
Twenty-five most-frequently-violated Oregon OSHA             
    standards cited during inspections opened in calendar year 1996

                                 Logging   
     

Rank Standard Violated Subject
Total

Violations Serious Repeat Willful Other
Total Initial
Penalties Serious Repeat Willful Other

1 437-6-050(5) Post coordinates at remote worksite 30 1 4 0 25 $900 $100 $800 $0 $0 

2 437-6-045(6) Personal protective equip, chainsaws 27 25 2 0 0 $4,350 $3,150 $1,200 $0 $0 

3 437-6-050(17) First aid training 27 0 0 0 27 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 

4 437-6-050(2) Minimum first aid supplies 26 4 1 0 21 $2,895 $2,695 $200 $0 $0 

5 437-6-310(12) Material stored near pinch point 22 19 0 0 3 $4,375 $4,375 $0 $0 $0 

6 437-6-015 Safety & health program 19 10 0 0 9 $12,960 $11,960 $0 $0 $1,000 

7 437-6-045(9) Hearing protection 19 15 0 0 4 $1,535 $1,535 $0 $0 $0 

8 437-6-015(3)(A) Safety & health program 14 0 0 0 14 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 

9 437-6-065(4) Chain brakes & safety equipment 11 8 0 0 3 $835 $835 $0 $0 $0 

10 437-6-045(10) Emergency whistle for lone chain saw operator 8 0 0 0 8 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 

11 437-6-045(3) High-visibility vest or hat 8 2 0 0 6 $265 $265 $0 $0 $0 

12 437-6-080(1)(A) Basic fire suppression training 8 2 0 0 6 $330 $330 $0 $0 $0 

13 437-6-565(2) Posting of standard & alternate signals 7 0 0 0 7 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 

14 437-1-052 Reporting occ fatality, catastrophe or accident 6 0 0 0 6 $1,500 $0 $0 $0 $1,500 

15 437-6-260(37) Non-slip material on machine deck & foot cntrl 6 0 0 0 6 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 

16 437-6-045(2) Hard hats 5 4 0 0 1 $575 $575 $0 $0 $0 

17 437-6-050(9) Qualified first aid not available 5 0 0 0 5 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 

18 437-6-065(3) Brakes on power chain saws 5 5 0 0 0 $630 $630 $0 $0 $0 

19 437-6-170(1) ID plates on portable metal spars 5 0 0 0 5 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 

20 437-6-270(3) Rmv or rplc broken glass obstructing vision 5 0 0 0 5 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 

21 437-6-565(6) Rigging crew transmitters 5 4 0 0 1 $665 $665 $0 $0 $0 

22 437-2-223(7)(I) Worker protection during materials transport 4 3 0 0 1 $470 $470 $0 $0 $0 

23 437-6-025(2) Warning ribbons @ landg & carried by cutters 4 0 0 0 4 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 

24 437-6-205(3) Replace worn or damaged cables 4 4 0 0 0 $4,075 $4,075 $0 $0 $0 

25 437-6-240(9) Tie-back requirements for guyline anchor cables 4 4 0 0 0 $2,525 $2,525 $0 $0 $0 

   
     Source:  Oregon Department of Consumer & Business Services Research & Analysis Section                                                    440-2479C (12/97/IMD)
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