Adjusters or Consultants
No continuing education is required for adjusters or consultants.
Continuing education is required for all resident Oregon producers with Life, Health, Property, Casualty, Personal Lines, Surplus Lines or Variable Life Lines of authority listed on the license. The purpose of the continuing education program is to promote trustworthy and competent insurance services for the public by requiring a sufficient number of hours for insurance training.
CE hours are due by the last day of the renewal month. For each renewal cycle, a total of 24 hours of CE credit must be reported to our office. Of these 24 hours, a minimum of 3 hours must be on the subject of professional ethics for the insurance producer, and a minimum of 3 hours must be on the subject of Oregon statutes and administrative rules, including recent changes. A maximum of 4 hours in approved agency management courses is allowed at each renewal. Copies of the certificates of completion from each CE course you take should be submitted at renewal. You should keep your original copies for your records.
Producers selling long term care insurance, flood insurance or annuities must complete supplemental training before selling these products. The appointing insurers are responsible for verifying that all producers selling theses products have gone through the appropriate training, so the completion of these supplemental trainings do not need to be reported to the division, but they may be included in the total number of hours necessary to renew the license if they are Oregon approved courses.
All CE courses taken after May 7, 2012 will be recorded in the SBS system. Oregon resident producers now have the ability to view their CE transcripts in real time. The responsibility of reporting course completions will be handled by the education providers, therefore licensees will no longer submit their CE data themselves.
Any CE course taken prior to the implementation of SBS will not be reflected in SBS. Any courses that have been taken after the SBS implementation will be reflected in the individual's records. For the next renewal, a producer should verify the number of hours that have been uploaded into SBS and send in any missing hours via a certificate of completion as you have always done.
In order to sell flood insurance, each producer must complete a one-time 3-hour continuing education course about the federal flood insurance program. If this course has been approved for Oregon CE credit, it may be submitted with the renewal and counted toward the total 24 hour obligation necessary to renew the license. The Division recommends that producers who sell flood insurance take additional continuing education about flood insurance after meeting the one-time requirement.
Long term care
A person shall not sell, solicit or negotiate long term care insurance unless they have completed a one-time, 8-hour initial training course. 4 hours of ongoing training must be completed every 24 months after taking the initial 8-hour course in order to continue transacting long term care insurance. Oregon does not track compliance with the long term care requirement. The appointing insurers are responsible for ensuring that their producers have completed all the necessary trainings.
Any insurance producer who engages in the sale of annuity products must complete a one-time four credit training course provided by a continuing education provider registered with the department.
This suitability training must include information on the following topics:
The satisfaction of the training requirements of another state that are substantially similar will satisfy the training requirements of this state.
Office of Private Health Partnerships (OPHP) Producer Training
OPHP offers continuing education for newly licensed producers.
Proctors monitor exams taken by producers using independent study courses to meet CE requirements.
Continuing Education Providers
SBS Information for CE Providers
CE providers are required to submit provider applications, course credit registration requests and course completion information to the insurance division via SBS.
Use the following links to login, or register to offer CE courses in Oregon through SBS.
Once the application is complete, it will be sent directly to the Insurance Division for review and approval. After receiving this approval, a login and password will be provided separately by SBS. This login and password will be used to submit course credit registrations and course roster uploads to the division.
After receiving the login and password information from SBS, new providers may proceed with submitting Course Applications.
Please note that online and home study courses require the exam questions.
Uploading course rosters
CE providers are required to report course completion information directly to the Oregon Insurance Division through the use of the SBS tool Online Continuing Education (OCE).
Through OCE, course providers are able to:
Providers should also be aware that their course numbers have changed, but their provider number has stayed the same.
Please also note that course roster submittals submitted through SBS will incur a $1.00 fee per credit hour, per student.
There are two methods of processing rosters:
Both of the course roster processing methods happen in real time - no delay in posting. Go to the Insurance Educator Provider Login page. On the Welcome page, once you have logged in, you will find a link to the Users Guide.
Important information for continuing education providers
Verify Completed CE Courses
Individual resident producers may verify any CE courses that have been uploaded into SBS by using the Education Transcript Search page
Select "Oregon" from the drop-down on the right side of the screen.