Icy roads and freezing temperatures can make certain jobs even more dangerous if workers aren't prepared. Read article
Oregon OSHA has fined Bright Oaks Meat, Inc., $7,850 after an employee's hand was pulled into a meat tenderizing machine. The fine, based on a willful violation, was the result of an inspection on Aug. 12, 2013. Read article
High school students have used original music, special effects, and offbeat characters to promote young worker safety and health in Oregon. The annual "Speak up. Work safe." video contest is now open to teens across the state. The top three entries will take home cash prizes ranging from $300 to $500 and students will earn a matching amount for their school. Read article
The Oregon Fatality Assessment and Control Evaluation program (OR-FACE) has recently published a series of interactive maps that show the location of more than 600 occupational fatalities in Oregon. Read article
Each year, children or the spouse of a worker must cope with their loss after a workplace death. It can have a profound effect on a family's ability to finance higher education. The Workers' Memorial Scholarship fund, established by the 1991 Legislature at the request of the Oregon AFL-CIO, is now accepting applications for the 2014-15 school year. Read article
More than 300 people attended the Southern Oregon Safety and Health Conference Oct. 16-17, 2013, in Medford.
State Sen. Alan Bates and the American Society of Safety Engineers (ASSE) – Southern chapter, honored the following with Lifesaving awards:Read article
Roseburg Forest Products - Engineered Wood Product Division, Riddle
If you want to receive the Resource Newsletter, sign up for future issues here.
Reprinting, excerpting, or plagiarizing any part of this publication is fine with us. Please send us a copy of your publication or inform the Resource editor as a courtesy. If you have questions about the information in Resource, please call 503-378-3272.
For general information, technical answers, or information about Oregon OSHA services, please call 503-378-3272 or toll-free within Oregon, 800-922-2689.