Construction Depot Newsletter

Safety and health newsletter for the Oregon construction industry

January 13, 2012

conference logo

Most frequently violated construction rules for 2011 – fall protection tops the list (again)

Few things are as unchanging on end-of-the-year “top 10” lists as violations of Oregon OSHA’s General fall protection requirements (437-003-1501). General fall protection has held firmly to the No. 1 spot since the rule became law in 2002. This rule says when workers are exposed to a hazard that could cause them to fall 10 feet or more, they must be protected by guard rails, safety nets, personal fall arrest systems, or other system described in Fall-protection systems criteria and practice (1926.502).

Of course, it’s usually easy to see workers who are working at heights without protection, which makes it easy to observe or report a violation, too.

The remaining rules on the top 10 list haven’t changed much over the years either. Most are related to preventing falls – from ladders, roofs, and other working surfaces. And when you consider that falls are still the leading cause of construction-related injuries, the violations should not be too surprising.

Now, if you’re coming up short on New Year’s resolutions this year, you might consider inviting an Oregon OSHA compliance officer for an on-site visit. Really. If you haven’t begun work at a site and you’d like help with safety planning, you can schedule a pre-job conference; a compliance officer will come out to your site and advise you on safe practices that can avoid citations. Usually, you can schedule a pre-job conference and have a compliance officer visit you site within a few days. Call Oregon OSHA at 503-378-3272 to schedule a pre-job conference.

Oregon OSHA’s top ten construction-rule violations – 2011

 

Rank

Standard
violated

Description

Number of violations

Total initial penalties

1

437-003-1501

General fall-protection requirements

183

$343,955

2

1926.1053(b)

Requirements for use of ladders

104

$39,145

3

437-003-503(2)

Certification of fall-protection training

77

$2,395

4

437-001-765(13)

Documentation of safety committee meetings

76

$400

5

437-003-503(1)

Fall protection training program

47

$28,970

6

1926.451(g)

Scaffolding, general requirements

39

$32,160

7

437-001-765(1)

Rules about safety committees or safety meetings

33

$4,315

8

1926.59(e)

Written hazard communication program

30

$995

9

1926.502(d)

Personal fall-arrest systems

29

$12,650

10

437-001-760(1)

Employers' responsibilities

29

$40,070

 

Feel free to copy this newsletter | About This Newsletter | Contact Us