

## Top 25 most-frequently-violated Oregon OSHA standards cited during inspections opened in calendar year 2000 - logging

Rank	Standard violated	Subject	Total violations	Serious	Repeat	Willful	Other	Total initial penalties	Serious	Repeat	Willful	Other
1	437-6-045(6)	Personal protective equip, chainsaws	20	17	3	0	0	\$6,765	\$2,165	\$4,600	\$0	\$0
2	437-6-050(2)	Minimum first aid supplies	17	1	2	0	14	\$565	\$165	\$400	\$0	\$0
3	437-6-050(17)	First aid training	11	0	1	0	10	\$200	\$0	\$200	\$0	\$0
4	437-6-310(12)	Material stored near pinch point	11	3	1	0	7	\$1,050	\$850	\$200	\$0	\$0
5	437-6-045(1)	Protective equipment maintenance	10	2	0	0	8	\$200	\$200	\$0	\$0	\$0
6	437-6-050(5)	Post coordinates at remote worksite	10	0	0	0	10	\$0	\$0	\$0	\$0	\$0
7	437-6-045(9)	Hearing protection	8	4	0	0	4	\$655	\$655	\$0	\$0	\$0
8	437-6-565(9)	Warning horn- radio-controlled equipmer	nt 7	5	0	0	2	\$3,185	\$3,185	\$0	\$0	\$0
9	437-6-065(4)	Chain brakes & safety equip operational	6	6	0	0	0	\$730	\$730	\$0	\$0	\$0
10	437-6-015(3)(a)	Monthly safety meetings for employees	5	1	0	0	4	\$300	\$300	\$0	\$0	\$0
11	437-6-080(1)(a)	Basic fire suppression training	5	1	0	0	4	\$100	\$100	\$0	\$0	\$0
12	437-6-585(1)(c)	Notification of stolen radio device	5	0	0	0	5	\$0	\$0	\$0	\$0	\$0
13	437-1-052	Rpt occ fatality, catastrophe, accident	4	0	0	0	4	\$1,500	\$0	\$0	\$0	\$1,500
14	437-6-015	Safety & health program	4	1	0	0	3	\$100	\$100	\$0	\$0	\$0
15	437-6-045(2)	Hard hats	4	3	0	0	1	\$700	\$700	\$0	\$0	\$0
16	1910.23(c)(1)	Guarding open-sided floors, platforms	3	2	0	0	1	\$540	\$540	\$0	\$0	\$0
17	437-6-015(4)	Job safety training for employees	3	3	0	0	0	\$4,500	\$4,500	\$0	\$0	\$0
18	437-6-045(10)	Emrgncy whistle for lone chainsaw opers	3	0	0	0	3	\$0	\$0	\$0	\$0	\$0
19	437-6-055(3)	Heads of shock or impact-driven tools	3	1	0	0	2	\$100	\$100	\$0	\$0	\$0
20	437-6-055(6)	Racks, boxes, holsters- hand/ pwr tool	3	3	0	0	0	\$470	\$470	\$0	\$0	\$0
21	437-6-260(35)	Guards for moving parts- logging machin	e 3	2	0	0	1	\$280	\$280	\$0	\$0	\$0
22	437-6-435(20)	Required wrappers on log loads	3	0	0	0	3	\$0	\$0	\$0	\$0	\$0
23	437-6-585(1)(b)	Tone frequency permit for radios	3	0	1	0	2	\$200	\$0	\$200	\$0	\$0
24	1910.157(e)(3)	Portable fire extinguishers checked	2	0	0	0	2	\$0	\$0	\$0	\$0	\$0
25	1910.215(b)(9)	Abrasive wheel exposure adjustment	2	1	0	0	1	\$270	\$270	\$0	\$0	\$0

Source: Research & Analysis Section, Oregon Department of Consumer & Business Services (08/01)