Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only

New website coming soon

Oregon OSHA is launching a new website this week. You will need to update your bookmarks.
The new website is designed to work well on mobile devices and increase accessibility for people with disabilities.

News Release

Oregon OSHA, 350 Winter Street NE Room 430, Salem, Oregon 97301-3878

For immediate release:
Feb. 10, 2014
Contact information:
Melanie Mesaros, Public Information Officer

Gina Fox, Construction Contractors Board

Oregon OSHA issues seventh citation against Woodburn construction company for safety violations
CCB suspends company's license

(Salem) ? The Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Division (Oregon OSHA) has fined Bravo's Construction Services of Woodburn $72,825 for repeatedly not protecting its employees from falls ? the seventh citation since February 2013. The fine was the result of an inspection on Oct. 9, 2013, at 3314 NE 52nd in Portland, where an employee was exposed to a fall of more than 20 feet.

The October 2013 inspection also resulted in violations for inadequate scaffold design, not ensuring employees wore safety glasses, and not holding safety committee meetings. The latter two issues were repeat violations.

Bravos Construction files now total $166,161.62Unpaid fines against Bravo's Construction now total $166,161.62, with $15,416.62 past due. Because of the company's continued negligence in providing a safe environment for employees, Oregon OSHA is referring the matter to the state Construction Contractors Board (CCB).

"Most employers meet their obligations under our rules," said Oregon OSHA Administrator Michael Wood. "Even for those who need to be reminded, it is rare that we continue to have this level of a problem. When we do, we will issue substantial penalties against employers and refer them to CCB, which may make it legally impossible to do business in the state."

CCB also suspended the company's license on Jan. 3, 2014 after it failed to pay a $1,000 penalty issued in July. Based on CCB's findings, Bravo's Construction allowed unlicensed contractors to use its license number in exchange for a percentage of the job amount.

"CCB takes allegations of violations affecting employee safety very seriously," says Craig P Smith, CCB administrator. "In addition to imposing civil penalties and license suspensions, CCB routinely works�closely with other state agencies, including Oregon OSHA and the Department of Justice, to hold contractors accountable and prevent willful violations of the law that affect public safety."

According to Oregon administrative rules, employers must protect employees from falls when working at heights of 10 feet or more. The typical Oregon OSHA penalty for a first-time violation ranges from $400 to $1,000 for a small employer and increases with each repeat violation. The maximum penalty for a repeat fall violation is $70,000.

In addition to the 10-foot rule, employees working at six feet or above a lower level also need to be protected from falls near open windows, doors, mezzanines, balconies, or walkways. There are different ways to comply with Oregon OSHA's fall protection rule, such as using guardrails, catch platforms, and personal fall arrest systems.

More details can be found on Oregon OSHA's website at orosha.org/subjects/fall_protection.html. Federal OSHA also has training tools and posters available to help raise awareness around falls: www.osha.gov/stopfalls/.

About the CCB: CCB is the state agency licensing more than 36,000 contractors. Anyone repairing, improving or building a home or other structure for compensation must be licensed by the CCB.

CCB offers free publications and helpful tips for consumers on having successful construction projects. Contractors can also find information about CCB licensing requirements, contractor responsibilities and maintaining good business practices. These can be found on the CCB website, www.oregon.gov/CCB� or by calling 503-378-4621.

Oregon OSHA, a division of the Department of Consumer and Business Services, enforces the state’s workplace safety and health rules and works to improve workplace safety and health for all Oregon workers. For more information, go to www.orosha.org.

The Department of Consumer and Business Services is Oregon’s largest business regulatory and consumer protection agency. For more information, go to www.dcbs.oregon.gov. Follow DCBS on Twitter: twitter.com/OregonDCBS. Receive consumer help and information on insurance, mortgages, investments, workplace safety, and more.