 
compensation with health insurance for nonwork-
related illnesses or injuries. Exempted insurers 
that provide combined coverage in pilot programs 
from certain requirements for transacting health 
or workers’ compensation insurance. (HB 2285) 
(This program was phased out in 1996.)

656.313 Modifi ed the procedure for payment of 
medical services in disputed workers’ compensa-
tion settlement proceedings. Required insurers to 
pay providers at one-half the rate established by 
ORS 656.248 in amounts not to exceed 20 percent 
of the total present value of the settlement amount. 
Where less than one-half payment can be made, all 
affected providers are to be paid proportionally. 
(HB 3111) (SB 369 changed the maximum from 
20 percent to 40 percent in 1995.)

1995
656.005 (20) Defi ned “palliative care” as medical 
service rendered to reduce or moderate temporar-
ily the intensity of an otherwise stable medical con-

dition. Excluded those medical services rendered 
to diagnose, heal, or permanently alleviate or elimi-
nate a medical condition. (SB 369)

656.245 (4) Described conditions under which 
workers are subject to a managed care organization 
contract. An insurer may require an injured worker 
to receive medical treatment in the MCO prior to 
claim acceptance. However, if the claim is eventu-
ally denied, the insurer must cover those services 
until the worker receives notice of the denial or 
until three days after the denial notice is mailed. 
(SB 369)

656.248 (1) Changed the medical services fee 
schedule from representing the 75th percentile 
of usual and customary fees to representing re-
imbursements generally received for the services 
provided. Identifi ed specifi c criteria upon which it 
should be based. (SB 369)

1997
656.260 (4)(h) Required an explanation to licensed 
medical providers denied admission to an MCO 
panel. (SB 484)

1999
656.245 (1)(d) Required that medical providers 
receive payment for medical services until they are 
notifi ed by insurers that workers with disabling 
claims are medically stationary. (HB 2021)

656.245 (4)(a) Allowed workers to continue to treat 
with their attending physician when a managed 
care organization contract with an insurer termi-
nates. (SB 460)

2001
656.247 Created a procedure under which insurers 
are responsible for some medical costs for some 
services prior to claim denial. (SB 485)

656.252 (2)(a) Directed attending physicians to co-
operate with insurers to expedite diagnostic treat-
ments and procedures and with efforts to return 
injured workers to appropriate work. (SB 485)

656.268 (3), 656.360, and 656.362 Restricted the 
distribution of copies of medical reports and vo-
cational rehabilitation reports to injured workers 
only, rather than to workers and employers, unless 
the worker provides consent. (SB 269)
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2003
656.005 (12)(c) Included nurse practitioner in the 
defi nition of consulting physician. (HB 3669)

656.245 (2)(b)(C) Allowed a nurse practitioner to 
provide medical services for 90 days from the fi rst 
visit on the claim and authorize the payment of 
temporary disability benefi ts for a period not to 
exceed 60 days from the date of the fi rst visit on 
the claim. The nurse practitioner must refer the 
worker to an attending physician for the determi-
nation of impairment. (HB 3669) 

656.245 (6) Authorized a nurse practitioner who is 
not a member of a managed care organization to 
provide the same level of services as a primary care 
physician to workers enrolled in the MCO, subject 
to certain restrictions. (HB 3669)

Chapter 811, sections 29 & 30, 2003 laws Required 
that the department develop and make available to 
nurse practitioners informational materials about 
the workers’ compensation system. Also required 
nurse practitioners to certify that they had re-
viewed the department’s informational materials. 
(HB 3669)

Chapter 811, section 31, 2003 laws Required that 
insurers, self-insured employers, and self-insured 
employer groups provide the department with any 
information needed to assess the impact of HB 
3669. (HB 3669)

2005
656.325 (1), 656.328, and 656.780 Required the 
director to develop rules and training applicable 
to independent medical examinations for work-
ers’ compensation claims. Modifi ed the process for 
insurer-requested IMEs; insurers must now select 
an IME provider from a department-developed 
list. Allowed workers to appeal the reasonableness 
of the location of exam, subject to an expedited 
review by the department. (SB 311)

656.260 (4)(a) & (4)(i) Required the director to 
review and approve medical treatment standards for 
care provided by managed care organizations. Re-
quired MCO plans to allow attending physicians to 
advocate for medical services and temporary disabil-
ity benefi ts. (SB 670) (Revised in 2007 by SB 563, 
removing the requirement for the department to 
review and approve individual treatment standards.)

2007
656.245 Allowed authority to the department to 
issue civil penalties against managed care organi-
zations that fail to comply with laws or rules. (HB 
2218)

656.245 (2)(b)(C) Expanded the role of nurse 
practitioners to provide compensable medical ser-
vices to injured workers for up to 90 days, autho-
rize time loss for up to 60 days, release the worker 
to work, and manage the worker’s return to work 
during that time period. (HB 2247)

656.005 (12)(b)(B) Allowed chiropractic physi-
cians, podiatrists, naturopaths, and physician 
assistants to act as attending physicians for injured 
workers for 60 days or 18 visits, whichever comes 
fi rst. The four provider groups can authorize time 
loss for 30 days and manage the worker’s return 
to work during that period, and are to certify they 
have reviewed informational materials developed 
by the director. (HB 2756)

656.328 Required that the department adopt rules 
to outline the standard of conduct for providers 
that do not have conduct guidelines from their 
regulatory board. Removed the statutory reference 
to the American Board of Independent Medical 
Examiners guidelines relating to code of conduct 
for independent medical examination providers. 
The rules may be consistent with the code of con-
duct adopted by the Oregon Independent Medical 
Examination Association. (HB 2943)

656.005 (12)(b)(B) and 656.245 (2)(b)(B) Excludes 
an emergency room physician from the defi nition 
of an attending physician when the physician refers 
the worker to a primary care physician for follow-
up care. Allowed the emergency room physician to 
authorize time-loss benefi ts for a maximum of 14 
days. If a physician treats patients in an emergency 
room but also maintains an independent practice, 
the physician could act as the worker’s attending 
physician if he or she otherwise qualifi es to be an 
attending physician and also provides the follow-up 
care to the injured worker. (SB 504)

656.260 Removed the requirement for the depart-
ment to review and approve all individual treat-
ment standards adopted by managed care organi-
zations. (SB 563)
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Indemnity Benefi ts
1991
656.214 (Note) Established the value for a degree 
of scheduled disability as 71 percent of the state 
average weekly wage, thus providing annual adjust-
ments to the value of a scheduled degree. Estab-
lished a tiered structure for calculating the value 
of a degree of unscheduled disability as a function 
of the state average weekly wage, thus providing 
annual adjustments to the value of an unscheduled 
degree and providing a structure that compensates 
the more severely injured at higher rates per de-
gree of disability. (SB 732) (SB 757 in 2003 and HB 
2408 in 2005 revised the PPD structure.)

1995
656.204 Reduced the classes of benefi ciary chil-
dren under 18 years of age to two: where there is a 
surviving spouse of a deceased worker, and where 
there is no surviving spouse. (SB 369)

656. 214 (2) & (6) For unscheduled permanent 
partial disability, changed the structure of the tiers 
and increased the value of a degree in each tier. 
This eliminated the computation of the dollar 
value of a degree of disability as a percentage of 
the statewide average weekly wage. (SB 369) (SB 
757 in 2003 and HB 2408 in 2005 revised the PPD 
structure.)

1999
656.202, 656.204, and 656.206 Changed workers’ 
compensation benefi ts for spouses and some chil-
dren of fatally injured workers: increased remar-
riage allowance to 36 times the monthly benefi t; 
eliminated reduction in benefi ts for children of 
deceased workers who had remarried; equalized 
benefi ts for PTD and fatal claims for benefi ciaries 
in full-time education; and eliminated $5 weekly 
benefi ciary payment for PTD claims. (HB 2022)

2001
656.210 (1) Raised the maximum temporary total 
disability benefi t to 133 percent of the average 
weekly wage. (SB 485)

2003
656.214 (1) Defi ned impairment as the loss of 
use or function of a body part or system due to 
the compensable injury or disease, expressed as a 
percentage of the whole person. Defi ned work dis-

ability as impairment modifi ed by age, education, 
and adaptability to perform a given job. Redefi ned 
permanent partial disability as permanent impair-
ment with or without work disability resulting from 
a compensable injury or disease. (SB 757)

656.214 (2) Set permanent partial disability awards. 
If the worker has returned to work or has been 
released to work, the award is for impairment only. 
Otherwise, the award is for impairment and work 
disability. The impairment award is the product 
of 100 times the impairment value and the aver-
age weekly wage. The work disability award is the 
impairment value, modifi ed by the age, education, 
and adaptability factors multiplied by 150 times the 
worker’s weekly wage. The weekly wage is limited to 
the range of 50 percent to 133 percent of the aver-
age weekly wage. (SB 757)

656.214 (3) Defi ned PPD awards in terms of impair-
ment percentages rather than degrees. (SB 757)

2005
656.726 (4)(f)(E) and 656.214 (2)(a) Modifi ed 
the evaluation of a worker’s permanent disability 
benefi ts and impairment for purposes of workers’ 
compensation benefi ts. (HB 2408) 

Chapter 653, section 7, 2005 laws Directed the 
department to collect data and report to the Legis-
lature on the impact of the changes in law from SB 
757 and HB 2408 on permanent partial disability 
awards. (HB 2408)

656.206 (1) & (5) - (11) and 656.268 (1)(d) Pro-
vided increased permanent total disability benefi ts 
and protections for severely injured workers. Au-
thorized administrative law judges to request medi-
cal arbiter examinations. Expanded the description 
of “gainful occupation” to adjust the worker’s wage 
rate at the lesser of the poverty level for a family of 
three or 66 percent of the worker’s average weekly 
wages. (SB 386)

2007
656.790 (2) Required the Management-Labor Advi-
sory Committee to review permanent partial disabil-
ity benefi t amounts on a biennial basis and make 
recommendations to ensure the original policy 
goals continue to be met over time. (HB 2244)
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Chapter 656, section 2, 2007 laws made permanent 
the partial disability benefi t changes made by SB 
757 in 2003 and HB 2408 in 2005 permanent.

Oregon Legislative Note: Required the Manage-
ment-Labor Advisory Committee to conduct an 
interim study of the adequacy of death benefi ts in 
the workers’ compensation system; report to the 
75th Oregon Legislative Assembly is required by 
Jan. 31, 2009. (SB 835)

Return-To-Work Assistance
1987
656.340 (6) Restricted eligibility for vocational as-
sistance. (HB 2900) 

656.622 (3) Established the Preferred Worker Pro-
gram within the Workers’ Reemployment Reserve. 
(HB 2900) (Now 656.622 (4))

1990
656.622 (3) Enhanced the Preferred Worker 
Program by exempting an employer who hires 
a preferred worker from premiums or premium 
assessments for the preferred worker for a period 
of three years and reimbursing the insurer for any 
claim costs should the preferred worker sustain a 
new injury during the three-year premium exemp-
tion period. (SB 1197) (Now 656.622 (4))

656.628 (Note) Eliminated new claims for Handi-
capped Workers’ Reserve relief. (SB 1197)

659.415 Established injured worker employment 
reinstatement rights, subject to certain conditions 
and restrictions, with employers with more than 20 
employees. (SB 1197) (Now 659A.043)

1995
656.335 Repealed this section; insurers are no 
longer required to provide disability prevention 
services. (SB 369)

656.340 Clarifi ed when vocational eligibility must 
be determined following aggravation and clarifi ed 
the eligibility criteria. Changed the requirement 
for insurers to request reinstatement or re-employ-
ment on behalf of workers to require that insurers 
inform workers of their opportunity to seek rein-
statement or re-employment. Provided that workers 
are not entitled to vocational assistance after the 
expiration of their aggravation rights. Expanded 
the defi nition of the suitable wage that is the target 
for vocational assistance and revised the defi nition 
of regular employment to include employment at 
the time of aggravation. (SB 369)

656.622 Provided for reimbursement of reasonable 
program administrative costs of insurers participat-
ing in the Employer-at-Injury Program and imple-
mented the existing practice of reimbursement of 
claim administrative costs for preferred workers. 
Expanded expenditures from the Reemployment 
Assistance Program to include workers with nondis-
abling claims as eligible for the Employer-at-Injury 
Program, to preclude or reduce nondisabling 
claims from becoming disabling. Clarifi ed that 
the Preferred Worker Program may be available to 
workers with any disability that may be a substantial 
obstacle to employment. (SB 369)

659.415 and 659.420 Added restrictions on when 
a worker may be reinstated to regular employment 
or re-employed in suitable and available work. (SB 
369) (Now 659A.043 and 659.046)

2001
656.268 (4)(c) and 656.325 (5) Provided that a 
worker could refuse an offer of modifi ed employ-
ment without losing benefi ts if the job requires a 
commute that is beyond the physical capacity of 
the worker, is more than 50 miles away, is not with 
the employer at injury or not at that employer’s 
work site, or is inconsistent with the common prac-
tices of the employer or an applicable collective 
bargaining agreement. (SB 485)

2005
656.206 (7) & (8) Established eligibility for voca-
tional benefi ts when PTD benefi ts are terminated. 
Required workers who have PTD benefi ts to attend 
vocational evaluations. (SB 386)

656.262 (6)(b)(E) and 656.622 (3) & (12) Modi-
fi ed the statutory purpose of the Reemployment 
Assistance Act to allow the Workers’ Compensation 
Division to provide direct services through the Pre-
ferred Worker and Employer-at-Injury programs. 
(SB 119)
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Disputes
1987
656.268 (4)(f) Provided for penalties if insurer 
claim closure actions were unreasonable. (HB 
2900) (Now 656.268 (5)(d))

656.278 Restricted the power and jurisdiction of 
the Workers’ Compensation Board to use its own-
motion authority; altered eligibility criteria and 
excluded own-motion claim costs from loss experi-
ence, provided funding for these costs from the 
Reopened Claims Reserve. (HB 2900)

656.283 (4) and 656.295 (4) Required the board to 
schedule a hearing or board review no later than 
90 days after receipt of request. The hearing or 
review shall not be postponed except for extraor-
dinary circumstances beyond the control of the 
requesting party. (HB 2900)

656.291 Required the board to establish an ex-
pedited claim service to resolve claims where 
compensability is not the issue and other condi-
tions are met. (HB 2900)

656.298 (6) Changed de novo review by the Court 
of Appeals to substantial evidence review. The 
court is limited to reviewing matters of law. (HB 
2900) (Now 656.298 (7))

656.388 (3) Required the board to establish a fee 
schedule for attorneys representing an insurer, self-
insured employer, or a worker. (HB 2900)

1990
656.236 Allowed for compromise and release settle-
ments (claim disposition agreements) of claims 
benefi ts except for medical services. (SB 1197)

656.248 (13) Allowed the director to resolve medi-
cal fee disputes using an administrative review 
process. (SB 1197) (Now 656.248 (12))

656.262 (10) Gave the director exclusive jurisdic-
tion over proceedings regarding solely the assess-
ment and payment of penalties by insurers for 
unreasonable delay or refusal to pay compensation 
or unreasonable delays in acceptance or denial of a 
claim. (SB 1197) (Now 656.262 (11))

656.268 Required the mandatory reconsideration 
of a disputed insurer notice of closure, or depart-
ment determination order. (SB 1197) 

656.268 (4)(g) Provided for an insurer penalty if 
the department’s determination of permanent 
disability on reconsideration of an insurer notice 
of closure is greater than the insurer’s award by 25 
percent or more. (SB 1197) (Now 656.268 (5)(e))

656.268 (7) Required claim referral to medical 
arbiter if impairment fi ndings are disputed. No 
medical evidence subsequent to the medical arbi-
ter report is admissible before the department, the 
board, or the courts. (SB 1197)

656.283 (7) and 656.295 (5) Provided that the 
evaluation of the worker’s disability by hearings 
referees or the board shall be as of the date of the 
reconsideration order. Required the hearings refer-
ees and the board to apply the same standards for 
evaluation of disability as used by the department 
and insurers, but allowed the worker or insurer to 
challenge whether the standards for evaluation of 
disability were incorrectly applied in the reconsid-
eration order. (SB 1197)

656.313 (1) When the employer or insurer appeal, 
payment of compensation appealed is stayed ex-
cept for temporary total disability and permanent 
total disability benefi ts that accrue from the date of 
the order appealed. Allowed for interest to accrue 
on the benefi ts stayed. (SB 1197)

656.327 (1)(a) Established additional provisions for 
the director’s review of bona fi de medical services 
disputes, and allowed for the delegation of the 
review to a panel of medical experts. (SB 1197)

656.724 (3)(b) Required the board to conduct an 
annual, anonymous survey of attorneys to rate the 
performance of hearings administrative law judges. 
(SB 1197)

1991
656.386 Provided for a reasonable attorney fee 
when an attorney is instrumental in obtaining com-
pensation for a claimant prior to a judge’s decision. 
(SB 540)

1995
656.236 (1)(b) Authorized waiving of the 30-day wait-
ing period for approval of a claim disposition agree-
ment, if the worker was represented by an attorney at 
the time he or she signed the agreement. (SB 369)
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656.245 Allowed the worker to request approval for 
palliative care if the insurer or self-insured em-
ployer denies the care. Subjected the decision of 
the director to a contested case review. Also sub-
jected the director’s decision regarding additional 
changes of attending physician and the director’s 
decision to exclude from compensability any medi-
cal treatment that is unscientifi c or experimental to 
a contested case review. (SB 369)

656.260 (14)-(19) Subjected any dissatisfaction with 
an action of a managed care organization regard-
ing the provision of medical services, peer review, 
or utilization review to administrative review by the 
director. The director’s order is then subjected to a 
contested case hearing if a written request for hear-
ing is fi led with the director. Subjected issues other 
than these to a contested case hearing. (SB 369)

656.268 (4) Changed the appeal period of a no-
tice of closure or determination order to 60 days 
for departmental reconsideration and another 30 
days from the reconsideration order for a hearing 
request. (SB 369) (Now 656.268 (5))

656.278 (2) Removed vocational assistance benefi ts 
from the board’s own-motion authority. (SB 369)

656.283 (1) & (2) Removed vocational assistance 
disputes from jurisdiction of hearings. Provided for 
dispute resolution on vocational assistance through 
nonadversarial procedures to the greatest extent 
possible. Mediated agreements are subject to re-
consideration by the director, but not reviewed by 
any other forum. Appeals of director’s orders go 
to contested case hearing before the director and 
then to the Court of Appeals. (SB 369)

656.283 (7) Prohibited the submission at hearing 
of evidence not submitted on departmental recon-
sideration. (SB 369)

656.307 (6) Provided for resolution of responsibil-
ity disputes by a private mediator. (SB 369)

656.308 (2)(d) Authorized claimant attorney fees 
in responsibility disputes in cases where the at-
torney actively and meaningfully participated in 
fi nally prevailing. (SB 369)

656.313 (1)(a) Authorized stay of payment of compen-
sation appealed, on employer or insurer appeal of a 
director’s order on vocational assistance. (SB 369)

656.319 (6) Authorized hearing for failure to pro-
cess, or correctly process, a claim if the request for 
hearing was made within two years. (SB 369)

656.327 (1) & (2) Gave exclusive jurisdiction over 
all medical treatment disputes to the director, 
including treatment that the injured worker has 
received, is receiving, or will receive. Increased the 
amount of time allowed to issue a medical treat-
ment order from 30 days to 60 days. Subjected the 
director’s medical treatment administrative order 
to a contested case review. (SB 369)

656.385 Mandated payment of claimant attorney 
fees by insurer in contested case hearings held by 
the director (or an appeal from such a hearing) 
where the claimant prevails. (SB 369)

656.390 (1) Authorized administrative law judges 
and the Workers’ Compensation Board to impose 
attorney sanctions for requests for hearing or 
board review that are frivolous, in bad faith, or for 
harassment. (SB 369)

1997
656.262 (10) Stated that an insurer’s or self-insured 
employer’s failure to appeal or seek review of a 
determination order, notice of closure, reconsid-
eration order, or litigation order does not preclude 
them from subsequently contesting the rated con-
dition in the order, unless the condition has been 
formally accepted. (HB 2971)

656.268 (6) Allowed only one reconsideration 
per claim closure; time frames for conducting the 
reconsideration begin when all parties request or 
waive reconsideration rights. (SB 118) (This had 
the effect of undoing the Guardado v. J.R. Simplot 
Company decision.) 

656.268 (7)(d) Provided additional time to allow 
workers to attend rescheduled medical arbiter 
exams and provided for suspension of benefi ts so 
that appeals are held concurrently. (SB 119) (now 
656.268 (7)(e)(B))

1999
656.268 (7)(b) Provided that if neither party to a 
reconsideration requests a medical arbiter and the 
director determines that there is insuffi cient medi-
cal information to determine disability, the depart-
ment may refer the worker to a medical arbiter. 
(SB 220)
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656.268 (7)(e) Provided for the postponement of 
the reconsideration process for 60 days and the 
suspension of benefi ts if a worker fails to attend a 
medical arbiter examination without good cause or 
fails to cooperate with the medical arbiter. (SB 220)

656.704 (2) Created a centralized Hearing Offi cer 
Panel using the administrative law judges of several 
agencies. Appeals of the department’s administra-
tive orders (contested case hearings) are sent to 
this panel. Board orders and nonsubjectivity de-
terminations are excluded from this change. (HB 
2525) (HB 2091 changed this in 2005.)

656.704 (3) Moved jurisdiction to the Workers’ Com-
pensation Board when there is a dispute over the 
need for a proposed medical service caused by an ac-
cepted condition. The board hears the disputes that 
require the determination of the compensability of 
the medical condition for which the medical services 
are proposed or that require the determination that 
a causal relationship exists between medical services 
and an accepted claim. (SB 728)

2001
656.019 and Chapter 865, 2001 laws Established a 
procedure for a civil negligence action for a work-
related injury that has been determined to be not 
compensable because it failed to meet the major 
contributing cause standard. Directed that the de-
partment report to the 2003 Legislature on the num-
bers and outcomes of these cases; directed insurers 
to cooperate with this data collection. (SB 485)

656.268 (6)(a)(A) Allowed for a deposition ar-
ranged by the worker to be included as part of the 
record for the reconsideration process. The deposi-
tion is limited to the testimony and cross-examina-
tion of the worker about the worker’s condition at 
the time of the claim closure. The insurer pays the 
cost. (SB 485)

656.268 (7)(i)(A) Allowed the director to appoint a 
medical arbiter during the reconsideration process 
when the worker is not medically stationary. (SB 297)

656.278 Provided that the rules for the board’s 
own-motion process apply to new or omitted medi-
cal conditions after aggravation rights have ex-
pired. (SB 485)

656.325 (1)(b) Created a process for a worker-
requested medical exam that is made part of a 
hearing on a denial of compensability. When the 
worker has made a timely request for a hearing of 
a compensability denial, the worker may request an 
exam by a physician selected by the department. 
The worker must show that the denial was based 
on the results of an independent medical exam 
with which the attending physician disagreed. The 
insurer pays the costs of the exam. (SB 485) (Now 
656.325 (1)(e))

2003
656.262 (15) Authorized administrative law judges 
to determine what is required of injured workers 
to reasonably cooperate with the investigation of a 
claim in which there are more than one potentially 
responsible employer or insurer. In such cases, 
penalties for untimely claim denial cannot be im-
posed. (SB 63) 

656.268 (5) & (6) Allowed insurers and self-insured 
employers to request the reconsideration of a claim 
closure. The request for reconsideration must be 
based on disagreement with the fi ndings used to 
rate impairment. It must be made within seven 
days of the closure. (SB 285)

656.283 (4) Authorized administrative law judges 
to postpone hearings in which there may be more 
than one responsible employer or insurer. In such 
cases, penalties for untimely claim denial cannot 
be imposed. (SB 63)

656.385 (1) Allowed attorney fees when a claimant 
fi nally prevails in a medical dispute or a vocational 
dispute. (SB 620)

656.726 (4)(f) Redefi ned the criteria for the evalu-
ation of disabilities in terms of permanent impair-
ment and work disability. (SB 757)

656.740 (2) Changed the appeal period for contest-
ing a non-subjectivity determination from 30 days 
to 60 days. (SB 233)

2005
656.054 (4), 656.170 (3), 656.245 (1)-(3), 656.247 
(3)(a), 656.248 (12), 656.254 (3), 656.260 (6) & 
(16)-(18), 656.262 (11)(a), 656.283 (1) & (2)(c), 
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656.327 (1)(a) & (2), 656.385 (1)-(5), 656.440 (1)-
(3), 656.704 (1)-(5), 656.726 (4)(a), and 183.635 
(3) Transferred the responsibility for appeals of 
director’s administrative review cases (primarily on 
medical, vocational, and some penalty issues) from 
the Offi ce of Administrative Hearings to the Hear-
ings Division of the Workers’ Compensation Board. 
(HB 2091)

656.267 (2)(b), 656.278 (4), and 656.298 (1) Clari-
fi ed that regardless of when the worker makes a 
claim for an omitted or new medical condition, if 
the claim is denied, the worker may request a hear-
ing on the denial. Clarifi ed that if a worker’s claim 
for a new or omitted condition is compensable, 
but was made more than fi ve years after the fi rst 
closure of the claim, the claim is to be processed 
under the jurisdiction of the board. Provided that 
any party can appeal an own-motion order from 
the board. Established hearing rights for orders 
issued under own-motion authority of Workers’ 
Compensation Board. (HB 2294)

656.268 (5)(e) Eliminated penalties assessed 
against an insurer or self-insured employer if 
information used during the reconsideration of a 
closure was not reasonably known at the time of 
claim closure. (HB 2404)

656.283 (4) & (5) Required that the board give at 
least 60 days notice of a scheduled hearing, with 
some exceptions. Postponements are to be re-
scheduled within 120 days of the original hearing 
date, with the exception of multiple employer/
insurer responsibility cases. (HB 2717)

656.319 (7) Required that the appeal of the rescis-
sion of PTD benefi ts be made within 60 days of the 
issuance of the notice of closure. (SB 386)

2007
656.236 Allowed the administrative law judge who 
mediates a workers’ compensation claim disposition 
agreement to approve the agreement. (SB 253)

656.386 (2)(d) Allowed for payment of reasonable 
costs for records, expert opinions, and witness fees 
associated with appealing a workers’ compensation 
claim if the claimant prevails. The bill caps reim-
bursement for reasonable costs at $1,500 unless the 
claimant demonstrates extraordinary circumstanc-
es justifying payment of a greater amount. (SB 404)

656.388 (3) Allowed an attorney who represents an in-
jured worker a lien for recovery of fees out of additional 
awarded compensation or the proceeds of a claim settle-
ment if the worker signs an attorney fee agreement for 
representation and the attorney was instrumental in 
obtaining the outcome of the claim. (SB 404)

Insurance
1987
656.262 (5) Allowed employers to pay for medi-
cal services up to $500 for nondisabling claims. 
Excluded these medical costs from modifying the 
employers’ experience rating. (HB 2900) (HB 
3318 increased this to $1,500 in 2005, and SB 762 
indexed it to medical infl ation in 2007.)

656.622 (8) Excluded claim costs incurred as a 
result of an injury sustained by a preferred worker 
during the fi rst two years of hire from data used 
for ratemaking or individual employer rating. (HB 
2900) (Now 656.622 (10))

1990
656.052 (4) Increased the liability of corporations, 
and their offi cers and directors, as noncomplying 
employers. (SB 1197)

656.427 Enacted amendments to insurance cov-
erage termination procedures to better ensure 
continuous coverage availability for employers to 
minimize the magnitude of noncomplying employ-
ers. (SB 1198)

656.622 (8) Extended from two years to three years 
from hire the exclusion from ratemaking for the 
preferred worker claim costs arising from injury 
or occupational disease; changed the program to 
a premium exemption program. (SB 1197) (Now 
656.622 (10))

656.730 (1)(a) Mandated a tiered rating scheme for 
insured employers too small to qualify for experience 
rating plans in the assigned risk pool. (SB 1198)
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656.752 (2)(b) Amended the statutory purpose of 
SAIF Corporation to make insurance available to as 
many Oregon employers as inexpensively as pos-
sible consistent with sound insurance principles. 
(SB 1198)

737.602 Allowed the director to establish a con-
tracting classifi cation premium adjustment pro-
gram. This provided employers subject to contrac-
tor class premium rates the economic incentive to 
enhance safety in the workplace. (SB 1197)

1991
746.230 and 746.240 Subjected the SAIF Corpora-
tion to the portion of the insurance code govern-
ing unfair claims settlement practices and unde-
fi ned trade practices. (SB 24)

1993
656.018, 656.403, 656.850, 656.855, and 737.270 
Established the director’s authority to regulate 
employee-leasing companies. Specifi ed fees and 
methods of licensure by the director, specifi ed the 
responsibility for workers’ compensation coverage 
and the basis for experience rating, required leas-
ing companies to ensure leased workers are prop-
erly trained in safety matters required under ORS 
Chapter 654, and required reporting of client em-
ployers to the director and other statistical informa-
tion to the appropriate rating bureau. (HB 2282)

1997
656.018 (5) and 656.850 (1) Clarifi ed the defi -
nition of employees of temporary employment 
companies and their exclusive remedy provisions. 
(SB 699)

656.307 (1)(b) Required that insurers submit 
claim closures of pro rata and paying agent claims 
to WCD for redetermination. All parties have the 
right to request reconsideration. (SB 116)

656.593 (6) & (7) Allowed workers to release in-
surer liability in a third-party action that exceeds $1 
million. (SB 484)

1999
656.170, 656.172, and 656.174 Allowed for the 
director to establish a process for up to two con-
struction trades unions to receive authorization to 
collectively bargain agreements for workers’ com-
pensation benefi ts. This bill was established as a 

pilot project where eligibility for such agreements 
would end Jan. 1, 2002. The bill also required a 
status report to the 2001 Legislature. (HB 2450)

656.430 (7) Removed the “same industry” require-
ment to be included in a self-insured employer 
group. (SB 591)

737.017, 737.225, 737.265, 737.270, 737.355, and 
737.560 Authorized the director to license one or 
more rating organizations for workers’ compensa-
tion insurance under the insurance code. The bill 
specifi ed the services to be provided by the work-
ers’ compensation rating organization. (SB 280)

746.147 Prohibited an insurer or agent from quot-
ing projected net insurance premiums that are not 
guaranteed in the policy. (HB 2021)

2001
656.210 (2)(c) Stated that the supplemental tem-
porary disability benefi ts paid for multiple jobs are 
not to be used for ratemaking or for individual 
employer rating or dividend calculations. (SB 485) 

656.772, 657.774, and 656.776 Required the Sec-
retary of State to conduct an annual audit of the 
SAIF Corporation, paid for by SAIF. The bill speci-
fi es the subjects of the audit. (HB 3980)

2003
656.407 (2) & (3) Modifi ed the types of security de-
posits required by self-insured employers. (SB 233)

646.427 Modifi ed the reporting requirements for 
an insurer’s termination of a guaranty contract. 
(SB 233)

2005
656.430 (13) Authorized public utilities with more 
than $500 million in assets to obtain workers’ com-
pensation excess insurance coverage from eligible 
surplus lines insurers. (HB 2718)

656.262 (5) Increased the amount an employer 
may pay for medical services for nondisabling 
workers’ compensation claims from $500 to $1,500. 
(HB 3318)

2007
737.322 (1) Allowed a surcharge on assigned risk 
plan members, if necessary, to help pay the costs 
of assigned risk pool losses when the losses exceed 
premiums. (HB 2250)
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656.427(2) Extended the notice requirement to an 
employer from 30 days to 45 days when an insurer 
terminates the employer’s workers’ compensation 
insurance. Notice was shortened to 10 days in the 
event of nonpayment of premiums. (HB 2783)

656.427(1) Removes  the requirement that employ-
ers and insurers provide proof of workers’ compen-
sation coverage by fi ling a guaranty contract with 
DCBS and instead requires the insurer to provide 
insurance policy information to DCBS as the 
proof of workers’ compensation coverage. The bill 

streamlines reporting requirements for insurers 
and eliminates an unnecessary duplicate fi ling with 
the state. (Operative July 1, 2009) (SB 559)

656.262(5) Required the department to annu-
ally set the amount of nondisabling medical costs 
that an employer can voluntarily pay to minimize 
impact on the employer’s experience rating. The 
threshold amount is based on the change in the 
medical services consumer price index, rounded to 
the nearest $100. (SB 762)

payments from the Workers’ Benefi t Fund to 
injured workers when an insurer has defaulted on 
its obligations to pay claims but has not yet been 
placed in liquidation by the court. After liquidation 
proceedings are completed and the insurer placed 
in receivership, the Oregon Insurance Guaranty 
Association will refund the Workers’ Benefi t Fund 
any moneys advanced. (SB 977)

656.506 (6) Allowed Workers’ Benefi t Fund assess-
ments to be reported annually. (SB 354)

2003
Chapter 781, 2003 laws Required SAIF to create 
a reinsurance program for medical liability insur-
ance for rural doctors. SAIF was allowed to write off 
the cost of the program as an expense against its 
assessment. (HB 3630)

2005
656.605 (1)(g) Provided that insurers and self-in-
sured employers be reimbursed from the Workers’ 
Benefi t Fund for permanent total benefi ts paid on 
appeal if the insurer’s decision is upheld. (SB 386) 

656.313 (1)(a)(D) and 656.605 (2)(g) Provided that 
insurers and self-insured employers be reimbursed 
from the Workers’ Benefi t Fund when a denial of vo-
cational benefi ts is upheld by a fi nal order. (SB 119)

Workers’ Benefi t Fund and Premium Assessment
1987
656.625 Established the Reopened Claims Reserve 
for reimbursing to insurers the additional amounts 
of compensation payable to injured workers for 
board own-motion cases; excluded own-motion 
claims costs from loss experience. (HB 2900)

1997
656.790 Increased the Workers’ Benefi t Fund 
reserves to 12 months of anticipated expenditures. 
(SB 484) (Now 656.506)

1999
656.506 Made permanent the policy that the Work-
ers’ Benefi t Fund will maintain a target balance of 
12 months of anticipated expenditures. (SB 213)

656.530 Eliminated the 75 percent reimbursement of 
workers’ compensation premium for rehabilitation 
facilities from the Workers’ Benefi t Fund. (SB 288)

656.612 (5) Required the director to use the rule-
making process to establish workers’ compensation 
premium assessments. (SB 592)

2001
656.445, 656.506 (4), 656.605 (2)(a), 734.360, 
734.510, 734.570, 734.630, 734.635, and 734.695 
Established the director’s authority to advance 
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Appendix 2 - Workers’ Compensation Court Cases
A number of appellate decisions have modifi ed the legislative reform of the workers’ compensation system. 
Some of the major decisions since 1991 are as follows:

1991
Robertson, 43 Van Natta 1505 (1991) The Court 
of Appeals ruled that “objective fi ndings” did not 
mean solely physically verifi able impairments. Such 
a fi nding may also be based on the physician’s 
evaluation of the worker’s subjective complaints, in 
this case a description of the pain she was experi-
encing. (In 1995, SB 369 reversed this decision by 
requiring that objective fi ndings be reproducible, 
measurable, or observable.)

1992
SAIF v. Herron, 114 Or App 64 (1992) The Court 
of Appeals ruled that 1990 amendments raising 
the dollar value of a degree of PPD were subject to 
ORS 656.202 and thus were to be applied based on 
the injury date rather than the award date.

1993
Colclasure v. Washington County School District, 
317 Or 526 (1993) The Supreme Court ruled that 
when reviewing a director’s decision on a vocation-
al dispute, the hearings administrative law judge 
may make independent fi ndings of fact. (In 1995, 
SB 369 reversed the effect of the decision by plac-
ing jurisdiction in WCD.)

England v. Thunderbird, 315 Or 633 (1993) The 
Supreme Court ruled that disability rating rules, 
adopted by the department pursuant to 1987 law 
changes, were invalid because they failed to con-
sider all factors used to determine loss of earning 
capacity. (In 1995, SB 369 reversed the effect of the 
decision.)

Jefferson v. Sam’s Cafe, 123 Or App 464 (1993) 
The Court of Appeals ruled that the director’s 
authority in medical treatment disputes is limited 
by statute to treatment the claimant is receiving; 
therefore, disputes over proposed treatments must 
be decided at the Hearings Division. (In 1995, SB 
369 reverseed the effect of the decision by placing 
jurisdiction in WCD.)

Meyers v. Darigold, 123 Or App 217 (1993) The 
Court of Appeals ruled that the director has ju-
risdiction in medical treatment disputes only if a 

party requests it; otherwise, the dispute may go to 
hearings. (In 1995, SB 369 reversed the effect of 
the decision.)

Safeway Stores v. Smith, 122 Or App 160 (1993) 
The Court of Appeals ruled that while there is a 
limitation on evidence the director may consider in 
a reconsideration, there is no comparable limita-
tion on evidence an administrative law judge may 
consider at a hearing on the same issue. (In 1995, 
SB 369 reversed the effect of the decision.)

Stone v. Whittier Wood Products, 124 Or App 117 
(1993) The Court of Appeals ruled that long-stand-
ing department rules basing the computation of 
temporary partial disability benefi ts on the actual 
modifi ed work wage were invalid since they failed 
to consider the worker’s “earning power at any 
kind of work” as specifi ed in statute. (In 1995, SB 
369 reversed the effect of the decision.)

U-Haul of Oregon v. Burtis, 120 Or App 353 
(1993) The Court of Appeals ruled that medical 
treatment for a pre-existing degenerative condition 
was compensable if a compensable injury caused 
the pre-existing condition to need treatment, as 
long as the injury was the major contributing cause 
of the need for treatment.

1994
Allen v. SAIF, 320 Or 192 (1994) The Supreme 
Court ruled that a medical bill paid untimely con-
stituted a “de facto denial” for which attorney fees 
could be assessed under ORS 656.386(1), rather 
than the provisions of ORS 656.262(10). Under 
ORS 656.262(10), attorney fees had been limited 
to half the penalty amount on issues of delay or 
refusal to pay compensation. One intent of this 
provision had been to ensure that attorney fees did 
not exceed the value of the interest involved in an 
issue. The effect of this decision may have been 
to convert many instances of untimely payment to 
de facto denials, thus increasing the potential for 
large attorney fees. (In 1995, SB 369 reversed the 
effect of the decision.)



118

BIENNIAL REPORT ON THE OREGON WORKERS’ COMPENSATION SYSTEM  ■  December 2008

Leslie v. U.S. Bancorp, 129 Or App 1 (1994) The 
Court of Appeals ruled that the law did not pre-
clude a party from raising an issue at hearing that 
was not raised in or did not arise out of the preced-
ing reconsideration. (In 1995, SB 369 reversed the 
effect of the decision.)

Messmer v. Delux Cabinet Works, 130 Or App 254 
(1994) The Court of Appeals ruled that the failure 
to appeal a determination order barred the later 
denial of conditions rated in that order. (SB 369 
contained language stating that the payment of 
permanent disability did not preclude insurers from 
contesting compensability. The language was intend-
ed to reverse the effects of this decision. In 1996, an-
other decision was issued (see below), and the 1997 
Legislature passed new language in HB 2971.) 

1995
Errand v. Cascade Steel Rolling Mills, 320 Or 509 
(1995) The Supreme Court ruled that the exclusive 
remedy provisions of Oregon workers’ compensa-
tion law are operative only for claims found to be 
compensable under workers’ compensation law. 
Employers’ immunity from civil suits only extends 
to injuries compensated through the workers’ 
compensation system. Thus, workers whose claims 
are work-related but not compensable are not 
precluded from pursuing civil actions. (In 1995, 
SB 369 reversed the effect of the decision. In 2001, 
the decision in Smothers v. Gresham Transfer, Inc. 
modifi ed the effects of SB 369.)

Altamirano v. Woodburn Nursery, 133 Or App 16 
(1995) The Court of Appeals held that the depart-
ment had impermissibly interpreted the 30-day 
limitation on attending physician status for chiro-
practors as applying to only the initial claim. The 
court reasoned that the meaning of “claim” includ-
ed requests to reopen a previously closed claim; 
thus, there may be multiple 30-day periods for a 
single injury. 

Welliver Welding Works v. Farmen, 133 Or App 
203 (1995) The Court of Appeals held that the Leg-
islature had intended vocational assistance eligibil-
ity decisions to be based on the claimant’s wage at 
the time of the original injury. The decision invali-
dated a department rule that used the wage at the 
time of aggravation in reopened claims.

1996
Delux Cabinet Works v. Messmer, 140 Or App 548 
(1996) The Court of Appeals stated that SB 369, 
despite the Legislature’s intent, did not reverse the 
earlier court decision that the failure to appeal did 
preclude later denials. (HB 2971, passed by the 1997 
Legislature, reversed the effect of the decision.)

SAIF Corporation v. Walker, 145 Or App 294 
(1996) The Court of Appeals considered the mean-
ing of the change in the defi nition of an aggrava-
tion in SB 369. The court reviewed the legislative 
history and determined that a symptomatic worsen-
ing is not suffi cient to establish an aggravation; in-
stead, proof of pathological worsening is required. 
The Supreme Court affi rmed the decision in 2000.

1997
Fister v. South Hills Health Care, 149 Or App 214 
(1997) The Court of Appeals considered a case in 
which claimant testimony about a closure that was 
not submitted at reconsideration was presented 
and admitted at the hearing. The court ruled that, 
because there was no objection at the hearing, the 
evidence could be considered by the administrative 
law judge and, on review, by the board.

1998
SAIF Corporation v. Shipley, 326 Or 557 (1998) 
The Supreme Court vacated a board order 
that a claimant’s claim for medical services was 
compensable. The hearing had initially involved 
the issue of aggravation, and the claimant argued 
that the medical treatments were related to the 
original accepted condition. The board held that 
the medical services claim was compensable. The 
court found that the proper jurisdiction was the 
directors’ review, not the board. Because there was 
no statutory provision of the board to remand to 
the director, the only correct board action was to 
dismiss the case.

1999
Johansen v. SAIF Corporation, 158 Or App 672 
(1999) The Court of Appeals ruled that a claim for 
a new medical condition could be brought at any 
time. It is not limited by the time frames for reclas-
sifying claims or for aggravations. 
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O’Neil v. National Union Fire, 152 Or App 497 
(1999) The Court of Appeals ruled that the depart-
ment’s contested case hearing procedures had 
been followed as written. The claimant had argued 
that the department was required to conduct a 
full-scale contested case procedure at a contested 
case hearing; the department had instead fol-
lowed a more limited procedure. The court deter-
mined that this procedure is consistent with ORS 
656.327(2).

2000
Koskela v. Willamette Industries, Inc., 331 Or 362 
(2000) The Supreme Court ruled that the SB 369 
amendment of ORS 656.283(7) was an uncon-
stitutional deprivation of a worker’s due process 
rights. The amendment prohibited at hearing any 
evidence that was not a part of the reconsidera-
tion process. The court balanced three factors: 
the claimant’s interest in the outcome; the risk of 
an erroneous decision and the value of additional 
safeguards; and the government’s interest as well as 
the administrative burdens that additional proce-
dures would entail. Specifi cally in PTD cases, the 
court found that, at a minimum, a worker should 
have the opportunity to provide oral testimony 
about his willingness to work and his efforts at 
fi nding work. The existing process did not offer 
adequate safeguards against mistakes.

Robinson v. Nabisco, Inc., 331 Or 178 (2000) The 
Supreme Court ruled that a back injury suffered 
during an independent medical exam arose out of 
and in the course of employment. Therefore, it was 
a new, compensable injury.

2001
Lumbermans Mutual v. Crawford, 332 Or 404 
(2001) The Supreme Court ruled that ORS 656.262 
(4)(g) applied to all claims. The statute states that 
attending physicians cannot authorize the payment 
of temporary disability benefi ts more than 14 days 
retroactively. This decision vacated board orders 
that found that this section dealt with procedural 
compensation while the claim was open, not to sub-
stantive compensation after the claim was closed. 

Rash v. McKinstry Company, 331 Or 665 (2001) 
The Supreme Court ruled that when a claim dis-
position agreement “resolves all matters … arising 
out of claims,” all matters are resolved, including 

insurers’ matters. In this case, after a CDA was 
concluded, the insurer was not entitled to recover 
its claim costs after the claimant received a third-
party award. The language involved was part of SB 
369 and had been an attempt to clarify the statute. 
Prior to this ruling, the interpretation had been 
that the CDA extinguished just the claimant’s right 
to additional benefi ts.

Smothers v. Gresham Transfer, Inc., 332 Or 83 
(2001) The Supreme Court ruled that the exclusive 
remedy provisions of ORS 656.018 were unconsti-
tutional. When a workers’ compensation claim is 
denied for failure to prove the work-related inci-
dent was the major contributing cause of the injury 
or condition, the claimant could be left without a 
legal remedy. Under these circumstances, the em-
ployee may take civil action against his employer. 
(The 2001 Legislature, in SB 485, set out the pro-
cess for these actions.) 

2002
SAIF Corporation v. Lewis, 335 Or 92 (2002) The 
Supreme Court reversed a Court of Appeals ruling 
that the requirement for “medical evidence sup-
ported by objective fi ndings” in determining claim 
compensability meant that the indications of an 
occupational illness had to be verifi able at the time 
of the claimant’s exam. The court stated that the stat-
ute means the occupational illness had to be verifi ed 
at some time, not necessarily at the time of the exam.

Everett v. SAIF Corporation, 179 Or App 112 
(2002) The Court of Appeals ruled that a claim-
ant could not testify about his job duties at hear-
ing because he had not offered written testimony 
about these duties at reconsideration. These duties 
were used in determining functional capacity in 
the computation of the permanent partial disabil-
ity award. Because the evidence was not submitted 
during the reconsideration process, the claimant 
had not exhausted his administrative remedies at 
reconsideration; therefore, he could not pursue 
the matter on appeal.

Icenhower v. SAIF Corporation, 180 Or App 297 
(2002) The Court of Appeals ruled that the Hear-
ings Division retained jurisdiction on penalties 
after all other issues in the case had been resolved. 
(ORS 656.262(11) gives the director exclusive juris-
diction over penalty-only cases.)
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Talley v. BCI Coca-Cola Bottling, 184 Or App 129 
(2002) The Court of Appeals ruled that the Hear-
ings Division had jurisdiction to consider a claim-
ant’s request for a hearing concerning the em-
ployer’s notice of closure issued after the claimant’s 
authorized training program had ended. The court 
stated that this was a matter concerning a claim, as 
stated in ORS 656.283(1).

Machuca-Ramirez v. Zephyr Engineering, Inc., 184 
Or App 565 (2002) The Court of Appeals ruled 
that the permanent partial disability award in a 
notice of closure was not the lower limit on the 
PPD award and that the employer could appeal an 
administrative law judge’s decision that reinstated 
the original award after an order on reconsidera-
tion reduced the award to zero. The court said this 
appeal was not an appeal of the notice of closure.

2003
SAIF Corporation v. Dubose, 335 Or 579 (2003) 
The Supreme Court ruled that the phrase in ORS 
656.262(15), “the worker shall not be granted a 
hearing … unless the worker fi rst requests and 
establishes at an expedited hearing …” means the 
claimant must request a hearing, not that she must 
request an expedited hearing. It is up to the board 
to set the expedited hearing. This ruling reversed 
the decision of the Court of Appeals.

Kahn v. Providence Health Plan, 335 Or 460 
(2003) The Supreme Court stated that ORS 
656.260(8) precludes an injured worker from 
bringing an action for damages arising out of a 
managed care organization’s conclusion that a 
proposed medical treatment is unnecessary. The 
MCO’s conclusion had come out of its utilization 
review process. The circuit court had not decided 
the case on that ground, so the high court remand-
ed the case. 

French-Davis v. Grand Central Bowl, 186 Or App 
280 (2003) The Court of Appeals ruled that the 
board had erroneously dismissed a claimant’s 
request for a hearing to challenge the insurer’s fail-
ure to close the claim. ORS 656.319(6) states that 
the request must be fi led within two years after the 
inaction occurred. The insurer argued that the lim-
itation began on the date the claim was accepted. 
The court agreed with the claimant that it began 
on the date the claimant fi rst requested closure.

Basmaci v. The Stanley Works, 187 Or App 337 
(2003) The Court of Appeals ruled that the sub-
mission of Form 827, the fi rst medical report of a 
claim, did not fulfi ll the requirements for a request 
for acceptance of a new medical condition.

Braden v. SAIF Corporation, 187 Or App 494 
(2003) The Court of Appeals ruled that the board 
erred when reviewing a claim compensability case. 
The board had decided that the claim was for a 
combined condition, that the claim should be 
accepted for a period and then denied after the 
condition was no longer the major contributing 
cause for the need for treatment. The court agreed 
with the claimant that the insurer must fi rst accept 
a combined condition claim before the combined 
condition could be denied.

2004
Trujillo v. Pacifi c Safety Supply, 336 Or 349 (2004) 
The Supreme Court upheld a Court of Appeals rul-
ing that the claimant did not have the right to give 
oral testimony concerning his basic functional ca-
pacity at hearing. The functional capacity was used 
in part to determine his PPD award. The Supreme 
Court said the claimant did not have a constitution-
al right to present new evidence at a hearing when 
he had foregone the opportunity to present written 
evidence at reconsideration.

Logsdon v. SAIF Corporation, 336 Or 349 (2004) 
The Supreme Court upheld a Court of Appeals rul-
ing that the claimant did not have the right to cross-
examine doctors at hearing. He wished to cross-ex-
amine them regarding his medically stationary date. 
This date was used in determining time-loss benefi ts. 
The Supreme Court said that the claimant did not 
have a constitutional right to present new evidence, 
including oral testimony, at a hearing when he had 
bypassed the opportunity to present written evi-
dence during the reconsideration process.

Day v. Advanced M&D Sales, Inc., 336 Or 511 
(2004) The Supreme Court ruled that the fi ling of 
a workers’ compensation claim and the receipt of 
benefi ts does not bar a worker from later claiming 
that he was not a subject worker. The case involved 
a person who was employed part of the time as a 
salesperson and part of the time as an independent 
contractor. He was a subject worker while working 
as a salesperson, but not while a contractor. This de-
cision reversed the ruling by the Court of Appeals.
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Vsetacka v. Safeway, 337 Or 502 (2004) The Su-
preme Court found that ORS 656.265 does not 
explicitly require a formalistic injury notice. Rath-
er, it requires injured workers to include enough 
information so the employer knows there may be 
a compensable injury. In this case, the claimant’s 
three written entries in the employer’s injury log 
were suffi cient.

Cloud v. Klamath County School District, 191 Or 
App 610 (2004) The Court of Appeals upheld the 
board’s fi nding that the claimant’s accepted con-
dition was not solely caused by, and not merely a 
symptom of, the pre-existing degenerative condi-
tion. Therefore, the degenerative condition was 
excluded from the determination of whether the 
accepted condition was the major contributing 
cause of the need for treatment.

Stockdale v. SAIF Corporation, 192 Or App 289 
(2004) The Court of Appeals ruled that an insurer 
could both accept and deny parts of a combined 
condition in the same document as long as the 
denial effective date was later than the acceptance 
effective date. It said this practice was consistent 
with ORS 656.262(6)(c), which contains the phrase 
“… later denying the combined … condition.”

Lederer v. Viking Freight, Inc., 193 Or App 226 
(2004) The Court of Appeals ruled that a doctor 
does not need to explicitly authorize temporary 
disability benefi ts when an “objectively reasonable” 
insurer or self-insured employer would understand 
that the medical reports imply such authorization. 

Freightliner LLC v. Holman, 195 Or App 716 
(2004) The Court of Appeals concluded that the 
plain meaning of the statute indicated that an oc-
cupational disease claim must be fi led within one 
year from the latest of four specifi ed events. The 
court observed that nothing in the language of 
the statute indicated that the specifi ed event must 
already have transpired at the time of claim fi ling. 
The court affi rmed the board’s order, which held 
that the claimant’s occupational disease claim for 
hearing loss was not void because neither of the 
events (the date the claimant becomes disabled or 
is informed by a physician that he is suffering from 
an occupational disease) had occurred when he 
fi led his claim.

2005
Lewis v. Cigna, 339 Or 342 (2005) The Supreme 
Court ruled that a claim could not be denied be-
cause the worker refused to submit to an insurer-
requested independent medical exam. The 
justices determined that the Legislature intended 
to limit sanctions in such cases to the suspension 
of benefi ts.

Morales v. SAIF, 339 Or 574 (2005) The Supreme 
Court determined that SAIF could reduce the time-
loss rate because the worker was released to modi-
fi ed work, even though he couldn’t actually return 
because he’d been terminated for violating work 
rules. The court found that the employer had satis-
fi ed the requirements of ORS 656.325(5) by creat-
ing a modifi ed job to accommodate the worker and 
by implementing a written policy of offering modi-
fi ed jobs.

Managed Healthcare Northwest v. DCBS, 338 Or 
92 (2005) In this case, the issue was a rule prohibit-
ing managed care organizations from using past 
practices as a basis to deny authorization of non-
member physicians from treating subject workers. 
The Supreme Court found that the rule did not 
exceed agency authority, nor did it confl ict with 
statute or policy.

SAIF v. Drury, 202 Or App 14 (2005) The Court of 
Appeals held that a worker’s self-reported symptoms 
of cold intolerance constituted objective fi ndings 
to support a permanent disability award. The court 
stated that the indications did not need to actually 
be verifi ed, they only needed to be verifi able.

Dedera v. Raytheon Engineers & Constrs, 200 
Or App 1 (2005) The Court of Appeals held that 
an ongoing time-loss authorization by a worker’s 
prior attending physician continues when there is 
a change in attending physician. The insurer is not 
entitled to terminate time loss for that reason.

Ainsworth v. SAIF, 202 Or App 708 (2005) The 
Court of Appeals held that OAR 436-035-0390(12) 
exceeded the director’s authority. It precluded an 
unscheduled disability for psychiatric disability be-
cause the claimant had also incurred brain damage 
from the injury. The court decided that the rule 
failed to provide compensation for all of the injury-
caused disability.
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Allied Waste Industries v. Crawford, 203 Or App 
512 (2005) To determine the major contributing 
cause when an otherwise compensable injury com-
bines with a pre-existing condition, the Court of 
Appeals ruled that the contributions of each cause, 
including the precipitating cause, must be weighed.

2006
Roberts v. SAIF, 341 Or 48 (2006) The Supreme 
Court held that a worker’s injury, which occurred 
while he was riding a motorcycle on his employ-
er’s car lot, was not compensable because he was 
injured while performing a recreational or social 
activity primarily for personal pleasure. The worker 
had stipulated that motorcycle riding served no 
business purpose and that the employer gained no 
benefi t from it.

Merle West Medical Center v. Parker, 207 Or App 
24 (2006) The Court of Appeals set aside a car-
rier’s denial of the claimant’s aggravation claim 
for a bilateral wrist condition. The court reasoned 
that the claimant’s attending physician’s opinion, 
which was based on the claimant’s reports of her 
symptoms and the physician’s medical knowledge, 
was suffi cient to establish that the worsening of 
her compensable wrist condition was supported by 
objective fi ndings.

Multnomah County v. Obie, 207 Or App 482 
(2006) The Court of Appeals affi rmed the board’s 
fi nding that a pre-existing chronic depression 
was not a “pre-existing condition” under ORS 
656.005(24)(a). The insurer contended that the 
claimant’s “vulnerability” was a pre-existing condi-
tion, and it was not excluded for disease claims. 
The court found that the 2001 Legislature’s intent 
was to eliminate predisposition as a pre-existing 
condition in both injury and disease claims.

United Airlines v. Anderson, 207 Or App 493 (2006) 
The Court of Appeals agreed that the claimant’s 
time-loss rate should be based on her “at-injury” 
wage, which was increased retroactively in a bar-
gaining agreement that occurred after the injury.

Karjalainen v. Curtis Johnson & Pennywise, Inc., 
208 Or App 674 (2006) The court held that, for the 
purpose of determining a pre-existing condition, 
“arthritis or an arthritic condition” refers to joint 
infl ammation. The interpretation of the statutory 
phrase is a matter of law, so this inexact term must 
be given its common, ordinary meaning; it should 
not be based on case-by-case medical opinion. 
(ORS 656.005(24) requires pre-existing conditions, 
except arthritis, be previously diagnosed or treated 
if the combined condition is to be compensable.) 

2008
Sisco v. Quicker-Recovery, 218 Or App 376 (2008) 
The court held that the claimant’s injury, which 
occurred when he resisted a police offi cer’s request 
to exit his employer’s tow truck, was compensable. 
The court reasoned that the worker’s interaction 
with the police offi cer related to the method of 
performing the ultimate work, so the injury oc-
curred “in the course of” his employment. The 
“arising out of” prong of the compensability ques-
tion was satisfi ed because his work environment ex-
posed him to the risk of the interaction with police, 
and the motivation for his conduct originated, at 
least partly, from the workplace.

SAIF v. Sprague, 221 Or App 413 (2008) The court 
found that a compensable knee injury was a mate-
rial cause of the need for weight-loss surgery. The 
board did not need to determine whether the 
compensable injury caused his obesity. Earlier, the 
court had ruled that a noncompensable condi-
tion is compensable if its treatment is necessary to 
the treatment of the compensable injury or any 
compensable consequential conditions.
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